Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Andari Prime

by Fabraz - Jam Entry

- ELEVATOR PITCH -
You are an Andari, an alien species hated across the galaxy for assuming the forms of whomever, or whatever, they eat. With your ship in need of repairs, you are forced to dock at a spaceport in Sector C, risking discovery if you’re not careful. Hunt down the necessary C.Credits in order continue your journey back home to Andari Prime.

- FEATURES -
o Use your shapeshifting to acquire new abilities! Become tiny and climb walls, become fast as lightning or become huge and destroy your surroundings!
o A fully explorable, open world with tons of items to collect, easter eggs to find and narrative to uncover!
o Every character has unique dialogue for each of your shapeshifting forms!
o Unique side quests like platforming challenges await you wile you run against the clock to complete your mission!
o A fully interactive tutorial that teaches you everything you need to know.
o A soundtrack of 3 songs invoking the feel of a seedy space port.


- SYNOPSIS -
In the far reaches of Sector C, the spacecraft Calvino makes an emergency pit stop for repairs and refueling at a spaceport high above the surface of Vlaskov IV.

Unbeknownst to the citizens in this seedy hive of intergalactic trade and back-alley deals, the Calvino is on a secret journey across the sector in search of Andari Prime, the homeworld of the Andari Empire.

Dwindling in number due to persecution and sport-hunting, the Andari are commonly referred to among other species as “Morphers,” due to their ability to assume the form of whomever they eat.

As a newly metamorphosized Andari, you’ve narrowly escaped imprisonment and certain death and taken refuge as a new recruit aboard the Calvino.

You begin the search for home with your compatriots, who will rely on your most recently consumed abilities to make your stay above Vlaskov IV as swift as possible.


- YOUR GOAL -
Collect at least 100 C.Credits and talk to the captain to escape the space port and fly back home to Andari. Need a challenge? Try finding more than 100 and tell us how much you managed to find!


- CONTROLS -
WASD/Arrows: To move the character.
Spacebar: To jump and confirm.
1,2,3: To shape shift into other aliens.
Shift: To use the special ability of each alien.
Mouse: To move the mouse.


- WHO ARE WE? -
Fabraz is behind games like Planet Diver, Cannon Crasha, Wild Wild Pixel and our previous Ludum Dare game Mutiny on Samovar V.


- NOTES -
o We are EXHAUSTED! Making this in 3 days was intense, we certainly aimed for a large scope. We didn't manage everything and there's polish needed, but we're quite content with what we managed! :)
o Performance slow? Play on low quality settings and a lower resolution.
o Found bugs? It's a game jam, wouldn't be same without!
o Video Gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVAmWnmVjMs
o Sped up Livestream: Coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#224Mood(Jam)3.55
#268Graphics(Jam)3.82
#287Audio(Jam)3.37
#302Humor(Jam)2.97
#308Theme(Jam)3.64
#346Overall(Jam)3.44
#565Innovation(Jam)3.03
#628Fun(Jam)3.01

Comments

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:57am

The camera is a bit tedious to work with, I was having a lot of issues with it. But the overall atmosphere is very well thought of and I like the use of each specific action. It's kinda hard to get up the walls when you're the tiny rat, which is my biggest beef,but overall you've got a very solid thing :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:28am

I almost finished the game, but then I get stuck on a ceiling :( I have taken a screencap http://i.imgur.com/Avy1RBE.jpg
Well, at least I collected most of the money.

I like the graphic style (it reminds me the first 3D games of the 90's). The music is really good and the concept is cool.
The camera moves to much quickly, maybe?
I didn't liked that you could get stuck to the walls really easy while jumping in the human form.
Would be cool if your sprite flip if you move right or left, but it's a minor detail for a LD game.
Thumbs up, keep working!

Kudanaman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Great game, lovely athestics

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Nicely ambient game, awesome music, good implementation of theme.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33pm

well done, lots of work here , needs more work on the details like the main character, but fun!

Alex (Omlette du Fromage team)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Amazing style, kinda like ps1 spyro. You achieved ALOT in the time, well done. The camera was kinda hard to control though

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:41pm

This is a pretty solid concept! The controls could've been a bit better, but the soundtrack was pretty sweet!

luckyy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44pm

The amazing artstyle combined with the music turns this game into an amazing atmospheric experience. Well done!

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:46pm

The atmosphere and style is certainly the strongest feat of this game. I completed the game and i can say it is a nice experience, but it lacks a little polish.

