Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Purity

by Sean - Jam Entry

Protect your fragile heart from the infectious impurities!

-Click and hold to block
-Release to recover
-Only extended barriers can deflect, but a damaged barrier is slower to move than a healthy one. Take time to let yourself recover or you'll be overwhelmed before you know it.

Made by Sean for Ludum Dare 35 with S-Tengine2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Fun(Jam)3.92
#55Overall(Jam)3.98
#68Audio(Jam)3.92
#77Innovation(Jam)3.86
#95Mood(Jam)3.87
#219Graphics(Jam)3.94
#252Theme(Jam)3.71
#480Humor(Jam)2.56

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:24am

Wow, what a really great little "protect the middle" game! Simple but very satisfying gameplay.

Love the art design glitchy effects, and the music mixes really well with the blocking sound effects. The way the attackers come out in the sweeping patterns makes it very satisfying to block. A mobile version with touch support could do pretty well I think!

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31am

Simple but satisfying sums it up. I enjoyed how it snowballed and you had to really fight to recover after a certain amount of damage. Lovely.

egos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50am

amazing realisation and game mechanic. easy too understand and good use of the theme
Nice idea the breach in the heart and the Granular/procedural fit perfectly
I admit i have the dream to use a similar c++ code for my own project ;)
i finish with a score of 7426 with lvl6
Best entry for me

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:16am

Neat. I liked the way what you did affected the sounds. Pretty fun to play.

However, those intense, contrasting colors caused me a lot of eyestrain, so I had to put it down sooner than I might have otherwise. I liked the graphics style, ignoring the colors, though.

The core concept and gameplay are solid and enjoyable. On the whole, this is a very good entry. I agree that it would make a decent mobile game. :)

Thanks for sharing it!

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:41am

I love it!! It is an addictive type game and the music changing as you receive damage is just the icing on the top. The raw sine/saw wave music and effects were great and the game-play was simple but elegant at the same time. I would love to see some color changing or some different type enemies, but not having those takes nothing from the game as it stands now, just awesome!

Anikki says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:15pm

This is an example why Game Jams are great.

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Man this game is cool as hell, I love the corruption happening and it influencing things like the screen shake and audio. The minimalist design felt at times like an inverse tempest. The audio was also built in to the design of the game.
Probably my fav LD game so far.

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

What a piece of art! The concept is simple but it's so coherent, so well polished. The visuals and audio are very original and merge perfectly. Just.. huge respect for you!

Can't get past 4200pts, sadly :(

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Very unique style! I love this. It is simple and fun to play. The right game for some breaks at work!

tdelarosa723 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Very nice!

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Love the cool art and gross subtext.

duskpn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Really great game! Simple, but extremely well crafted!
I particularly liked the distortion on the music as you gradually lose. I managed to get to level 5

seizeTheDia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00pm

That is so good! Awesome job. Love the concept, love the art, great choice of music. It's really hard! I would love to see exactly where is the shape I'm affecting, maybe some type of cursor? Really good work 5 stars all around.

SpareWizard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:02pm

I liked how the noise from deflecting guys lined up well with the the music.

samlo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

This made me extremely uncomfortable. Very satisfying to play though! The positioning of the impurities is just a little ambiguous, which I really like. Awesome style too

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Really impressive! The art style and the mechanic are unique

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Cool! I loved the ambiance and the concept of the game! The challenge is also interesting, even if it's often hard to figure out if you're gonna catch a bullet or not.

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26pm

4706 so far. Nice take on the sound with the damage you take! Good use of the theme by the way!

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Really liked the coherency of the art, the sounds and the music. The distortion in the sound really gives a sense of desperation when you are defending. Also - Lv 8 - yeah!

Well done!

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

I really liked this one, as such concise games with unique visuals and audio are a pretty much the best jam games!

Drusilla says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52pm

I absolutely love this

spiffl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:18pm

WOW. This is probably the best jam game I've seen yet! The mechanics are fun and easy to understand, but those GRAPHICS AND MUSIC are INCREDIBLE. I looooooooooove the aesthetic and how things change as you get injured. In this game, injury isn't just a health meter going down, but it actually matters in a way that makes you almost wince and say "ouch" whenever you take damage. Very, very well done :)

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:00am

Well executed, just a great game!!

jofra says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:02am

Really cool concept! the audio was a bit hard to me tho :S

celia14 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:38am

Great implementation of a fun game - the aesthetics of the art and audio work together perfectly.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:18am

Really cool concept. I like how the sound gets messed up the move damage you take.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:17am

Awesome visuals and sounds. It feels very unique.

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:28pm

I love this. Simple and interesting game. Nice pacing of difficulty. Love the graphics and how the audio is integrated with the game. I usually pride myself with trying to come up with some constructive ideas about the game, but don't have much more to say than add some global high scores and ship the game.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:25pm

‚ÄčIt's simple, intuitive and fun. Also a bit hard after level 3. I love the music, and the sounds are fitting and satisfying. (Though I could see them become annoying after playing for a very long time.)

I like it lots! :)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Really unique entry!
Everything seems to fit togheter perfectly, even when everything is so simple, it's so beautiful!
The sound thing, the crazy art style! Great one!

sharrackor says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Fun game really enjoyed its mechanics and its simplicity, however the colours are kind of awful

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:00am

Unique look and gameplay. This is definitely a cool game, really well done.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:11pm

It's funny that you told me I went overboard with glow in my game, when you have such an "agressive" look ;). Simple idea, but pretty cool and exciting. I had fun.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:52am

Very cool arcadey game!! Love the style, the graphics and the audio fit greatly with the gameplay!
The best I could do was 6986. It was lovely.

Togimaro says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Fantastic look! I love the design and the gameplay!
It's difficult to recover in high levels and this imposes to be very precise it's really cool
Great job!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Such a simple but extremely well done game, impressed at how satisfying it feels to play. Everything just works so well with the graphics and music complimenting each other and the gameplay really placing pressure on the player to keep up. Definitely a favourite so far.

Gord10 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:38pm

I liked it. Though, not fan of the high saturated colors.

davor10105 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:38pm

great game man, i really enjoyed that, great mechanics, music and sound effect, the only bad thing is that im shit at the game, my highscore is 3098 xD

May 6, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Nice graphics, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/bGsPoPIYpCs

Chaserbrown says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:55pm

This was really, really nice! The graphics were, although... strange... really fitting and unique! The gameplay was simple yet fun! Good job!

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:25am

Got 4701 when I quit. The glitch graphics and audio are fantastic!

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:08am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]