Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty Berries

by bentglasstube - Compo Entry

# Ludum Dare 35 - Shifty Berries

Use berries to shapeshift into different animals and navigate through platform
puzzles. Each animal has strengths and weaknesses.

## Controls

* A - Move Left
* D - Move Right
* Space - Jump
* J - Eat berries

## Building, running, installing

You will need SDL2 and SDL2_mixer to build (and run on linux).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#286Theme3.64
#345Graphics3.31
#525Audio2.48
#542Overall3.13
#579Fun2.96
#780Innovation2.56

Comments

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48pm

That's some Nintendo hard platforming you got there. I like the graphics (they are beautifully primitive XD)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:54am

Fun little platformer, graphics were great

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:59am

I flew off screen as a bird and it crashed the game:(

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:07am

really difficult platforming, liked the background graphics,

OttersDen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:27am

The jumps were very tricky, but its a very nice game. Good use of the theme. Well done!

ogre says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:32am

Really hard, gave in frustration on level 3. Did get up to the almost-top long platform, then missed the jump at the end. Rage quit. Like the look and the controls are tight, just too frustrating.

StaNov says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:05am

Well, that was tough :D I wasn't able to fly as the bird to the right side...

Nice graphics, sounds and storyline, for a compo!

Jimbly says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:07am

Was too hard for me, only barely managed to get past the second level before giving up in frustration ^_^. Nicely done graphics. If I could get to more levels, I could imagine some tricky ones where you need to eat a bunch of different berries, which could be pretty cool =).

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:08am

Oh my goat ! i like ! it's remember me my period with my oommodore 64 games in 16 colors or amstrad 464 with 8 colors ! funny ! nice work !

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:15am

Controls is not quite good but the game itself is good

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:21am

I really liked it! I spent about 10 min on it! Congratz!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:37am

I liked the game

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:41am

This game is pretty neat. I can see that you were probably inspired by Link from Zelda II when you were drawing the main character. If I had to give some constructive feedback, I would say make the character come to a stop faster when the player isn't holding anything down and to space the platforms apart more vertically. Great job!

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:42am

Wow, really hard game. Tried for an hour to get past that ice cave and I go really close but couldn't quite get it. Very fun game though and the visuals are really nice.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Really challenging game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/V5g1IHvqQQk

Croze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:52am

Pretty cool, controls felt awkward though. Very difficult for sure

Linver says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:00am

Very good background, and style really. But this game needs moar easy levels/
And if you try to fly to the space.. game is crushed ;3

badia_r says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Nice little game. It's neither too easy nor too hard. Very fun to play!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:24pm

cool parallax background, challenging jumps, nice game idea
Love the Zelda 2 house!! :-)

lanestp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:05pm

That was some nice HARD platforming! I liked it! That timer on the animal forms is unforgiving! Really fun!

m3games says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:15am

I found the game compelling, I wanted to know what was going to happen and figure out who wrote the signs. Unfortunately I couldn't get past all the crazy ice jumps with the little goat berries. But the goat and I the bird are awesome, I'm curious if other transformations are in the game too. I might come back to this one! Nice job.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Nice entry, the level design was actually really pleasing but the platformer physics somestimes felt a little unfair (expecially starting the 3th level), I enjoyed it nonetheless. Also the jump sound felt really delayed.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Very nice game! :)

jakass says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Interesting graphics! lol Good project!

srakowski says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Ahh so hard! Great job :)

ziege says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:13pm

My first ragequit of this LD.
It looks good, has great potential. But the controls are awkward especially those damn few (one?) steps after jump.

Ardy says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:05pm

I liked the idea but the execution not so much. Some thing that could be improved:
- Gosh please remove the falling on the ground sound. It's just annoying and provides really no feedback at all.
- You should be able to go through the platforms when jumping under then, this not only makes you able to use then in different ways as it makes it less frustrating when you make a climbing part because you don't have to precisely jump in order to not bump the head in a platform and fall to your death. I really wanted to be able to play the rest of the game, but I couldn't get though level 3 because of that

Other than that, the graphics are really clean and the backgrounds are awesome. The image you made for the game though really doesn't help at all. I was expecting a half finished horrible game and got something else entirely, some people may not give it a go because of it, tho.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Since this has been a common complaint - level 3 is the final level of the game. I made it hard because I didn't have time to make more levels after it.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Shapeshift:Check
Fun to play, good entry!

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:50am

Great concept and I loved the art style! My only complaint is the difficulty of the parkour parts because of how "slidy" to controls are.

medidog says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:14am

Funny use of the theme!

blackoptics8 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:37am

great use of the theme and was exxxtremely hard on the last level XD felt like it needed some music ;D oh and flying up as the bird to high does crash the game as weeping rupee mentioned.

TeamPoops says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:27am

Awesome job!

goffmog says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:57pm

I'm not usually a fan of unforgiving platformers and this one was a beast. Thank you for not having enemies! But in an LD context it's refreshing to play a platformer where the mechanics have actually been written from scratch rather than being fudged with a physics engine, it's always more satisfying this way. I tried, I really did, but after the second time of falling off just before eating the berries that turn you into a bird, I had to quit :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]