Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Le Frog Ship

by katorovitalo - Jam Entry

Le Frog Ship

American Frogs from the planet of amphibiomorph are enjoying a peaceful stroll through the galaxy when suddenly they are ambushed by a barrage of hungry Frenchmen! Guide the frog ship through the Frenchmen's onslaught as long as you can! Be either the fast but weak tadpole ship or the tank of a frog ship! All at the press of a button!

Controls:
For Keyboard:
- WASD to move
- J to shoot
- K to Transform
- Enter to Start the game or exit the game over screen.

For Controller(Xbox 360):
-Control Pad or Joystick to move
- A to shoot
- X to transform
- Start to start the game or exit the game over screen.

Game Programmed and "Music/SFX" By: Kyle Viola (http://www.kyleviola.com/)
Art by: CrystalFace (http://www.crystalfaceguy.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#5Audio(Jam)4.50
#8Humor(Jam)4.33
#216Fun(Jam)3.52
#243Mood(Jam)3.52
#336Overall(Jam)3.46
#630Graphics(Jam)3.17
#728Theme(Jam)3.08
#871Innovation(Jam)2.63

Comments

pokipsy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:33am

Thanks for this little game, made me laugh, I really had a good time :)
Awesome sound design !!!
My Hi-score: 59200 ;)

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Not a bad hi score, pokipsy! Thanks for playing! :)

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Haha. I just love that you did the sound track with your voice haha! Avoidin French things flying through space whats not to love :)

Drusilla says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I kept playing just to hear the entire song. Awesome.

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32pm

The song was pretty funny lol. I enjoyed shooting space cigarettes and being a spaceship frog flying in space.

hellojed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:46pm

The cover art for this is absolutely excellent. Also: Rumble! Wow.

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51pm

CrystalFace, the one who did the art for this game, is really good at what he does. I highly recommend checking out his other stuff. This was his first time doing art for a game but he's been doing art in general for a long time. Thanks for letting me know what you thought about the rumble too! :)

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Thank you to everyone who has given me positive feedback on the song. :D

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20am

I enjoy so much the sounds xD pretty good. Keep learning and nice work.

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:24am

I kept playing over and over to hear more of the song lol! I kept laughing at loud at the absurdity of this game - the french-themed enemies on top of the song, it was just perfect. 5 stars for humor and audio no question.

masterkrepta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:27am

That was some of the best audio I have heard so far, I actually played longer just to hear more of it.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:38pm

This shit was hillarious, from the mouth made sound effects to the funny themesong, had a good laugh on this one

good job :D

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Loving that sound effects, well done :D

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Power to the WTFesque! Thanks for the game

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Simple, yet fun game! Loved the graphics, the audio and the setting xp Great ship and enemy designs kkkk Those cigarettes are so annoying T_T

Anyway, congrats on you entry!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:22pm

5 for audio, naturally. Awesome

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:42pm

What ?

That SFX man... xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]