Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spaceshape

by Saymon - Compo Entry

Hi everyone !

This is my third entry so far, learned a lot.
No sounds and no graphics in this one unfortunately.
I ran out of time ...

But anyway, hope you enjoy it !

OS/X and Source are coming soon(ish).


Fixed in 1.1 :
-Enemies not spawning after Shapeshift.
-Health bar going crazy.
-Stars and projectiles too small.


Known bugs :
-Playing in fullscreen on the webplayer is recommended (you may not be able to see your credits).
-Sometime radar cubes don't go away when an enemy dies.
-When building, shapes can go through the walls and each other.


---------Controls---------

C : zoom out
V : zoom in

---Creation phase---
Spacebar : rotate shape
Right/Left arrows : move shape
Up/Down arrow : speed up shape

---Combat phase---
Mouse : turn ship
Up/Down arrow : move ship

-----------Tips-------------

In combat:
- The red bar below your ship is your current health
- The small cubes indicate enemies direction; The smaller, the further away from you.

In shop:
- Shop parts color corresponds to your ship.
- Shapeshift rebuild your ship entirely and add bought shapes.
- Spend your money wisely, different parts affect your ship different ways, experiment !



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#260Innovation3.46
#532Humor2.02
#611Theme3.13
#759Mood2.25
#841Graphics2.20
#856Overall2.62
#885Fun2.30

Comments

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:17am

Interesting combination of ship building and tetris. I didn't quite understand why sometimes the blocks wouldn't move all the way to the side, however.

I also didn't understand what to do in the combat phase :-o

I had some dots around my ship and I thought those were the directions I was maybe supposed to fly towards, but I didn't know if I was moving or not (some background stars or something might have helped there).

Spud says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:20am

Needs a bit more fleshing out, potential to be a really great game

Kazetsukai says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:58am

The tetris segment felt a bit clunky, and I was confused when lines didn't clear and blocks went through other blocks haha. The time spent navigating towards enemy ships is effectively a big downtime for the player, so leads to the game being a little bit boring.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Always been a fan of Tetris games, though the combat phase was a little obscure.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

cool game although the movement was a bit odd at times

h2n0 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:25pm

A fun little idea, its a shame it doesn't reset when you die, had to load the game back up a few times.

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Haha this is for some reason really funny. I just really like the way it takes something traditional and turns it into something completely different. Good job.

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:18pm

I felt a bit lost in the combat section, but as a veteran of many a tetris clone I enjoyed that part of it. I very nearly did tetris myself but I struggled to think of a unique mechanic to add to it, so props for innovation definitely!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:22pm

The concept to build your ship tetris style is great, but it was hard to find enemies and get enough money to buy something. But it has potential if polished!

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Building your ship using tetris is a very creative idea, well done

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46pm

I know, we had not much time. But the controls and the bugs too are horrible and I even managed to get a tetris shape out of the bounds. ;)

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06pm

interesting design :D after I tried to make shape again on that tetris style shapemaker it didn't let me go right enough to add blocks to it.. :( needs sounds! I like the idea of using tetris-kinda block maker for making a shape.

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Awesome... Like extreme tetris :)

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Neat idea, but it needs work. The input wasn't responsive and sometimes the left and right movement didn't work. Also I shouldn't be able to leave the play space with the pieces. Decent idea overall.

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Absolutely brilliant idea, that needs some work though:
- the Tetris part is too slow. When the down key is pressed, the stones still take ages to reach the bottom. It would also be helpful to see the function of each color (armor, weapon etc.) while a piece is falling down
- everything is too small :)
- there is no point in killing enemies as of yet, apart from getting more credits to kill more enemies

Just to emphasize, the game IS fun to play. It could be even better with a few fixes and a clear goal for the player.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Its an interesting concept, can be expanded such that the shape of the ship will affect the combat and characteristics of the ship. Ship building a little bit slow, and enemies are quite hard to find.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50am

i like how you mixed concepts. nice work :)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:50am

Clever idea but the controls were a bit stiff in the beginning.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Personally I think it has potential to become to a great game, but the combat is confusing and it need to improve its controls. Great concept anyway.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:54pm

great little game, has a lot of potential.

LostViking says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:07am

The spaceship combat is good and have elements of strategy. However the Tetris part was quite frustrating when the blocks didn't move with my input. But overall I liked it.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:31am

Cool version of Tetris. The zoom should stop before you go trough the stones.

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:31am

Cool idea, but the execution could use some work. The Tetris part felt very unresponsive at times so I had a hard time building my ship. Also, please don't make me use both keyboard alone and mouse and keyboard. :p Combat felt a bit non interactive in that it's just keep hitting till one drops dead. (At least with the ship I had I couldn't dodge bullets or do anything interesting in combat) Still, overall cool entry! :)

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:09am

The tetris-to-spaceship idea is very interesting, but I didn't understandthe rest of it :(

01101101 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:48am

I didn't understand what to do in the combat phase at first.
Cool idea, I like games with several phases and customization. Needs some more work but could be a really fun game!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:49pm

A space sim combined with tetris, I wish I came up with that combination.

It was a bit glitchy (I could move blocks outside of the grid) but I love the concept you did and your approach to it. Great job!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Really neat concept! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1j0YT8wm6Kc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]