Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Transmopig

by CodeCast - Compo Entry

Third person pig platform game.

Limited to 3 levels, no enemies, no sound. Might come in the future.

Created in 2 days, using Unity, Blender and Gimp.
Only external asset is a free font.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Graphics3.75
#161Humor3.09
#237Theme3.71
#435Fun3.18
#515Innovation3.04
#530Mood2.83
#563Overall3.10
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

wheerd says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:06am

Really cool game, sometimes the shapeshifting does not work though and you can't finish the level

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:08am

Nice take over the theme, but there are some bugs. When replaying the same level, the buttons doesn't work. Nice little game though, but feeling that there are not enough levels.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:08am

You've done a great job here because I had a very strong desire to finish all the levels before rating, which I did. I like the trickery on the last level where you need to go through the whole cycle before realizing you are trying to make it onto that cliff to get onto the end platform.

Pent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:09am

Pretty art

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:12am

The pigs were pretty funny and everything looks good for 2 days of work. the first time through the instruction didn't show up, or i must have clicked too fast so i had to figure out how to play just by looking. I think i could have enjoyed it more if the bar up on the top right gave me a little freedom to messup. or at least let me respawn from the beggining with a full amount.

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:53am

Good good mechanic and art. Maybe using a camera more close to the floor can make it better to see the art. And as a advice, make the mini-pig more quick, feels so slow.

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:53am

Very pretty and I like the idea a lot, I'm always impressed by LD entries that are puzzle games. I can see you spent a lot of time on the models/textures, some animation would have been the icing on the cake. I did have some of the bugs others are reporting, movement got stuck in one direction and after recovering from that the shape-changing stopped working.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54am

Oh I like the artwork very much... Nice idea as well. Good job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:22pm

The controls could be a little better. Simple game, but a nice one, good visuals too. Good job.

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Really nice game. Fit in the topic. Well done!

goodbadokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Looks awesome and fun!
You should make a full game

bluszcz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:06pm

I like the idea, but I ran into bugs - character stopped changing the form and could not pass...

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:59am

This is a really great game! Perfect for young ones! Definitely needs sounds and music.

4B says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38am

nice job

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38am

Game looks very nice. I took personal issue with the transformation meter keeping me from transforming as much as I would like. :P

hugheth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:28am

I really love the concept, having to wait till level 3 for the whale to be unlocked was especially thrilling. Overall I feel that the motion could be a bit faster, but great job on getting the physics so reliable in such a short amount of time

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53am

I did like the whole pig idea behind this. The art was simple and worked, although some animation would have been nice. Also sometimes the shapeshifting bugs out. Other than that a well made game for the compo!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Shame time got the better of you as you feel it's missing a couple things. Controls work as intended and use of various shapes is interesting and could be turned into a full puzzle game I guess.

Good take on it but feels too raw.

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:17pm

I think you linked to the wrong file in the web version. It embeds the entire download page with the scroll bars and everything. Other than that, very cute. Could use some goofy music and sound effects, but you have a solid foundation here.

pss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Nice work, I like the different shapes and the level design. The death explosion animation is awesome, haha. I ran into the bug preventing shapeshifting too though.

Phaix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Nice one!

t4u says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

I love the piggy. Especially fat and floating.

I had the problem with game flow. I was constantly repeating the same 3 levels. I don't know why. Once I restarted the game I went to what seems like first level but couldn't complete it (one with water, island and some more water). There is no option to return to menu from inside the game.

overall: High on graphics

ermrk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Nice visual. I would increase amount of energy for shapeshifting, I wasn't able to beat the second level.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:53pm

I really love the concept and quiet aesthetic. A great project which could become something interesting. well done ++

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:52am

A solid entry to be sure. I didn't hit any of the bugs people are mentioning and found the meter to not be a problem, just enough of a hindrance to be mindful of my transformations. The looks is clean and cohesive, but the lack of any sound is unfortunate, and definitely a knock to the Mood category. Nailed the theme though, and I like the variety in the abilities, even if they all felt a little slow.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Nice!!!

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:23am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:41pm

HAHA! I love being a pig :) Really cool game. You should expand on it more.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]