Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Hide and Squeak

by MrDave - Compo Entry

Switch between a man and a mouse as you try to avoid guards and get points by whacking them in the back!
Controls:
Move: WASD or Arrow keys
Attack: Space
Shapeshift: E or Shift (hold down)
(works on an AZERTY keyboard)

As a mouse you move faster and can use the holes to get around, but you can only attack as a human.
The mouse holes on the edges of the map wrap you around to the one on the other side.


Featuring:
- Pathfinding
- Groovy sound effects!
- Dynamic sounds that get distorted (listen to the sounds of the footsteps)
- Rodent action
- Sneakyness
- High scores.
- Atleast one funky screen transition.
- Did I mention my voice?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#45Humor3.70
#72Audio3.70
#92Fun3.76
#222Overall3.51
#225Mood3.29
#268Theme3.67
#439Graphics3.07
#447Innovation3.13

Comments

zwrawr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:03am

Love the sounds

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:03am

"Yaaay, new high score!" :D

Love the awesome sound effects! Gameplay is fun, visuals do their job (viewfields extending through walls makes for a challenge when there are a lot of guards) and did I say the sound effects are awesome?

All in all a really cool game! :)

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:12am

Good game!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:18am

The sounds are awesome! Nice game!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:23am

Haha this is great! Just walking around is amusing because of the bouncy animation. The gameplay is pretty fun and I somehow managed to get 45 guards on screen before I got seen. And of course the sounds.

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:29am

fun game!
i like the look, sound and the footsteps...
make a bigger map, give the guards the chance to come into play - its too easy to just stand at the door and attack.
great work!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:00am

Still laughing at how crazy it gets when you have many enemies on screen.
Simple but works and good fun. Audio is the kind tongue in cheek programmer audio I like. Game works as intended though field of view for enemies is a bit weird (through walls?) and it feels like it could be tweaked in some way.

Good one, kudos :)

arhpositive says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Great fun! First time I tried WASD and failed miserably. Score was 7. Second time I switched to the arrow keys and it was much better. I actually killed around 20 of them before I got stuck in one of the passages on the edges of the screen. I exit one of them and then immediately entered back. After that I was not able to return back to the play area.

This is a really good entry and a huge amount of fun to play. Keep up the good work.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Excellent work! The sound effects really make this, but the game is also really fun. I started to get really stressed out after a while...

A+, would be a mouse again.

sanojian says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Squeek, fear the were-mouse! Fun and exciting gameplay. The sounds give it a lot of charm.

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Really fun game!

crisp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:59pm

This game is SOOOO fun!!!!! And the acapella sounds are a great idea! Very well done!

Wirdo91 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Awesome sounds

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Great game! Completely silly. Squeak!

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Funny audio, using isn't so good as its difficult to then move right

ragnta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:47pm

It's very good game. nice concept, and good audio. Good job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Quite fun. It felt lika a reinvented Pac-Man clone. And nice sound effects.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Wow! Best game I've played so far, and I've played over 30 now.

Got 50 guards, can you beat that guys? ;)

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Wow guys, thanks for such lovely feedback!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Really nicely polished, great sounds and core mechanic. Wonder where you need to go from here to make it a larger game? Levels maybe? Some more mouse mechanics such as eating cheese or scaring elephants down corridors? I had a lot of fun until the map was just too crowded to continue. Nice one!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Good use of the theme and neat mechanic. It would have been interesting to see difficulty ramp up (more enemies, faster enemy, etc.)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53am

Great sounds, fun little game. Difficulty ramped up pretty quickly. Only managed 11 kills in ~200 seconds. Nice work!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:19am

nice tech being shown off in this game.
i think the game is crippled by how easy it is to reset aggro on people. i could easily get enough kills to where my framerate was suffering too much to continue just by walking up to people and hitting them before they killed me.
LOTS of potential in this project though, great job :)

Marcellus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52am

Felt like Goku sneaking behind Hit. Very nice audio, nice work !

Husky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21pm

I love the sounds, quite humor lol

antglynn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Haha great game. Love the sounds. Good job!

Xaychru says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Lovely sound effects! The transition from mouse to human was a bit too slow in my opinion and it got me killed a few times. It was still fun to play! :)

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Wow, this is SO POLISHED. Wonderful work. It's slick, playable, cool, and interesting. Loved it.

arzi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

That was fun! It's a nice variation on a stealth game. I kind of wish there was more content, though :)

pythong says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

it started lagging a lot when i reached 100 :) i was a mouse, then got stuck as human in the wall (middle lower right). the guards couldn't kill me, but i could kill them

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:25pm

I love the sounds, like I wish I could rate it more than 5 stars.
Game itself is fun, a well orchestrated classic, but I didn't really got the use of the shapeshifting skill.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

I know you've heard this, but the sounds really were great. :)
The core gameplay was fun too, though! I could easily see something like this being expanded into a full release. Great job!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:55am

Loved this game. The ability to shift between mouse and human is a great twist - I'd like to see this mechanic toggle on/off rather than a hold-down, but that might just be me. As with everyone else, the sound effects were hilarious. Great work!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:45am

Nice graphic design on the menu screen. I got a high score of 16.

The audio was annoying to me but some might be amused. :P

The gameplay was innovative and worked well. I just wished I could toggle mouse mode instead of holding down a button.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:29pm

The sound, okay, probably also your voice, really sells this game to me :) Very funny! Made me smile like an idiot.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Loved the sounds! Managed to get 113 guards, it was getting a bit crazy :D

Dreschler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Nice game!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:44pm

I smiled the whole time playing this, it's wonderful

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:23am

that was a fab game - loved the concept, the artwork and the audio - overall great job - one small thing too many enemies come after each kill and also the mouse got lost in one of the holes

euske says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:22pm

The game mechanics is good, but the game became a bit repetitive after a few hits. The sound effects are nice.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Now that is a cute little game! I laughed (and loved) the little mouse sounds lol nice work

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:35am

It was very Metal Gear Solid. I'm not a huge fan of stealth games so I wasn't great at it, but it definitely worked well.

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:42am

Really nice game and very very funny sounds.I got stuck on one of those walls though.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:09am

I was thinking of making a game similar to this initially. Great effort. Great sounds.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:42am

Haha, funny game :D

When on a hurry, I could enter/exit quickly as a mouse on the holes until the enemies move away ;)

Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Great game, with awesome sound effects. Good job!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Nice, well made game. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/6jh8RTn7UxY

randomhuman says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:33am

Great sound effects! This game is fun and gets challenging fast.

Spacemyname says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:21am

The web version on the LD site has a bug where if you turn into mouse and then attack a guard the level progresses, which can cause the game to start flashing 3 numbers of levels at a time (ex. 13,14,and 15 all at once) and spawn enemies for each kill. In my video review you'll see the bug replicated, otherwise nice game!

megalukes says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:05am

I had a lot of fun with this one. Great work!

May 9, 2016 @ 12:59am

Nice polishment on the menus and good sound effects! Need more challenge.

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:05am

Sound effects were awesome. Neat survival game. The shapeshifting was a nice function and could totally be added to.

Great job.

nhojrekrap says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Really well polished and hilarious sound effects :P

RockNRedPanda says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:53pm

I had fun with the game! But didn't grasp the relation with shape shifting. Cool SFX mate!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]