Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

AmeriMorph

by squirrelbot - Jam Entry

Robotic clones are destroying humanity! Use your trusty morph bracelet to jump like a rabbit, fly like an eagle, and slither like a snake through this action platformer.

Controls:
AD/QD to move
Space to jump
Left click to shoot
Shift/TAB to transform
More detailed instructions included in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#187Humor(Jam)3.29
#188Audio(Jam)3.58
#493Theme(Jam)3.41
#559Mood(Jam)3.09
#623Graphics(Jam)3.18
#730Fun(Jam)2.88
#763Innovation(Jam)2.79
#791Overall(Jam)2.98

Comments

Bencrorules says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:16am

I love how you guys did your own audio. Great Work!

PotatoMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21am

I thought it was good, I liked the narrations, and music

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06am

nice little story and funny voice acting.
BUT the game crashed often, so i heard the intro a couple of times...

squirrelbot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13am

@11Schotter Really? I haven't had it crash a single time. When does it happen?

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33am

There's even VOICE ACTING!

You got a new fan :D

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:44am

Nice use of the theme, it's really fun to play :D

One thing that could change though is the size of the bullets, it's super hard to see them on the screen

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Funny voice acting!

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

You guys did a lot of work and it shows, congrats! Character got stuck on ground way too often for me, but pretty fun game nonetheless.

LordKawaii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:53pm

The voice work was silly and I enjoyed it!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Awesome that you included VA in the game! That was something we thought about getting in for our game, but just didn't have the time. The game itself looks good and is pretty fun. One thing I would suggest is tightening up the jumping and momentum as right now it is VERY floaty. Feels like I'm jumping on the moon!

williambsm says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Its a really nice intro and funny. Nice work!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:29am

Rofl dat voice acting xD

Pretty cool entry you got there! Artwork works well, and the sounds are suitable (especially the voice acting)

Would maybe fine tune the enemy rate of fire, make the bullets bigger so they are more visible. And there is some issue with collision (character sometimes is stuck on walls and needs to transform to get away) and also when jumping and hitting a wall, even in human form, you sometimes end up jumping very high.

Aside from that though, solid entry, good luck!

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Very nice!

tower07 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:07pm

The voice acting was super funny! Nice job.

blaclegi says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Really good job! I really liked the graphics, audio and game play. The voice acting was also really funny. Once again good game!

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Cool game.Really good music and i really liked the art style good job.

jonask says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:14pm

It was quite glitchy. I could jump in the air very high and sometimes get stuck on the ground when I landed. I liked the audio work and gfx though.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Good, but it seems like the characters either get stuck a lot or I missed some of the instructions.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Loved the art, cutscene, and gameplay - it all fit nicely!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:02pm

A good prototype, I liked the intro. Well done!

curtamyth says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:22am

Interesting but glitchy. Getting stuck in the floors and walls constantly isn't much fun. I like the art and sound though!

ryjcio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Voice acting is definitly something awesome and unusual!

But... Most of the time I don't see platforms. It's frustrating to make all these "faith jumps". And characters get stuck in the ground without any good reason.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Nice Game:)

blackoptics8 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:58am

I really wasn't expecting that explosion at the beginning x...x

gelisam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:51pm

You clearly worked very hard on this, with an intro sequence and multiple tilesets and music and voice and everything... but the result simply wasn't fun for me. The controls are horrible (I keep either bouncing so high that I can't see where I'll land or being inexplicably unable to move or jump unless I transform first), there doesn't seem to be a way to hit enemies without being hit back and so it's just a question of clicking fast enough that my energy bar doesn't drop too quickly, and the transformations didn't really add much to the experience.

El Cabaro says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Pretty fun game. We somehow got the rabbit to fly indefinitely but the glitch resolved itself and we couldn't seem to reactivate it. The Eagle didn't really seem to have a use. Also you can climb walls at hyper speed. Bugs aside, it's a neat little game with nice graphics.

lanestp says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:12am

Glitchy but fun! I thought I was stuck to the wall right at the start but I shape shifted my way out. I think the concept is fun. Definitely needs polish

Marc F. says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Fun to play, nice SFX, but got stuck on ground often and controls felt a tad wishy washy. Needs polishing, but other than that solid entry.

Four Quarters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:44pm

nice game!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I can't play java games because I refuse to install the JRE on my machine just to play games, but thanks for playing my entry!

StrayCat says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Good job!

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:02am

nice audio !!! :)))

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]