Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A walk to the top

by JK5000 - Compo Entry

Description:
This is a simple puzzle game. In the game you must help a man with a green hat to go from start to finish. Your job is to place stairs and direction signs on the map, to make it possible for him to reach the goal.

My take on the theme "Shapeshift" is to chance shape of the level.

Controls:
You place the stairs and signs with the mouse, and you rotate them by using the right mouse button.

Used Software:
- Unreal engine 4
- Blender
- GIMP 2
- Inkscape
- Audacity
- LMMS

Play, rate, commit and most important of all, HAVE FUN.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#116Humor3.25
#210Audio3.28
#306Overall3.39
#348Fun3.30
#392Mood3.03
#513Graphics2.93
#566Innovation2.94
#808Theme2.71

Comments

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:45am

Lovely entry, surprised no HTML5 version output from Unreal ?

Middle click camera panning would've been nice maybe or 2 buttons for turning left/right instead of only 1.

WayneTao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:39am

Good game

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:47am

I love this. Reminds me of the old Alpha Team lego game. Although they're simple, the graphics look super nice. The puzzles aren't too hard and could probably benefit from more mechanics (and a fast-complete option) if you decide to expand on this, but awesome entry!

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:08am

Surprised nobody's mentioned the AMAZING voice-overs and sound effects! Had a good laugh and enjoyed the game quite a lot.

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:33am

Good job. Fun to play and great audio.

siryakko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29am

Nice puzzle game, relaxing and clean graphics. Thanks

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:32am

Really good game. Love it lot

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:16am

This is the funniest game I have played yet, because of the voice acting.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:54am

Really good Game with a good idea. Wanna play more.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:55am

funny voice acting - difficulty could have ramped up faster

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57am

Anyone else struggling to run this? I get a missing .dll file when I run the .exe file. Perhaps I'm missing something regarding UE? Tried both 32bit and 64bit versions.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:09pm

I have download the game and unziped it, and works fine on my computer. So I don't know what is wrong "Autovelop".

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:15pm

What a lovely entry. I enjoyed the sound effects. Fun puzzles and game. Nice work :)

OWi Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32pm

I think that the levels should get harder, faster.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:00pm

"Dubidubiidubidooo~!" lol

It's a little to simple for too long which made me loose interest. Then *bam* a super hard level appears! Got stuck actually, spent 5 minutes trying to work it out then I couldn't take it anymore :/
But I got the idea at least!

Imo, your take on the theme is too vague. But otherwise the game was fun.

Hope you had a fun time making it =)

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Reminded me of light bot, my only suggestion would be to make the guy walk faster. It sucked having to have solved the puzzle quickly but then having to wait so long for him to get to the end. GJ!

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Really cool game. It is really good!

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:19pm

The sound effect were genial. I especially liked the stairs placement sound. The level design was not that good though. Levels were pretty easy and straightforward.

MAN JO TEAM says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

neat! it looks great

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:04am

The voice-over is brilliant. :)

candlesan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41am

Great game! I'm guessing this is for "Indirect Control". Good interpretation of Indirect Control theme.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

this was quite fun - like the use of the theme - great job

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31am

Nice game. Would have liked to see a bit more plausible but fake solutions implemented in the level design as currently there is one of two approaches and the solution is obvious. A third element (besides stairs and arrows) might have helped. But overall it was a rather enjoyable game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:46pm

wow Great use of concept! good job

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Nice little puzzle game. Loved the voice clips

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Lovely puzzle game. It was ok on theme representation but really enjoyable difficulty ranking in puzzles. Nice music and funny SFX for the character. Quite fun, Good job!

devilqube says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:21pm

great fun, surprising how changing the camera view makes the levels harder/easier.

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Really nice. i never really struggled with any levels, and went through the whole game almost first try, but that's not a bad thing.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Nice, especially the voice acting :) great concept and realisation for a compo !

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:32am

Great job! I liked the puzzles, and the various bits of dialogue were great :D

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:26pm

haha that was a good game! :D nice voice covers! :D made me giggle in a good way :D

Wirdo91 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Very nice entry, also a good hit with the learning curve

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:27pm

It felt like i have seen this game before.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Prety great game. I liked the graphics, very clean. The puzzles are good, even if some of them only require choosing between two paths. Super voice-overs. I would have liked a fastforward button in the last couple of levels. Keep up the good work !

madalaski says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Simple, quirky but would've been better with just music and not the sound effects.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:33pm

would be interesting to see what could be done with this with more time

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:42pm

First puzzle in my review and very interesting one.

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:10am

Haha, loved this game. The voices are really hilarious like many said before me. The puzzles aren't too hard, but still a nice challenge. Good job :)

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:40am

Ooh, a puzzle game! The mechanics are limited, but very nicely implemented, but I would really like a fast forward button to skip through the, you know, THE walk to the top :)
Solved about seven or eight puzzles (left on a really big one with 11 arrows).
"Dubidubiedoopdoop!"

