Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Critters

by thegypsyknight - Compo Entry

-- Tiny Critters --

Collect all the coins with the help of all the animals. Sounds easy right?
There is only one level!

-- Controls --
[Space] Start the game.
[WASD] Movement and jump.
[1,2,3,4,5,6] Change animal (see top left).
[R] Restart game.
[M] Mute sound.
[Escape] Back to menu.

made by Erik Wittmann (thegypsyknight)

-- Contacts --
thegypsyknight@gmail.com
https://twitter.com/TheGypsyKnight
https://www.twitch.tv/thegypsyknight
http://thegypsyknight.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#76Theme4.00
#116Graphics3.88
#180Humor3.03
#204Overall3.53
#309Mood3.14
#313Fun3.35
#314Audio3.02
#474Innovation3.10

Comments

iendsl says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:37pm

I love the art style. The tiny characters and animations are great. I really like getting to switch through characters. The game is a little to difficult for me, maybe because I am sleepy. I couldn't figure out how to get past bunny and as turtle I would get stuck. I am definitely coming back to this, seeing the characters is such a good reward and the different mechanics is a strong design!!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Very very cool. Music very 8bit-ish. Easy to control - very hard to beat. Great FUN!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Really nice game good concept, lovely pixel art.
Great.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Hey there, you played my entry on stream, so I've played yours. Here are the ratings I gave because I don't like how hard it is to find the ratings given to a project, or if they even let users access that info:
Innovation - 4/5
Fun - 3/5
Theme - 5/5
Graphics - 5/5
Audio - 4/5
Humour - 2/5
Mood - 5/5
Overall - 4/5

Pretty good game!

Rscar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:41pm

I really liked it! Loved the art and music, and it felt like a very purist platformer which I'm a fan of

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52pm

That was great, the best I played so far. The graphics - great. The sounds - great. The concept is exactly on the spot for the theme. The level design was clever. Gameplay was smooth.

However, it took me stupidly long to realize I could change shapes after I collect the gems, it should be added to the controls in the main menu.

Sometimes it was a bit frustrating dying in stupid ways, but it was very satisfying to beat in the end.

Also, I don't understand what is the turtle good for.

The coin near the start point behind that small hole was only collectible using rabbit -> fish -> mouse, this one took me a while.

I would love to see this made into a full game with more animal types (like bird) and more levels.

My time was 1:11.32. I kind of want to speedrun this.

joekinley says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:32pm

I can't for the life of me get past the first level. I keep dying as a bunny, whatever I try.
But still good job

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:00pm

I never knew a bunny had that much blood inside it. Nice art, and very difficult level. Good game.

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Concept is great, art is great, but i'm not a fan of the short looping audio. still, overall a great game!

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Very creative and pretty game. It is very hard to beat though.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30pm

this is a pretty good take on the theme. the game is really fun. :D

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Great work, very playable. I particularly like the bunny: great pro/con design.
You probably want to either find a longer music sample or just let this one fade out after a few loops.
I'd also suggest a much louder visual for the spike floors: they're really difficult to read. I definitely died a few times before I realized they were spikes, and even then I'd hit every new one I came across ones because I didn't see them.

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:27pm

I really enjoy how differently each animal behaves. There are a few points in the level where you can get stuck if you don't follow the intended path, which can be a little frustrating.

GrimGary says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12pm

As my first official LD35 rating. Pretty good stuff Erik. My only low mark was innovation. I don't feel it was any more different than any other platformer other than that the theme was applied to it. Theme and humor are spot on 5 stars. The blood! The blood!

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Nice platformer. Good use of the theme too. I had fun playing this :)

Rakowu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18am

Nice pixel game. First i thought you didn't calculate well the height of jump and objects, but than i saw the comments and tryied again. Nice, but maybe ther should be a alternative path in case you fall down. Better than retry, no? But really good game. good job.

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Great game

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Game felt a bit slow. Graphics are very cute and the gameplay itself is nice.

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Love the artstyle, animations and overall gameplay. I liked details such as that the rabbit form only jumps, so that A and D keys can't be used on their own!
On the other hand, I would say that some of the sections are a little bit difficult.

denycetm says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Really enjoyed it I felt like the mechanics were really solid

davor10105 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:50pm

love the sprites and music, gameplay is great too, but its kinda frustrating that if you dont take the intended path, you are forced to restart immediately. great work, keep it up, looooove the bunny :)

knason says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Nice game, I like these kind of puzzle games, a bit challenging :-) Nice graphics and just the right amount of blood. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]