Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Esoteric Order of Shapeshifters

by Somnium - Compo Entry

Master the secrets of the art of shapeshifting, by creating spells which manipulate the elemental components of all living creatures.

Learn the inscrutable Laws of Shapeshifting, and uncover the fundamental composition of various creatures, to finally earn the title of "Master of the Esoteric Order of Shapeshifters" (not an easy title to fit on a business card).


"The Esoteric Order of Shapeshifters" is a puzzle-game made in Java, using the LibGDX framework - Java is required in order to run the game. As this is not my usual genre, any feedback and comments would be much appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#91Theme3.97
#264Humor2.79
#285Innovation3.41
#346Mood3.08
#446Overall3.24
#487Fun3.10
#777Graphics2.41

Comments

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10am

I love this! It does indeed seem pretty esoteric at first but as you get used to the rules it becomes really very satisfying to play. I'd love to see it expanded with a mode in which you fight against another wizard by changing your animal accordingly (but I do of course understand that time was a bit limited for this - you've done a lot of work here as it is!).

A very cool concept which really works. One of my favourites so far!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02am

I really felt lost at the beginning, but in a good way, where I didn't know what I was doing, but I also got the sense I wasn't supposed to know. Discovering the different things made a very natural feeling of progression as I gained the knowledge of how to shapeshift different animals. My one complaint is as a master of alchemy, I shouldn't have to transform bats into rats once I get to the point where I know both of their components.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:13am

Loved how the game progressed. With more time I think this would be a great indie game:)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25am

Gameplay wise this is really fun and enjoyable. I would like to play more of it, perhaps with even more elements, laws and creatures.

Soron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25am

Neat concept, though it turns into a bit of a slog after a while. I definitely see a promising idea in here, though - it would be interesting to see what you come up with in the future!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33am

Great puzzle :) It gets repetitive after a while though, once I get to know what the animals are made of.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:43am

I loved it! Finished with discovering 18 creatures, 15 of them solved.

One little nitpick. If I know all the elements of a creature or an abomination when it's attacking, I should be able to destroy it immediately, as it's slowing down the game a little bit to just go through that phase.

I think this was one of the best games I've played this Ludum Dare. Congrats on such a clean design and enjoyable gameplay.

TLansdale says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Really enjoyed this game, well done! It was initially a bit unclear what was going on - but once I understood the system it was pleasantly challenging and fun to advance in.

candlesan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Very different game! Would like to see it as the crafting portion of an RPG or soething.

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:16am

Nice game. For some reason I couldn't get it to run but at firdt then I realized that I had no java installed and I was like *(-_-)* . I really liked the idea of shape shifting in different animals to progress through the game.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:48am

This is a really cool idea! This would actually be really cool as some mobile game if you would add graphics for the different creatures, with little animations and sounds,... I can totally imagine it in my mind haha! Anyway, very original entry, good work!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:34am

Nice puzzle game with huge variants and elements

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:46pm

The in-world onboarding led to some initial confusion. As a typical gamer, I first tried to distinguish the gameplay instructions from the fluff, but the AHA moment came when I realised they were one and the same! :)
With some basic graphic improvements, basic animation and maybe a journal, this is the start of a great little magic sim.

notime4games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Woa!
I was put off by all the text at first but the game design of this was awesome!
Could have been a bit harder in my opionion so that you'd have to be more economic about your energy.
I had really fun playing your game! Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]