Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Key Quest

by SigmanZero - Jam Entry

Key Quest is a roguelike top-down shooter in which you have the ability to absorb your enemies and inherit their attacks. With each room you travel, the enemies get tougher. Navigate your way through a constantly changing map to obtain the three keys you need to escape!

Controls:
> WASD (or arrow keys) - Move around
> Mouse - Aim
> Click - Shoot
> Spacebar - Absorb a nearby enemy

Tools Used:
> Unity Game Engine (2D)
> Visual Studio
> Adobe Photoshop
> BFXR

Made by SigmanZero in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 35

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#305Innovation(Jam)3.34
#453Fun(Jam)3.24
#544Theme(Jam)3.35
#560Overall(Jam)3.23
#570Humor(Jam)2.39
#614Audio(Jam)2.57
#641Mood(Jam)2.97
#827Graphics(Jam)2.84

Comments

Almax27 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Good idea with the main shooting bot, I like how when it is consuming others with a different ability that it turns into it. Overall good game.

nickavv says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:59am

A lot of mechanics get thrown at you all at once here which makes it pretty overwhelming jumping in. But once I got my head around them it's a pretty awesome gameplay concept! The camera is way too close to the player in my opinion, which makes it difficult to get your bearings, especially with the plain black background. But good stuff overall

FaeDine says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:17am

Other than the camera feeling way too close I really liked this.

The controls could have been a bit tighter (personal preference I guess, it just felt really "floaty"). The minimap helps a ton, but I found myself wanting to use that to play to compensate for the close camera instead of just a quick reference.

Absorbing abilities though is really well done. I like the effects behind it as well as the mechanics.

davisan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:21am

Very good! Clear objectives and mechanics. Loved the exploration. My only complain is I think the controls are too floaty to my taste. And to increase the juiceness, put more particles, screenshakes, etc. it will make it even more fun.
Great work!

SigmanZero says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:37am

Thanks for the feedback! I made the controls floaty on purpose just because that's how I originally envisioned the game and also because I found it fun to bounce off the walls :3 As for the camera, I had it farther out at first and it felt too far, so I moved it in, but I agree it's a tad too close now. @davisan, I'll definitely keep the juiciness ideas in mind for my next game!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:42am

I don't think I ever found a key, but it's an interesting implementation of the theme and pretty fun. I liked that the different weapons really changed the style of play. Nice job.

caelanrp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:00am

Cute little game. Controls were a little floaty, but I liked the mechanics and I really liked being guided to the keys and fighting my way through rooms. Nice entry!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:24am

I liked the game overall, but it was difficult to control the tank/bot/etc because (1) it was always the same direction, not rotated to match towards mouse and (2) it went too fast for fine rotation control.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:31am

i like the mechanic, neat idea, i like it!

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:42am

Nice entry! I liked the variety in weapons, and particularly the tension that induced between employing a favorite weapon (ice beam!) and picking up what you need to move in the key's direction, or sometimes a compromise between the two.

I have to agree with the nits others have raised (floaty controls and camera too zoomed in). The audio can get to be a bit much with the pew pew pew at times, perhaps varying the sound slightly with each shot would help with that?

SigmanZero says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:39am

@Marjie62, that's a fantastic recommendation for the sounds that I never considered - thanks!

SpiritJZL says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:36am

The game is great, except the control is a little difficult

wavertron says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:40am

I like the art, simple but crisp, clear and consistent. Like a few others have said, the camera felt a little close in. And the controls a little too floaty. Nice job including the mini-map, they are fun to implement with a little math and really have a nice impact on a game.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:38am

Nice concept and cool mechanics! Though control was a bit hard, very slippery... Also fire shot was a bit useless I think... ice was way superior! Anyways, great work!

saucygames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:04am

Nice game, I encountered a bug where if I'm going straight towards a wall while absorbing an enemy it pushes you out side the map! Just letting you know, unless you didn't already :)

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:24am

Great job! I loved the idea, and I really had no problems with this one! My only suggestion would be to add music! Amazing job, overall!

SigmanZero says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:20pm

@saucygames, Thanks very much for the tip! I'll look into it :)

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:59am

Nice job on this. It's fun to play. I like the full view window on the bottom right. Reminds me of some games I played a long time ago.

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:42am

Nice little entry, I liked the overall feel and the general idea with stealing your enemies' guns is cool.

There was a weird bug I've encountered where you could pass through walls when shrinking right after you absorb an enemy; I had to wait in ambush near walls to absorb enemies, then approach doors outside the level and unlock them from the inside :)

joemid says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:17am

Looks really polished. Feels close, too. A little weird sometimes, my player would seem to get stuck to the walls and I had no idea why. Opened a door and the screen went white.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:12am

Not sure I see the theme, but overall, a great game.

vootele says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:11am

Moving was a little hard but i like this game.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:11am

The acceleration made controlling a bit hard, but it works, good job :)

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:41am

That instruction menu completely overwhelmed me, way too much to remember at the start of a game. Other than that, Great concept and take on the theme.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:12am

Cute, but dark

Afendar says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:30am

Very fun idea and concept. I like it ! it's very hard to play but it's fun

Louspirit says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:39am

Nice animation and sound effects. You did a great job here. Enjoyable to play from the start to the end.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:45am

I love the simple but smooth graphics. Took me a bit to stop endlessly killing and start going to objective.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]