Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ASTRO

by Megalink - Jam Entry

Travel to different planets while fighting several crazy monsters such as Elves with machine guns, magma turtles, rock crabs and more. When you defeat a boss you are able to shapeshift your weapon into another weapon themed around that certain boss.

CONTROLS:
WASD: Move
Left Mouse Button: Shoot
Space: Jump

CREDITS:
Programming: Megalink
Art: Bonecrusher
Music: Jackass

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#113Fun(Jam)3.72
#257Audio(Jam)3.41
#315Mood(Jam)3.39
#393Overall(Jam)3.39
#495Humor(Jam)2.53
#539Graphics(Jam)3.33
#926Innovation(Jam)2.53
#992Theme(Jam)2.56
#1666Coolness36%

Comments

Mieeh says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Wow great game you got here guys! Really enjoyed it and i actually played through and beat the last boss. I rated it 5 stars in the Fun category. Overall a really fun and neat little game!

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09am

Very good game, a lot of variety in the environnements and ennemies shoot pattern. It reminded me of Megaman.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32am

not bad! quite an enjoyable little game :)

Jackass says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:19am

Thanks for all the love, guys.

:)

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Megalink says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:11am

yeah sure thing :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:21am

Its a nice Big Battle Boss game. Its total fun. keep it up ..cool graphics

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:36am

Cool game! About the only thing I would say could need some improvement is the graphics for the tilesets, that's all.

Gameplay is a weird sort of hectic fun that never gets boring, environments of different planets are varied, and there is a wide variety of enemies and bosses. A lot of content!

Great work guys, good luck!

GrimGary says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:51am

Good fast paced side scroller. Pretty solid and well done for a weekend worth of work. The shape shifting aspect isn't really a part of the game till later, but helpful when you can get to it.

Talslain says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:02am

Loved this game, played it as game 3 in yesterday's video, brilliantlying done in 72 hours! Check it out to see the playthrough; https://youtu.be/84tIIIAWxlU

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:30am

nice background

Megalink says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:19am

is that sarcasm?

ChrisMingay says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Really solid game that :) Reminds me of risk of rain

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]