Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Greenvasor

by jakass - Jam Entry

The human pollution is destroying the nature! Came from another planet, you can stop the side effects with an antidote which brings everything to original shape.

Timelapse + Gameplay Here:
https://youtu.be/Cra7AuxuCAQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#756Humor(Jam)1.93
#787Graphics(Jam)2.92
#931Innovation(Jam)2.52
#996Mood(Jam)2.16
#1025Theme(Jam)2.46
#1044Overall(Jam)2.64
#1093Fun(Jam)2.24

Comments

redwizard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Very good game.

Parabéns!

Asturk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:30am

Good job, you all. Thats a very good idea for this game. Just try to make some tutorial or way to make the gameplay more clear and easy to understand, it took me a while to figure out whats my goal there was and how to really play it! Anyway, nice job for this project!

Jajo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Those damn butterflies... The game has it's downsides, but overall, I thought it was pretty good. If you had time, you should have made some more complex levels.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:25pm

The concept of the game is promising, but you didn't deliver because of the gameplay mechanic you chose. It is no different than a normal shoot-'em-up, which is a bit of a shame, really.

Good effort, but think more carefully about how your game will be fun before you get straight into coding.

Ristoretto says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Cool game! I like the idea of ahving the machines building factories which poisons the nature, a kind of chain reaction. It took a couple of tries to understand what to do and what to shoot, but it was pretty easy to play after that. Maybe having some kind of blinking aura around the tractor and the factory tower to indicate that they are destroyable?

I was thinking about how to make the game more challenging, one idea might be to spawn the player in the middle of the level, forcing the player to go forth and back between the different sides, while they are rebuilding.

Also nice to see the time lapse :)

marod says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Wow! nice concept. I really enjoyed the game

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:05pm

I saw a video with similar graphics arts made. may be its your only.Nice graphics.Its fun playing it

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:13pm

It's very hard !

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Starts confusing, when you finally grasp your objective properly you die and can't restart without re-opening the game.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Fanatrick, if you die. you just have to click on the Purple Left Arrow. :o

Kalm004 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Good job! Only one thing, I don't see how it fits with the theme. Also the music is too loud.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:48pm

I quite like your graphics and style but the game itself is a bit simplistic. There is not much to do (shoot everything) and it's over quite fast. The concept of the good/bad butterflies is nice though, maybe something can be made from that :-).

Oh and by the way, why do corrupted butterflies actually attack UFOs? ;-)

KappaIX says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:57pm

I love a good ecological game but found it quite confusing.

Well done!

Jungle says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:59pm

The game is cool and the ship's movement is fluid . Congratulations!

Wevel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Cool game, its annoying that the butterflies go back to being enemies so fast, but music works, good job

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Graphics are OK but the game is no fun, I was not able to beat any butterflies yet did not understand why we are shooting at them either.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:25pm

I would have liked all the assets to be smaller and have the game play a little slower. It also would have been nice for some sort of feedback when you shot a bulldozer or factory that you were actually doing something to them.

Also, being able to avoid the butterfly's shots would have been nice.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:07pm

I won! Cool game. Fast paced and enjoyable.

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Very nice idea and good looking game. I have to agree though with Asturk that you need to make some kind of tutorial.

jakkarn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:31pm

I like how the butterflies spread spores to make the land recover. It's rewarding to see the land become green again. The butterflies start shooting way to fast though.

Maybe they could have like a trigger when going into the power plants' smoke that makes them poluted or something and start shooting again, or at least like wait half a second after turning back before they start shooting again.

Fullscreen-mode and a clearer restart-button would have made it alot better as well.

For 3 days, it's a good game! It did felt great to finally figure out how to play and beat the game!

davalcordub says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:20am

It is a pretty nice game, but when the nave moves you can't use the weapon, it is not very helpfull in that case.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:08am

It look like this could be going places but it was confusing and frustrating at this pint and I really do not know waht the goal was.

jakass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:09am

@davalcordubs
Wow :o The weapon must work while you're moving... Maybe, this is a BUG... Do you downloaded the version of the game according to your OS?

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:32am

I was quite confused when I first stated the game, but once I understood the goal it got better, good job.

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:40am

it's a good game, guys! just keep on working it!Also, try a better match for the theme next time ;)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:44am

RIP my ears. That music is loooooud. Also even on easy I'm getting absolutely wrecked by these butterflies.

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:53am

Good design of enemies, that makes them interesting to fight.

Linver says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:53pm

I loosed 3 times, then watched gameplay to understand how this game works (transformation of infected butterflies is very important, but it is hard to understand fast how it works.)
I think, the speed of enemy bullets is fast, or the size of player should be smaller.

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Nice entry. The graphics style is very nice and unique.

thebrainfuse says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:38pm

I was standing still for a whole minute before i realized i had to move right... i'd suggest transforming it into an infinite side-scroller, so that there is gradual progression automatically.

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:21pm

It was fun to play. Good job :)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:23pm

NICE game !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]