Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Frogurt Cave Adventure

by sararyCow - Jam Entry

Frogurt has to learn to shift to new shapes and learn new new abilities in order to explore the whole cave. Madkaduki is doing shady things inside, can you stop it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#512Audio(Jam)2.90
#771Humor(Jam)1.84
#773Graphics(Jam)2.94
#807Theme(Jam)2.97
#976Mood(Jam)2.32
#1032Innovation(Jam)2.28
#1102Fun(Jam)2.19
#1134Overall(Jam)2.47

Comments

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:21am

Pretty nice, and I didn't encounter any major flaws.
Please check out my game as well.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:40am

I don't know how much time you have to make this game, but it needs a bit of testing. I think that you should make the box collision of the enemies smaller, I get stucked here http://i.imgur.com/tCa3VgW.png I couldn't get over the tiny platform of the right because the enemy hit me from above while I'm jumping.
I fall out of the level and the game doesn't ended, so I needed to close the game and run it again.
The sound effects are a bit to loud.
I didn't know if the fireball should defeat the enemies or only push them, so I ended jumping over them.
I liked the sprites and the frog transformation ability, and the music is cool. I hope you keep working in the next LD entry :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Not bad, it lacks some polish and the controls could be improved I think.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:08am

Cute game. A bit buggy, needs some polish, but it is a good base. Graphics are nice, by the way

nickavv says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:51am

As others have said, needs some polish. The camera was a little too close, it was hard to get a bearing on where to go in the level, and the controls were rough. Eventually, after getting the dashing form I glitched through the level and was unable to continue playing. I like the graphics and the music a lot though

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:53am

the gameplay has some bugs, collision and platforming dont feel smooth. I loved the graphics!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:09am

Its an interesting game. need some tweaks and graphics could be much better,But its fun playing it!

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:12am

I'm agree with the feedback: the game is cool but needs more work. I like the graphics and level design, but the game needs a bit of polish.

Keep working! :)

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:08am

I love your graphics. Nice game. Very good job!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:18am

Nice little game i enjoyed the graphics and the sound but it have a little bit too much bugs (i tried the web version) need polish , otherwise it's all good

solkar says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:59am

Jumping I passed through the ground and that broke the game. It's not very clear to me what I should do in the game. Maybe a smaller map would help. That'd probably help the graphics as well.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Funny and nice game! Great work!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:14am

Audio is a bit loud and enemies just won't die. If I tap space bar too many times, my character stops shooting all together. Love the pixel art.

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:21am

Hello!

The audio was good, and the player/enemy design was pretty cool.

However, there are inconsistencies between the style of environment, it didn't really fit the characters.
Also, level design has some room for improvement. Remember that it is as important as the characters, if not more.

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:23am

Hello!

The audio was good, and the player/enemy design was pretty cool.

However, there are inconsistencies between the style of environment, it didn't really fit the characters.
Also, level design has some room for improvement. Remember that it is as important as the characters, if not more.

AND... some feedback, as I was teleported when enemies hit me, but it wasn't explained if I died or it was a bug.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:05am

I really liked the character artwork, and the bg music was great. I couldn't really tell which direction I was supposed to be going in though, I just sort of flailed around and then got lost and stuck.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:38am

A good idea but as someone else already said a bit buggy and unpolished.

The first time I played I pressed space to breath fire and then I was stuck, couldn't move or breath more fire anymore... Also, is it possible to kiss the enemies? It seems like that was not possible.

It would be a good idea to work on the game some more, it's a good start and the idea with the different abilities is cool so keep it up!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:26pm

There's a few frustrating problems - for example it's hard to punch enemies as the mouse without also getting hit yourself - and the graphics are rough - but, it is a really good concept, and fun to play. I got to the boss and punched him, but then I got sucked into him and up to the top of his head, and couldn't do anything.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Nice graphics and music, but the mechanics could use a bit of polish. The hitboxes felt a bit off, and the view was a bit narrow. Still, good job and keep on developing!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:59pm

A good platformer game which could be improved by a better control. Aesthetic is cute. Well done ++

jofra says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:11pm

Nice graphics! but the gameplay it is a bit lacking :S

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]