Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Killer's Apprentice

by PaulJs - Jam Entry

To see the game in the best conditions refresh the page once when the music started for the first time.
Controls :
Arrow to move
Click to kill

Our is game is a half-narrative game in top view (for the gameplay phase) but with the room in background. We choose to not use the theme literally but to interpret it ! Hoping you like it !

CODE AND GAMEDESIGN by
Paul Eyheramouno (PaulJs)
GRAPHISM and DESIGN by
Raphaël Belliot
MUSIC by
Geoffroy Layec
NARRATION by
Paul Eyheramouno (PaulJs) and Laura Schlieselhuber (Blue Rosemann)
TRANSLATION by
Laura Schlieselhuber (Blue Rosemann)

Thanks for playing !
Rate us !

(Html5,Web only)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#159Mood(Jam)3.68
#340Audio(Jam)3.25
#415Graphics(Jam)3.56
#631Innovation(Jam)2.95
#774Humor(Jam)1.83
#877Overall(Jam)2.88
#920Theme(Jam)2.73
#1102Fun(Jam)2.19

Comments

Peringo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:33am

I like the idea of the man "shifting" and the athmosphere was pretty great! Some deeper gameplay, or some kind of failure state would improve the game in my opinion.
Still, solid work!

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Interesting idea. Sadly the gameplay did not support the story, at least I did not feel it did. Other than that, nice work. :)

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:23pm

A game of atmosphere, pretty rare! The gameplay is not that thrilling and would deserve 3D sequences (especially when we see these beautiful backgrounds). But the narration pushed me to continue to find out what it's all about!
So yeah.. An ambitious title that deserves more work, but I can clearly detect a potential: a Dear Esther-lika game, with a darker tone. Great work!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Pretty dark. Interesting style and use of the theme.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

The idea was very good, but the gameplay didn't work with the mood of the game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Nice twist on the theme, with some very haunting music to go along. But I think the presentation is somewhat lacking; I was unsure of what was going on at first.
I do appreciate the theme you've been going for, although I think the narrative could use a bit more subtlety (yes, obviously we're playing along with this man's actions, we're complicit to them, no need to remind us every other panel; I believe the game has enough strength to speak on its own).
Cheers,
Matei (BananaHammers Team)

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

I also think that this game still it's not in its full potential. I'd like to see it evolve.
Btw, it was extremely hard for me to kill the bathroom man. I even laughed hard at seeing how clumpsy I was being. :P

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:38am

Very different way of using the theme, but it was just too dark for me, but it's because I don't like terror things, but the game is nice, just not my type.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:34am

Nice twist! Mood, audio and art are great! Though there were some pictures that kept flickering while playing, and some of the collisions were weird, like the Next room text, or when someone bump into me.

Anyways great entry!

pokipsy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:54am

I loved the atmosphere and narration. I would have like some choices to make, and a more catchy gameplay. Overall, there is a lot of potential in this entry !

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Love the background and the 2D top view, very cool.

Louspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:44pm

At first, I didnt realize where the character was, it is not a usual point of view XD. Very beautiful pictures and a worked mood.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:16pm

It would be cool with some choices involved in the game.

mf1214 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Very dark game. Confused at first with the persepective, but I learned eventually. Some more content would be nice, like obstacles and a time limit. Other than that, good job.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:04am

Daring entry. Mood actually worked pretty well even though I would recommend keeping the tone serious in the text. It would have strengthened the theme.

The gameplay sadly does not support the atmosphere. The "targets" don't have believable behaviors. The mother runs around like a crazy rat more than anything else. It was also very frustrating trying to catch her : maybe giving the player more range, lowering the cooldwon, or giving feedback when the targets were in range would help.

Kudos again for the general mood though.

MegaBrutal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:59am

Nice atmosphere, nice background music, great graphics.

Would be nice to have some hints on the controls. At first I thought it's a mouse-only game, and it took some time to figure out that I can move with arrows.