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:34am

Good game, fella) Make Little improvements in graphics, and polish mechanics, add animations, and this can be a great game

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:21pm

I wanted to play this one but I think my PC is too old/broken. Couldn't get past the UE4 install. Looks great though.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Shifting shapes to Qbert across space. Cute!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Great. Really well thought out and wonderful audio. Nice stuff :)

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:10am

Good game!
Only thing i can criticize is that I didnt really like that it had to blink for 1 second before i could remove a placed tile.
Some ideas I had for improvement, but are probably outside the scope of this gamejam:
* Limits to the attempt of tries one gets.
* Limited time to prepare the map.
* More kinds of map manipulation (jump, charge, destroy something, etc).
* Manipulate map while he is walking

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:28am

Click *clck* :)

Cool game.

Shael says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Love the voice acting.
fun game

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:43am

Woah, this game has a really neat core mechanic.
I also really liked your voice over.
Really well designed puzzles.

MementoGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Awesome entry!
Nice puzzles and take on the theme.
I just wish I could rotate the view with the mouse or have some keyboard shortcuts.

Osaft says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:58pm

The Audio Sounds really got me

Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:27pm

I liked it a lot! The music is a bit tiring, but the sounds are great.
The levels are easy, but if you add more levels and objects, the game would be cool.
Solid entry, goood work!

humble_ray says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:31am

Fun to play, nice game!

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:48am

Very nice puzzle game. I really enjoyed the sound... gave me quite a good chuckle.

Only problem is there was no real challenge to the game. A quick glance and I could quickly assess how to place the stairs and arrows to complete the level. Some more variety options to complicate things would make the game much better.

I liked how many levels there were to the game though.

schw3de says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:47pm

A very nice entry. I like the concept and it has a lot of potential to include other features in order to increase the hardness level. Gj!

rburema says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:38pm

I feel the number of possible fun puzzles would increase a lot if you'd allow for the spherical fellow to return the way they came from after bumping into a wall. Or maybe even just having 'falling from a ledge' incorporated into the solution of a puzzle.

(... and yes, the sound effects are good for a laugh :-) )

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Neat idea, I think this could be a great game with some improved level design and additional mechanics. I liked the simplicity of the graphics and sound.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Nice game, it reminds me the old Amiga game named "Brat". The first puzzles were very unchallenging, but the fifth one was tougher.

The voice made sounds made me smile.

thedashdude says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:17am

A fun little game, but I think it needs more mechanics and harder levels. Also the voices were really funny/weird.

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:35am

nice work

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:57pm

One of my favorite entries from this jam - super funny, and easy to understand! Would certainly love to see a post-jam version with more levels and gameplay mechanics - this is great!

Alphish says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Solid entry when it comes to audiovisuals, polish etc. (although I could use a button to stop the man going on path instead of restarting altogether; and the man could really walk faster). However, the puzzle mechanics and their usage in game is kinda too simple; only the last few levels were remotely challenging for me, since stairs and arrows alone leave somewhat little room for thought (most placements are pretty obvious, and those that aren't can be checked easily).

Also, I feel the theme usage here is a bit of a stretch, even though other entries used environment alteration and I was fine with these. I dunno, maybe here it just seems too mundane (nothing as spooky as castle changing on its own or as wacky as warping the game window?).

Still, it's quite decent game, just not too exciting for me when it comes to gameplay itself. You seem to have little issue quickly making a game that feels complete, nonetheless, and that's quite an important thing, too (many people can't get a game to feel complete even with all the time they want, ehehehehe...).

masterkrepta says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:09am

I loved it. waas actually very challenging, reminds me of the logic games i played with my nephews the other day.

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:19am

Funny voice clips. Had fun playing it.

May 1, 2016 @ 3:30pm

One of the best games from this ludum dare.

mkghoster says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Great execution for a small game! Really liked the sound effects! :)

pixelpotions says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Awesome entry! Very great sfx and voice-overs, the cherry on the top definitely!
The gameplay is cool and smart too, could easily become a phone game. Well done!

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:08am

Simple graphics but the puzzles are well made. Orthographic puzzles can be great for improving spatial awareness.

in3orn says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Very nice game. I like this genre :) The levels could be more demanding but still it was fun to complete all of them.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Nice Game :)

Przekop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Clever little puzzle game, shame that it is so easy.

May 8, 2016 @ 12:08am

Quite enjoyed this one. The whole puzzle mechanic made me keep playing through the levels which is always a good sign. Liked having to look at the scene for a moment before deciding what I would need to do to complete the level. Fun game and could see it working well on mobile. Also the voices were great and added quite a bit of charm to the whole thing.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:20am

The sound-effects reminded me of Justin Roiland.
I pretty much liked it, but all the solutions were pretty obvious.
What this game could really make use of is a level editor.

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:24am

nice game ! sounds are on fleek

bradur says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:51am

Really liked this one, I even finished the game :). The puzzles were easy to understand and the game played very smoothly. My only criticism is that there wasn't any more objects than the stairs and direction arrows, so the game was quite easy. Nevertheless, very well done!

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:23pm

surprisingly a very great game

yuigoto says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:33am

The idea is lovely, challenging and can also be kinda mind-bending, because of the isometric angle.

The graphics are nice, the puzzle style remembered me a little bit of Chu Chu Rocket, which is nice. :)

The soundtrack is really nice, I think the voice acting is funny, but it needs some extra punch. ;)

Nice work! :D

jk5000 says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 7:09am

Thanks to everyone who has played, commented and rated on my game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]