Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

(Web) Pyramid Escape

by lukethecoder64 - Jam Entry

Note: This game is inspired by the games for the original GameBoy. Hence the chiptunes, pixel art, and cheesy story line!

While exploring a pyramid in Egypt, you find a cursed stone. The curse is that you can only be a Basketball, A rock and A balloon. In this cursed form, you must escape the pyramid and seek help.

On par with retro games, no instructions will be provided, however they are very easy to figure out.

Hint: Click on the ball and press "D".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Innovation(Jam)3.68
#142Theme(Jam)3.91
#298Graphics(Jam)3.77
#338Fun(Jam)3.36
#382Mood(Jam)3.30
#383Humor(Jam)2.74
#507Overall(Jam)3.27
#677Audio(Jam)2.19
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

madmarcel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32am

Controls? Pushed every button on my keyboard, nothing happens.

pokipsy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Good game, I really enjoyed the physic-based mechanics. Nice level design too, even though I had a hard time on the last part. But I was able to complete it :)

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Also can't figure out how to play. Nothing seems to happen, whatever I press.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Really liked the concept and quite fun to play. However, I feel like if you're going to pick a graphic style you need to stick with it. The lights made your colour palette too large and the particles and rotating pixels are just out of place.

bigmangames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:32am

This is my favorite shapeshifting platformer so far. The idiosyncratic choice of forms was really nice, since most people seem to be going with normal stuff like cars, planes, etc. You have to be strategic with the forms, they're not just another button to press. Aesthetic works well. A cool, weird game.

JHemmings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:39am

An interesting game, I like the exploration focus of the game but knocking over the boxes to get through the hallways was really tough!

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:57pm

A fun game, although at some parts I felt like I had to fight against the physics - which was frustrating, considering the sometimes trollish level design! Maybe you could add collectable trinkets, or something, to reward the player for exploring the pyramid.

I really liked that the game is so simple to play, and that the rock, ball and balloon were all useful in unique ways. You did a great job capturing the Game Boy feel, too!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:03am

I love the intro. Game is really good!

Arnage says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:22am

A hard to control but interesting interpretation of a player changes shape platformer. The selection of shapes is a nice twist from the geometric primitives a lot of people used this LD.

Aesthetically I think it would looked better if you stuck a little closer to your inspiration. Things like the smooth particles on death kind of clash with the rest of your style.

Finally, you might want to remember that unlike your inspiration a modern PC has quite a lot of buttons, so it's not just a simple what does A do? Okay, now let's try B and I know the controls world anymore...

luquio says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:58am

excellent level design! also the shapes and physics where amazing here! and i looovedd the retrostyled graphics

madmarcel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:51am

Ok, figured out how to play. Nice game, the block walls were a real pain though.

Somnium says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:07am

Nice intro, and I love the art style! The different properties of the shapes was interesting.

I could not get the downloaded version to work (the shapeshifting buttons did not respond), but the web-version worked fine.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:00am

Nice intro and liked the use of theme with the different forms. Also liked how each form was useful in navigating around the pyramid. Once I got the hang of it I was changing forms quickly to control my movement and breaking which felt really natural.

geekguy100 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Graphics are awesome. For improvement, I would add in a tutorial and use the keyboard to shapeshift.

snowyowl says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Nice work distinguishing the different forms - they all feel different yet none of them are gimmicky or superfluous. The Game Boy introduction had me laughing.

The audio became a bit grating after exploring for too long.

TheCain says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Interesting maze, and each form is unique and useful, but you need to add some animations. One for the checkpoints so you know when one is activated, an ESPECIALLY one for the button, because I had no idea if I had pressed it or not.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]