How do you render the title screen? I couldn't read from the source. At first I thought it's real 3D animation with WebGL, but it's more likely that it's an animated GIF. With what application you made it?

Thanks for making me a killer, haha! :)

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:15am

@MegaBrutal: The game is created with Processing Js and it's software is not really adapt for making games (we can't use videos or gifs for example, so i use another process) ;o But you can find the title screen in GiF here : http://i.imgur.com/EUbX9dU.gif
And you welcome :D

@All: Thanks for the feedbacks ! Some ideas are
interesting ;o) There is some also we don't want to implement like the choice abilities because the story is against that (You only choice it's to stay and play or leave the game)

- PaulJs.

datadazer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Very interesting, dark and deep game. I liked the theme interpretation. The music set a good tone for the scene, and I liked the cutscenes. The gameplay was good, but I definitely think it could be improved and made more in depth. Overall, interesting idea with lots of potential!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Getting a timeout when I try to play your game. Seems the site is down :(

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:26pm

That was an interesting concept! i loved the creepy guy that kept popping up!! Excellent game!

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:36pm

@BulletsArePeopleToo No it's not, can you try the game in Chrome or Firefox in it was not already the case.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Pretty nice game, love the atmosphere :D

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:34pm

You nailed the mood, but gameplay on the other hand felt a bit pointless.

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:57pm

lol I've never been so insensitive. cool game

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:44am

Interesting take on the theme and the whole mood was really well done. Did have issues with the gameplay especially the scene with the son who I seemed unable to interact with. Thought it was unique visually though with the top down view and the background shot of the room.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Pretty interesting take on the theme. Very creepy and atmospheric.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Hi, nice game ! you use the b&w effects in a very cool way... We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

PaulJs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:06am

Yes you can ! No problem !

adam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:50pm

I'm not rating because I assume what I encountered was bugs rather than the intended gameplay. I saw odd flickering of characters against the background and a progress bar which seemed to count down to nothing and then restart. I think I would have had trouble anyway as the game was too large to fit on my screen.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:15pm

strange stuff, but good ambiance

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Really awesome atmosphere. It gave me the creeps

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:24pm

The mood is great! I also like the great art. Keep up the good work!

May 2, 2016 @ 10:33am

A unique game and the mood was fantastic.

May 4, 2016 @ 3:03am

Interesting way to tell a story. I like the background and the atmosphere, but the gameplay needs work to match the mood ;)

PinkIndian says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Really dark take on the theme. The story was great, telling that some things are just a game for others.
The graphics were cool. I really liked the backgrounds and the 'changing' character.

Aaranos says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:31pm

The atmosphere, gameplay, and story do not really work together. Independently they are good.

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Great atmosphere here! I love how you played with the idea that people will play the game that's given to them because that is what they are "supposed" to do, I thought this was a good way of bringing that to light in a super creepy way. The overhead movement over detailed perspective shot of the rooms really conveyed the tone super well (and emphasized that it was not about "gameplay" or skill so much as a context for highlighting this theme). The interstitial text moments were really good, though sometimes the light treatment/humor felt a bit like a mismatch to the tone, but perhaps that was the intent? Really interesting experiment, great job!

terryg says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:20am

interesting graphics style. kind of disturbing, but a good job of being disturbing. a way to lose would be nice.

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Cute little game but I want to see more content along with greater gameplay.

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:47pm

This was not what I was expecting at all, but much more interesting. WASD movements would be nice though.

StaNov says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Thanks for visiting my stream, you can watch my opinions again here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqDS9CXji3A

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:15am

I played the first room and did not really care for the direction things were going. It was bit too grim for my tastes. I will say the format and visuals are really great from what I saw, I am just not into that kind of thing anymore. It reminds me of Killer 7 (from when I used to play that of thing) a bit in how it combines things in addition the gritty atmosphere.

Tselmek says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:41am

The topdown perspective of the gameplay felt weird compared to the perspective of the background images. Really cool dark atmosphere although I'd have hoped for less flashing images, which to me didn't really fit the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]