Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A Story of Hatred

by fragileannihilator - Jam Entry

This is a game about an ordinary vampire who solves his problems in an unordinary way.


Once again I failed to finish on time. So, hello Jam instead of Compo.
All assets were made by me within 72 hours. Music was procedurally generated in cgMusic (MIDI) and then edited in Cubase.


Tools:
Engine: Construct 2
Art: Paint.Net, Krita, Spriter Pro, Photoshop CS3
Sound effects: Zoom H2n recorder, Audacity
Music: cgMusic, Cubase Elements 7, VST-plug-ins

Music I was listening to during development: Das Ich

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#63Humor(Jam)3.82
#215Audio(Jam)3.50
#528Fun(Jam)3.13
#541Mood(Jam)3.11
#680Theme(Jam)3.15
#711Overall(Jam)3.05
#738Innovation(Jam)2.82
#796Graphics(Jam)2.90

Comments

Remicy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:17pm

This makes me laugh aloud! Love the art style and story!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:39pm

My friend and I are both playing Ludum Dare entries tonight: just had fun explaining to him what the game I was currently playing was like :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

It was a hard choice between giving humor 1 star or 5 stars, but I went with 5. This game is either terrible or an absolute masterpiece.

joemid says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Love how you can moonwalk in this game- Intended? Or happy accident?!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:29pm

@joemid
Poor animation skills :)

ermrk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:23pm

BEST GAME EVER!!! :D

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:31pm

This was...unexpected.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Very funny. The final voice line made me laugh. Graphics could do with a bit of work, especially the animation, but overall, I really liked it. Good job! :D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:55pm

It's difficult to enter into this work because of how the subaqueous qualities of the Egyptian motifs notates the inherent overspecificity.

Naca says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Vampires have extremely advanced problem-solving skills :D Voice acting is superb!

ZYXer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:46am

I like game with a deep philosophical meaning :P This game is really funny. And good sounds too!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:47am

Well that's one way to deal with your problems : )

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:25pm

I loved it :D

Javabot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I get to see the whole book-opening intro, however right after that it crashes.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:42am

@Javabot, that's strange...What browser are you using?

Arvydas says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:52am

Hahahahah! Omg was not expecting that. I liked pooping on the homework...FAVORITE part by far lol. This was a humorous game to play. The mechanics, music, and visuals were great. The story pretty much sums up my life haha! Good work guys

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:58pm

ahaha very funny and really well put together. credits for awesome voice acting!

blob says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:23am

Inspired by conker's bad fur day?

Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:44am

@blob, haven't heard of it

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Loved the voice & music.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Nice Game:)

Fake Unicorn says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:09pm

This is genius! :D
especially - Мужчина должен быть мужчиной Х)

abuzreq says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:54pm

I am amazed that this music is procedurally generated.Didn't though these are this mature yet.
The humor ,hmmmm,well at first it was cool but then it got repetitive(one don't simply "bat-boo" on everyone to solve his problems) which could be then the humorous part in the game after all ,so... never mind.
Oooh I liked the narration too :)

Bemmu says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:43am

I enjoyed this, because it made me have that wonderful "wtf is going on" -feeling.

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:23am

Totally different but I love it.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Haha, I loved how the vampire solves all his life's problem one way. Really cute story and I love the hand drawn style. I also really liked the vampire wore two different colored shoes :) Great job!

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:59pm

It's polished, art is nice and fits the mood and your audio work was awesome. Only thing was I didn't quite like the jokes in this entry :-/

MegaBrutal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:00pm

I just can't describe what I played now... :D Man, this is a masterpiece! 5 for overall, fun, graphics, audio, humor, and mood. 4 for innovation and 3 for theme.

You really subverted the player's expectation to see a philosophical/psychological game... well, maybe it's still philosophical/psychological... in a way... :D I thought it will be about bullying or something, and then... surprise!

I couldn't help to notice that the boy's hat has Romanian national colors – is this intended or coincidence?

May 9, 2016 @ 11:11pm

@MegaBrutal
I noticed it too, but it's a mere coincidence! But Vlad is probably a Romanian, so it totally makes sense.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]