Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

HappyNest

by Black Horn Studios - Jam Entry

Turn every Metalhead into rainbow squeletons metal. \m/

#LD35 entry. Theme: Shapeshift

Controls

Left Click -> Click on buttons for turn people into rainbow squeletons
ALT + ENTER to FULLSCREEN, ALT + ENTER again to exit FULLSCREEN


If you wish to appear in this game only tweet something cool with #happynestld35 and it will be shown ingame

Credits

Pablo Boza @Khanatos_es
Alberto Sanchez @AlbertoTECGms
Morgan White @IcarusEmpireOff

We are Black Horn Studios @BlackHorn_esp

Made with GameMaker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Audio(Jam)4.23
#44Humor(Jam)3.90
#76Graphics(Jam)4.33
#130Overall(Jam)3.77
#144Mood(Jam)3.71
#262Fun(Jam)3.45
#389Theme(Jam)3.53
#423Innovation(Jam)3.20

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:14am

Great job here, the main guitarist transformation is awesome, well done.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20am

Excellent artwork and music. The game mechanic is very simple and the difficulty increases pretty linearly. I am not sure how you can lose a game though.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21am

Lol. WTF.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36am

Thanks!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42am

Great job guys! Quite cool arcade-y game! :-D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

Thanks for your comments guys. @danieldsj Actually there is no "bad end". You miss a wave if don´t transform all people. We´d like to implement rewards and other gamification mechanics but times run out.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

Metaaaaaaaaal \m/\m/\m/\m/\m/\m/\m/

rhastapunk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

Loved the rainbow touch :D Amazing job there guys

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

Just great. Really nothing else to say.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:42am

so nice and funny! great metal riffing!

urfbound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:06am

Great game! The graphics are great (the animations are really polished and have a great retro vibe) and the music is off the chain crazy-good. Had a blast playing this one, really creative graphical design and a fun rhythm game! Thanks for your submission, hope you had fun making it!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31am

Ummmmmm, WOW!!!! when the metal player transformed and the skeletons appeared i actually felt emotion rise up in me. very very very awesome job, best soundtrack, art style, audio and overall i have rated so far!!!! wow

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57am

This is so cool! Love the music and the artwork.

janiq says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:19am

Well done. Nice graphics and good use for friendly npc which are interestingly made part of the player's game.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:47am

Brutal!! \m/

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06am

This is pretty much a faultless entry to me. Excellent audio, visuals, mechanic etc. Not sure I know what to critique... Great job!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13am

Fun game! Great visuals, and music! Well done!

Rico says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:32am

Great music. Love that metal theme. Simple gamelay, but gives much satisfaction.

caporaltito says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:11pm

I don't know what I played but I loved it

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Rainbow metal ponie skeletons. Or skeleton rainbow metal... or... so weird. :D Nice execution, good graphics and audio.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:11pm

Great arcade guys! Lovely animations and even better music.

We want a smartphone version!

Mossi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Artwork and music is phenomenal, and mood/humor fantastic. Great game.

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Que trabajazo!! Buena música, y excelentes gráficos, eso si, a partir del quinto nivel es un poco locura y un poco caótico, pero mola mucho.

Cowa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Nice audio!

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Great work!I really ejoyed it :)

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:31pm

VERY polished!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Pretty neat !
Loved the satanic goat shapeshift at first !

Kudanaman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

DAAAAMN SON

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Awesome graphics for a crazy idea. Great job!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Brutal!

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51pm

\m/ o_o \m/ metalest thing I played today

Ryushuke says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Awesome game, i can't stop play it!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Ha, that was funny. It shurely has some serious gameplay, but most important is the frequency you mash the mouse button. That is ok for me...

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Great game, the gameplay reminded me of Elite Beat Agents for DS. Good job!

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Simple but immensely fun! Great work.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:56am

Awesome game ! simple concept but well executed, the shapeshifting unicorn /singer trying to convert people was quite a fun take on the theme,the artwork, the music all just awesome !

this entry also gets a METAL/10 brutal score \m/è_é\m/

TreenewT says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:18am

Really interesting game, the music is awesome. I especially like the little Mexican wave the "squeletons" make at the end of every round.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:01am

Really solid game. I liked the animations and the music.
I wished that the gameplay have more mechanics to give it more variety (something like do the click following the music), but for a LD game is fine.

My score: http://i.imgur.com/264WhdU.png

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Awesome game!!! Had fun playing this and the music and graphics are rocking!

Gravedrinker says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Awesome! Great graphics and feel to the whole thing, the music too. Very well done, and great to see a metal themed game, and pulling it off so well too.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06pm

The setting and take on the theme are brilliant, and so are graphics and sound. Flawless work on all this!

As for gameplay, at first I thought it was a rhythm game similar to the Ouendan series, until I realised you just had to click. By the 4th or 5th wave it started to feel repetitive.

However, this offers a lot of potential to improve it, and everything else is already awesome. ¡Buen trabajo!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:17pm

metal as fuck 10/10 lol

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Greatest game so far, 5 stars!

clementd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10am

Graphics and music are great. I love your wave results screen!

gillenew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:55pm

really cool animations I enjoy this game :D

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Whoa, really great art and music! The game itself is simple but fun. Congrats, enjoyed this very much!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:40pm

RIP headphone users...

Nah for real though great game :D

macronoid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Great job. I love the Zebricorn :P The aesthetics are really cool and the tweets add-on is an interesting add-on.

Maybe you could have made another twist if you setted up an account for the game and let the players tweet some message to be included on this pool of tweets when they beat the game.

The mechanic is simple but effective, but it gets really overwhelming early on :S

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Hilarious, great art and mood, animations were impressive.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:34am

Great visuals and music. Gameplay could be interesting for touch screen port though. Nice entry overall.

JoseArias says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Muy buen juego! Los grñaficos son geniales!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Funny theme, certainly feels metal. Clever marketing with the twitter integration.

Alphish says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Haha, that's pretty fun game. Maybe not particularly outstanding in terms of raw gameplay, but I've got to love spawning rainbow skeletons to the metal music. Too bad there's only one track for all levels, and there's little variety in the gameplay (completing wave 6 doesn't feel much different that completing wave 1).

Nevertheless, I quite enjoyed the general idea. ;)

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:26pm

At first I though this was a Osu! clone

LeReveur says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:16am

GYAAAAAHHHHHHH !!! (sorry, rainbow zombies' metal spirit infused in my brain)
That was awesome ! Simple idea, fun game, nice animation, good job ! :D

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Amazing game! Love the aesthethics and the theme!

terop says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:42pm

amazing music. The game was a little difficult to understand, but the graphics looked nice. Lots of nice looking sprites.

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:45am

yeah ! Metalhead 'll never die ! :)

KairosXIII says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:14am

Wow! Art, animations, and audio were all wonderful. An animated cursor here would be awesome, I started losing track of my white cursor among the massive squeleton mob, LOL.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:09am

Haha very fun, i love this skeleton with rainbow hairs and the unicorn as a metal player is just fantastic !

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:47am

Great work! The graphics are really well made and the animations are great! The transformations were nicely built!

The audio is superb! Loved the soundtrack and the choice for sound effects!

Gameplay-wise, it felt a bit like "Ouendan/Elite Beat Agents" and it's quite fun and frantic to play! XD

Great work, really! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]