Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

VoodoGoat

by [email protected] - Jam Entry

Controlls: wsad + shift

In this stealth game, you play as a witch doctor who posseses shapeshifting abilities. You'll have to perform some forbidden rituals around the village and get away with it!

Voodoo magic is of course a highly illegal activity! You'll have to run away and hide after each ritual is done.

To loose your pursuit, you can use your shapeshifting abilities to transform into a... goat. Well, nobody suspects a goat... Just try to remain hidden when transforming or everybody will see through your disguise!

After the transformation, you'll have to find some food to be able to transform back to human form!

Also, don't get caught by the red guys when you're a goat. Really. Just don't.

This game was created in a team of four.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#320Humor(Jam)2.90
#370Innovation(Jam)3.26
#459Theme(Jam)3.45
#481Audio(Jam)2.97
#485Mood(Jam)3.17
#560Overall(Jam)3.23
#591Fun(Jam)3.06
#594Graphics(Jam)3.23

Comments

Penthaquill says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:02am

Great game! :^)

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Great. Very balanced. 4/5 stars.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Really strange game, I did not understood if the Voodoo was to transform into the goat, or what else I needed to do. But good use of the theme.

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:39pm

This is halarias. Very original and funny. Love the content warning :D

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Very nice. I liked the ritual effects. Kind of tough to find a hiding spot at times.

monaarc says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Great ! Funny even if the controls are not very accurate. And the voodoo fits very welle with the theme :)

motorherp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Loved the walking animation

Rico says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:32am

Hard as hell

qikcik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Great game! :)

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:16am

It's cool but the control are a bit tough

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:02am

Good one, keep on working on this!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Great game! :)

josemorval says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Great game and original! :)

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:11pm

nice entry!
sometimes the WASD was a bit tricky on corners.

blob says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:29pm

The game could really have used better explanations in game, I kept getting confused. But great idea and nice humor once i got how to play. Kept imagining the goat lovers getting really disappointed when they found a weird shaman where the goat had gone. :p

mooncalf says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Solid entry. I think some great content could be created with this idea.

nlbi21 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Good game is very fun its hard xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]