Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Kingdom of Metamorphs

by AinoraZ - Compo Entry

My LD35 is finally finished!

Presenting: Kingdom of Metamorphs

In this game you control "minions" on a chess-like board.

Your main objective:
Capture the enemies base

You'll have to fight off hoards of mobs, take over tactical spawn points and use numerous cards in order to win!

Good luck!

Update:

Port to web:
-Added to web platform, so should fix the problem of Linux and OS/X users not being able to play. Built using original source code, but created a one line script so the game wouldn't scale (caused problems in HTML).

Post-Compo:
-Changed the blinking on unused minions to a more noticeable color.
-Made the AI about 5 times faster.
-Fixed a few typos.
-Added a proper win and lose screen.

~Ainoras ┼Żukauskas

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#165Innovation3.66
#180Fun3.56
#322Overall3.37
#605Mood2.71
#816Theme2.68
#836Graphics2.22

Comments

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02pm

It felt a little bit boring, there weren't any sounds, there wasn't an attacking animation or something. The game is really strategic though.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:03pm

(RE: P.S. Sorry to all the linux and mac users out there) you could install the WebGL package to Unity, and then you can make a WebGL version which you can just throw online, and then everyone can play online. Check my online version here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=5952

To your game then :)

Interesting boardgame. I like the tips, they really give you a bit of guidance what you should do. The graphics could've been a bit more interesting, but I'm not against the minimalistic setting.

At first, I thought I couldn't see which of my minions could still move, but then I saw the blinking... it's really hard to notice. I found it a bit weird that I could keep spawning minions each turn without perceivable penalty. I found the CPU turn to be a bit slow, but that might be me.

In general, I hope you keep developing this, it's a nice idea, but it needs just a bit more development, maybe some alternative unit types, maybe a resource management system of sorts (e.g. some fields give coins, and you need coins to spawn new items)

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:12pm

graphics weren't much, but the game played really well and made me want to to play all the way to the end (and so i did). Good Job!

Batzorig says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Once I understood the flow of the gameplay, I had a lot of fun finishing out the match.

Laralyn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Great game! Really interesting mechanic and implementation of the theme. I'd love to see this polished with a greater variety in cards (like movement-affecting ones) and boards.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:39pm

This was a neat entry, well done!

Pontifex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Gameplay is really slow, but I had a lot of fun anyway!

neondx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:28pm

you've got a good concept for a board game, but it's waaaaay too much to understand in so little time

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Really cool strategy game, i love it. good work!!

A_Cupcake says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:10am

Fantastic strategy game! Really well balanced. It took me the longest to whittle down the last couple of opposing minions and I felt like it could turn any moment if I didn't concentrate. Played this for waaay longer than a lot of other games. :)

PixelRetro says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:40am

It's great to see a board game!
I really like your idea and game and I think it has potential. In my opinion, the player needs more options, what he/she can do in his turn and the complexity in general must be increased. This may be achieved by more complex boards, where there are more spawnpoints and maybe even more bases the player has at the beginning. Hexagonal or octagonal maps could also lead to more interesting clashes of the opposing minion.
To add more options the player can choose from, you could let the player choose a minion from a certain set of different minions in the spawning phase.
Another idea would be to draw a card instead of producing a minion in the spawning phase.
But I think when you are going to continue or extending the game it is very important, that the ATK/DEF switching mechanic is/stays an integral part of the game.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:25am

Very finely-tuned mechanics (I take it you're a Magic: the Gathering fan) but at the behest of giving things much polish.

That said, if you now took this further to give the graphics a coat of paint and add music and sounds, this could really shine!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:56am

YES! I WON! :D

This is one of the best games I've played so far and I've played over a hundred now.

Your take on the theme is great!

The problems I had with it was fixed in the post-compo version, so no complaints!

Great job and hope you had a fun time making it =)

lanestp says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:23am

I LOVED this game. It was amazingly fun! I wasn't feeling the theme but honestly, I hate the theme and this game was awesome! Great job!

haveric says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:59pm

steep learning curve, would do great with upgraded graphics and animations for attacking. the cards totally transform the game and make it even more fun. would love mouseovers for movement range. could use sounds and music, but to be honest I didn't really find myself missing them.

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:17am

Interesting game design. Mechanics have a lot of potential.
Seems like with a little hard design thinking you could find a way to make the choices a lot more strategic and meaningful. But yeah--interesting core mechanics.

mcfearless999 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:43am

Thanks for having a web based game. It was a little slow and not much on the visual side

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Nice. Won in 25 turns.

Dunric says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:54am

I like it!!

Larzan says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Ha, i am a sucker for those type of games, nice.
It was a bit too repetitive though, you should change the maps a bit so that the AI will definately get a second base, otherwise it just diddles around waiting to be killed.
Keyboard controls would have been nice too.
But good job, nice game :)

PowerSpark says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:58am

Pretty fun, I played it until I got the win. It did take a long time though, you should add sounds and art.

Xanjos says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:10am

I like how the stat swapping every turn adds an extra element of strategy as it encourages players to be more careful when moving their pieces.

May 6, 2016 @ 7:03am

I'm unable to play this, getting an exception in WebGL, rangeError.

UnityLoader.js:1 exception thrown: RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded,RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded
at kbk (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:9:444891)
at Array.UPf (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:7:407860)
at kbk (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:9:444988)
at Array.UPf (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:7:407860)
at kbk (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:9:444988)
at Array.UPf (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:7:407860)
at kbk (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:9:444988)
at Array.UPf (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:7:407860)
at kbk (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:9:444988)
at Array.UPf (blob:https%3A//commondatastorage.googleapis.com/53f38ec1-d38a-4f68-affd-5b1f1d56aea7:7:407860)

May 6, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Nice to see some strategic games out there!

AinoraZ says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:50pm

@Sri Harsha Chilakapati It's a know bug with Unity's webgl and code stripping. Apparently it incorrectly strips code and runs an infinite recursion

ryjcio says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I couldn't figure it out how to play this game. I leave it with no rating. I'm sorry :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]