Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape/Shift

by yuigoto - Jam Entry

SHAPE/SHIFT is a "collapse-like" puzzle, you only use your Mouse to play it.

It's a match-3/break-3 puzzle game that forces you to play by instinct when you can't just play by instinct.

I've been wanting to build a collapse-like puzzle game with a kinda unfair gameplay for a long time, but never accomplished to do so. The shapeshifting concept was just perfect for me to test with my unfair gameplay style concepts. :)

------------------------------------------------------------

RULES:
- Each brick is worth 8 points;
- You start with 10 seconds on the timer;
- Bricks change shapes every now and then;
- Click on any group of 3 or more blocks to break'em;
- Clicking on groups of 4 or more blocks starts and maintains the combo;
- During the combo, for each multiplier over 1 you get "multiplier X 8" extra points;
- Every time your combo reaches 10, or a multiple of 10, you get 2 extra seconds to play;
- During a combo, clicking on any group of 3 bricks ends the combo;

------------------------------------------------------------

Programming, Art, Music and Sounds by Fabio Y. Goto (SIXSIDED Developments)
Game built using Clickteam Fusion Developer
All art done using Corel DRAW X6
Music produced with FL Studio and guitar on AmpKit (iPad)
Sounds (finger snap and stones) recorded on my phone

------------------------------------------------------------

This entry is dedicated, as always, to my dear Glauce! ♥

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#93Audio(Jam)3.82
#125Fun(Jam)3.69
#163Overall(Jam)3.69
#171Theme(Jam)3.84
#248Mood(Jam)3.51
#320Innovation(Jam)3.31
#363Humor(Jam)2.78
#569Graphics(Jam)3.27

Comments

eeely says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:49pm

(′▽`)っ this is pretty good!

FrederickK says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Very solid game, as I said, I can see clearly this being a finished mobile game!
One thing that I not sure if I got it, is what to do when the shapes are shifting, I have to wait?
I think they could have the properties of the previous shapes or at least, make clear that you can't click when they are changing.
Crazy awesome job!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:26am

This is excellent! The shapeshifting puzzle pieces really keep you on your toes and makes it just more challenging. The shading on the pieces adds a really nice and subtle 3D effect that really adds some depth to the gameplay. I'm not sure if there is a way to prolong the game, but it'd be great if there was. Excellent job! :D

Paploum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:19am

This game is the perfect example of adictif game on smartphone: O . This is a game with simple gameplay that works great, congratulations. Change the shapes at the rhythm of the music could give a more dynamic game :)
I like the game. Well done!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:09pm

I need this game on my phone!

I rally like the transition between different shapes and the timer add a constant tension to the game.

Excelent game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:03am

Fun game idea. Would be fun to play on a mobile phone.

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Really great idea! I wish the general pace of the game was all slowed down a tiny bit. I think it may be more rewarding that way. Really fun though trying to beat past scores

TomaszHajas says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Good-mooded graphics and simple controls. Make it mobile!

ChatPion says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Nice game ! I just wish the timer wasn't going down that fast.

Also, the play button doesn't always work, and the end buttons never work (web version).

tompudding says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Hugely impressive entry, great polish, look and audio. The shifting animation is great, and it's very responsive feeling. I'd say it's a bit fast paced for me and a bit random feeling, but very impressive nonetheless. I recorded a short video of myself playing it : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0egE7SQeYG4

Rafos Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Nice game =)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Very fast paced and fun. I think the time indicator needs to be more prominent.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:46am

Addicting, nice!

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:39pm

I do not like the occasional shapeshifting, the game is fast, but the transitions slow it down a lot.

AngerFork says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:30pm

This thing could become crazy addicting on a smartphone. The voice and music really bring it together, as does the hecticness at the time. Very cool!

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:26am

wonderful and fast catch my eye!also the music and sound!(huge love about your sound-effect building!)
btw,to be honest;in the beginning of this jam, I have tried to study and build some similary sound effect in my project >o< (until now i still feel this is really cool and important,at that time ,i have also play spindulum again haha!)but because weak of acoustics's knowledge..not bilud the effect which i want finally..QoQ.
then,visual aspect,the sprite's boarder and the effect(blink and blast?) a little bit too hard(not fade or soft enough) not sure whether it is just the design what you want, just feel these still have some potential to enhence.

all in all, you really also done great this time~!
congratulations

Tselmek says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:02am

Very addictive one, the use of the theme makes a great challenge as well as a neat turn on this genre. Good job on the funky beat too.

May 4, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Really enjoyed this, i would like to see a numerical timer so that i can see if i am getting points for the combos i make and stuff. Did better every try but i want to know if i have so much good combos, would i have awesome extra time?

sathomason says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:46pm

ohh, no. Ohhhhhh, oh oh no.

I love this game.

davor10105 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:19pm

loved the music and sound effect, overall great job too!

nihilaleph says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:47am

Very neat idea! Audio and graphics are really cool! (gotta love the vector graphics xp) At first I tried hard to pay attention and click in the right places, but the time is so short >.< Which is fine, it keeps really fast paced! Although I couldn't pay attention in how much time was left and how my combo was going.

So in my second run I just clicked everywhere and it went better than before! Maybe some punishment for invalid click? (though it would hurt if you clicked right after something shapeshifted... happened to me ^^;)

Anyways great work!

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:41am

It's pretty late, but I'm really thankful to all of you who played the game, really! I know about all the flaws, some bugs and everything, and I plan on fixing everything on the post-jam (or eventual full release of this game).

I planned this game to be a bit unfair with the player, so some things I probably won't fix (but I'm gonna increase/change the way shapes shift, to avoid problems with invalid clicks), so I hope you'll play it again in the near future (and I hope to play your games too, in post-jam versions or full releases!).

For now, I'm concentrating in making the game faster and more fluid, based on the feedback I've received here and on twitter, while also working on the mobile version of this game.

For now, I'd like to thank everyone who played the game and wrote a feedback! :) I'll try to write more feedback on your games too, if you happen to read this and post here! :)

I hope we can exchange ideas and more feedback, so we can all grow together! Thanks, really! :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:39am

This is an interesting take on a classic puzzle game! I really liked the music, it gave a great feel while playing. The challenge is in learning the timing of when the blocks are going to change so you don't click and accidentally lose your combo! Nice job on this. :)

May 6, 2016 @ 7:18am

This is a very solid game, but the timer is too fast in my opinion. Pretty enjoyed it though.

zateamplay says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Wow! That music! I like the idea and it's good game to train reaction :)
Good job, my friend :)

May 8, 2016 @ 12:16am

Fun fast paced puzzle game. Would be nice to receive some more feedback when you get connections though. But liked how quick it is to play, which makes it quite addictive to always be giving it one more go.

bellum128 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Very addictive game, I like the take on the theme. My main suggestion would be to add some sort of negative point system for aimlessly clicking, to discourage spam clicking the game. All in all, great, addicting game with nice music.

RadMcCool says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:12am

Fun and addictive, as others have said. Seems like it could do with some kind of levels/scaling mechanic. The time seems way too short, though this works for the jam setting as I can cram in many tries in one session. Though its super hard. Nice twist and enjoyable entry :D

AnaGF says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Really cool, addictive game. I think it would work great as a mobile game

MintArcade says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Awesome music - fits the game so nice. Are you planing on mobile version?

Pilly says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:48pm

I really liked this! Polished, satisfying, and some sweet tunes. I got my best score by constantly clicking and aiming for the big groups, since there didn't seem to be a penalty for clicking on non-matches. Which felt a bit random, but it was still a lot of fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]