Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Perfect Form

by samreid - Jam Entry

Perfect Form

To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.
- Winston Churchill

This game is Jam Packed with 3 Modes:
Arcade: morph to as many shapes as you can before the Earth is destroyed
Adventure: Become Murphy McMorph and join the Quest for the Crystal Fractal
Free Play: Create and explore to your heart's content.

Source is available at https://github.com/samreid/ludum-dare-35-shapeshift
Built on:
the PhET Interactive Simulations stack: https://github.com/phetsims/
imagediff.js: https://github.com/samreid/ludum-dare-35-shapeshift/blob/master/lib/imagediff.js
the following open source projects: https://github.com/phetsims/sherpa/blob/master/README.md

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Theme(Jam)4.42
#15Innovation(Jam)4.30
#270Humor(Jam)3.05
#364Overall(Jam)3.42
#365Fun(Jam)3.33
#511Mood(Jam)3.14
#630Graphics(Jam)3.17
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:15am

Wow this game is a really cool puzzle game. I really think you should keep working on this post-mortem. I'm addicted, it's visually very pleasing, it's very challenging but also fun and satisfying to finish a level and match a piece. 5 stars!!

state550 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:18am

This is great. It's really unique and the visuals are excellent too.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:18am

Interesting puzzle game, great take on the theme.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:22am

Really enjoyed the fractal shapes, though it was a bit confusing at times when the shapes looked very familiar but didn't match.

Cosine says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:28am

It's a really cool concept! I found it interesting with the different orderings of transformations. One thing that got a little difficult was with the scaled down to-the-side shapes, sometimes it was hard to tell what I was going for. For example, I got one where I had to repeatedly stretch out my star, and it was just guesswork by how much. Also, on that level I got two of the same transformation. This made it so sometimes I thought I should be getting the right answer, but it wasn't registering, which made it a little frustrating.

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Unique and creative. Wish more attention was spent on the graphics section :P

kleinzach says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Excellent idea! I found it very hard to think strategically about it, but I still enjoyed it a lot.

CheesyRamen says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:01pm

This game is deceptively hard! But a great workout for the brain :) Nice job!

Gjarble says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Very cool concept! I was a bit confused as to what was going on at first, but I started to enjoy it once I understood the rules. You deserve a lot of credit for communicating such abstract mathematical/geometric concepts through a relatively intuitive gameplay process.

Still, there were many levels where I felt like I didn't really know what I was doing and just got lucky by clicking the right series of buttons. This was because it was very hard for me to imagine what the shape would look like after multiple transformations, especially for the operations that change the number of vertices, like Snowflake, Radial Mirror, Delete Vertices, and Invert (I'm still not entirely sure what Invert does). If you're making a post-jam version, I'd recommend lowering the difficulty curve of the first two modes by not introducing these transformations until much later in the game. This would give players time to understand the rules of the game before you ask them to also understand some of the more complex kinds of transformation.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:24pm

this game is sooo juicy! and a little bit hard for me ,but serval times later, i become more good for this !haha
if there are some good rhythm music ,this could let me feel more humor!~
great overall and cool inoovation.(oh ,forgot to said ,these eyes really let this game more vivid,well done!)

scorched says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:11am

Don't get how to play the arcade version, but adventure one is nice! Idea is great! Wasn't very obvious at first what every button does though. Also stuck at the level that doesn't accept my solution: http://imgur.com/SWiPTXF

MegaBrutal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:33pm

This game has freezed my browser (Firefox) at least 3 times (yet I gave it multiple chances). Sometimes one click causes the entire browser to grey out, and then it starts to eat memory in a rapid fashion, spilling over to swap, and would probably summon oom_kill if I hadn't killed it before that may happen. Some serious memory-management issues there.

I didn't fully get the logic of the game. I couldn't figure out what I'm supposed to do in Arcade mode. The Adventure mode just started to get likable, and I was kind of getting to grasp the logic, and I would have liked to continue it and play it further, but the browser always freezed before I could get far enough.

Strongest qualities in Theme (4) and Graphics (4).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]