B0pt1K says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

I enjoyed playing this game, and I really like the atmosphere within. I found the camera quite hard to use, rather sensitive, and sometimes the player was the wrong way round. But great job, a lot of fun, and a good game.

taviandir says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

It was super laggy for me, to the point of being practically unplayable. :/

B0pt1K says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

I enjoyed playing this game, and I really like the atmosphere within. I found the camera quite hard to use, rather sensitive, and sometimes the player was the wrong way round. But great job, a lot of fun, and a good game.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Well this is a lot of work and we can see that this entry zould have been even better with more time, but everything essential is here, and it's pretty enjoyable !
Well played !

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Amazing. I was impressed with the amount of work that was put into this. There is a lot of potential here. You should definitely keep working on it.

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Great game! I beat it on my second play-through (the first time I broke the game by jumping off a roof, changing to a turtle, grabbing onto a wall, which placed me inside of a building whilst being incapable of movement).

After you get used to the camera controls the game is pretty awesome. My only complaint was that I would want my camera inverted (I won't hold that against you). Overall awesome!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Thanks everyone! Indeed, with more time we would have polished the controls, adjusted the mechanics, squashed the bugs etc. But even in this gamejam state we're quite happy with it!

@taviandir Have you tried playing on low settings with a low resolution? It doesn't suffer from that too much visually and can make quite the difference performance wise.

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Even though many of the mechanics are pretty clunky. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the story telling soo much.

Jerre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Very well done! Graphics are very nice, and it feels like a very finished games. Controls could be tighter, and camera too. Found 65 credits, and got stuck in a house (I had no character, so couldn't leave).

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:16pm

I love the 90s art style choice, but the sprites are always running in the same direction. The mood was solid, and the setting was well thought out.

karln says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Had fun finding loose money around the world, but I never did find anyone who wanted anything from me :/ Oh well, still very impressed with this game :)

fprawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Loved the atmosphere, good sized area to explore, great audio. Money.

Angry_cyboot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

great !! love the arts,but the controls are a bit clunky (key prompts)

knason says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:52pm

I had some problem with the controlls but it seems like you put a lot of work into this game. I like the art and the consept :-)

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

This has style in spades... really nice aesthetics, great sense of exploration, love how you could go into different buildings, nice little world you created.

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:10pm

I found the camera hard to control. But this was a really ambitious project. So much has been created and the mood was perfect imo. Great job :)

ANTZtakeover says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Really liked the art-style and music! Like others I did feel the camera was a bit stubborn at times.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:53pm

Wow absolutely gorgeous, this world is amazing ! A bit of options on the control of the camera, a few fixes on dialogues boxes and you've got something to ask for my money ! no jokes !

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Great art. Neat style. Makes much fun to mess around the roofs ;)

smbe19 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Interesting game. I found the camera a bit hard to control, I would have preferred the Y-axis flipped.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:07am

First impression; really nice splash screen :D

I had fun time playing this game. It got a little tedious at the platforms but I managed to finish the game.

I think what got me to stick around the most was the graphics. They're real nice! I also liked the tutorial, easy to understand and wasn't tedious. Just simple and straight as it should be!

Overall, great!

Also - remember to delete the .pdb files next time as they're not needed and increases the download time.

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:27am

Great entry. Atmospheric, cool-looking and -sounding, and it's very enjoyable even to just walk around the game world.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:21am

There's an impressive amount of stuff in here for three days of work! Nice job.

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:26am

I really like the aesthetic of the game, its pretty cool wandering around this city filled with aliens. Good use of the theme to create an interesting mechanic. My favorite part was stomping around the tiny village as the big alien, destroying all the houses - were those just tiny aliens and I was destroying their homes?

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:10am

Really nice game, cool graphics and audio. Nice job!
By the way, buttons on the pause UI doesn't work

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Great atmosphere. A little difficult to figure out where to get cash from, but great tone makes it worth it.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:46am

Graphics and audio: Excellent. Gameplay is great, too. But that camera is so annoying!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:06pm

The game controls are fairly buggy and could use some work. The audio and visuals are pretty good.

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 8:10am

It's clear that tons of work went into this. Honestly it seems like the task was pretty monumental.
I think if you had reigned your game in a bit conceptually, it could have been more polished, but what you accomplished is still very impressive, and you should all feel great about this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]