Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Who Let The Chicks Out?

by jdmazz - Compo Entry

Survive until you get to the barn. Eat three worms to shape shift into a chicken. A chicken can fly...a little.

Controls:
-WASD keys to move.
-Space to jump.
-Escape pauses.

Tools:
-Game Engine: Unity
-Art: Photoshop.
-Audio: FruityLoops + sfxr + Kurzweil PC88 Keyboard
-Programming Language: C#

Thanks for playing my LD35 compo entry. I just started making games and I probably learned 50% of what I know during the last 48 hours. I had never done a sprite sheet before this competition. I had also never made a 2D game at all. I learned a ton. I was watching tutorials for the first 24 hours straight -- lol! It was very fun. I'm happy to finish something...so tired. :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#186Humor3.00
#363Audio2.93
#532Graphics2.88
#580Mood2.75
#718Fun2.75
#740Theme2.90
#762Overall2.83
#901Innovation2.10

Comments

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:27am

So i got one question for you, how did you place the same texture next to eachother, did you make your own grid system as an editor extension?

Also i miss the source code link :(.

Game is quite decent, only thing i dislike is how hard it is to make the jumps, the jumps are quite hard and have an low error margin.
That was in level 1 though, didn't beat the first level.

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:34am

I didn't use a grid system. I used vertex snapping. In Unity this is hold down the V key. When you slice up a sprite sheet, you can pick where it is sliced. I will add the source code now. I have a github account.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15am

Pretty good game. The controls bother me a bit, but thats just my opinion.

Daws says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15am

Dope little game! Real nice art and very easy to pick up and play. Good work for just starting out making games!

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16am

A little choppy for me, but quite fun!!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26am

the jump is uncomfortable.. after all it's funny. I love how die the chicken

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:27am

Cool little game. It is really hard to make jumps though. GUI was cut off a little, but still good overall. Good graphics, even if my framerate little choppy. Also good music.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:58am

Considering that you're new to making games, this is really great. I am one of those people like to jump with the W key in 2d games, it could easily be done so that both the W and space keys make the character jump.
It was kinda fun how, when the chicken/egg died, it became it's food version.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12am

Awesome graphics and bumping music. However, the controls feel pretty constricting and sluggish. Good work :D

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:13am

It seems like a lot of people didn't like me using space bar for jump and would have preferred to have that and the W key and possibly another key. Lesson learned. I'll try to keep good controls in mind for the future LDs. Thanks for the constructive criticism.

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:15am

Nice concept. That song reminds of.. lady madonna!
I became an egg various times, it was fun.

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18am

hahah!! Love the sprites and animations for chick!! :D

Nice entry dude!

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:26am

good graphics and music, but I hate when I die and I get taken right back to the main menu, controls are a little awkward. seems like a game i'd play for a while, I got chickens at home.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:13am

chicken or egg? simply and clever. A bit frustrating to control making the fun factor drop but you've done incredibly well overall for a beginner

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:08am

Nice :D

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:13am

Chicken is a bit creepu, But it's good, tastes like chicken overall. And the levels are well designed for the little time you have. Congratz

Jetro says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:17am

Nice and funny game !!

crisp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Pretty nice! Controls are a little ruough but I like it! Good job!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59pm

*becomes cooked egg/ chicken* Haha!

Tbh, I actually didn't even finish the first level as I got too frustrated with dying all the time. :c

The music really brings this game up a notch =)

01101101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Controls are a bit "floaty", makes it hard to precise and it's a bit frustrating. Other than that, good job on the graphics and coding. Nice game :)

ezombort says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Fun but pretty hard first level :)

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Game is not bad. My only critique is that the view makes some jumps extra difficult.

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:40pm

This is Chicken Souls! Damn. I wish I had named it that.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:14pm

The white fonts are a bit confusing, and the jump is unforgiving with the player.
But the game is fun and has a good humor, Nice work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Nice twist on the music. The controls were a little clunky sometimes but its very good overall!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Cute lil game. A bit hard to jump on big chicken mode but funny, specially when you die as a fried egg. Audio is lovely.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:15am

Very good for a first attempt. The graphics and sound are all solid. There is a bit of a bump while walking, I think possibly because of a gap between floor block objects. The chicken double jump was a bit fiddly, I couldn't do it reliably.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27am

Nice game. Cute take on the shape shifting theme, some of the jumping was tricky but I got the hang of it after a while. Good work!

dunin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:54am

it's a good start, and you finish a game!
I think it's discouraging to restart at the first level...

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Cute game, the jumping mechanics are too difficult though. Couldn't make it past level 2.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Cool graphi but really hard to play !

mennchen22 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Nice One ! Liked it

Jin47 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Great Game, The physics of the jump could be a little more "dynamic" but except from that really good entry (great music by the way !!). Good job

Reisen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:18pm

A decent platformer for your first entry, good job overall!

Except for level 3. I spent like tens of tries cursing for that one platform to come down.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Good job for your first entry, next time, plan your jumps to see the destination platform avoiding jump of faith. :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Good job for your first entry, next time, plan your jumps to see the destination platform avoiding leap of faith. :)

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Why oh why did you put platforms outside of camera view? :(
But you have finished the game and it looks really nice! Congratz! :)

hunttis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Funny :D Also a bit hard ! Congrats on finishing a game, starting out is the most difficult :)

The camera could maybe go a bit ahead of the chicken, so it'd be easier to see where you're jumping. Sometimes you even had to make a leap of faith, since you couldn't see where you're going :)

Also, OUCH on the level ending sound :D

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:49pm

For learning 50% of what you know during Ludum Dare, good job! As others have said, the movement were quite tricky to master. I really like the barn sprite for the end of the level. Good work!

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Cool entry, keep working on this. Its a great start

plko says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Great work.
Wait for your next masterpiece :P

arzi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Funny death sprites :)

Had some troubles with clunky jumping as the chicken just stopped all of its upwards momentum when it collided to platform walls. Nice, cheerful game overall.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Hey! Congratulations on yout first jam!
Good use of the theme on this platformer.
The music fits the game art. Good job!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Cute little game with a funny dead transformations! :-)
Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]