Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Gopherthing Transformation

by dcRfj15 - Compo Entry

####################
Requires the Love2D runtime version [0.10.1]
####################

EDIT: Added the background music source file into the source download (executable file remains the same as the original upload).

You must escape from the glaring watch of the Robo-Guards.
Good thing that you have the power of shapeshifting on your side.

You can jump over missing tiles in the level with [SPACE].
You can temporarily transform into a fire hydrant using [LEFT SHIFT] to avoid detection from the Robo-Guards (be careful, they will become suspicious after a couple seconds).

Controls:
[WASD] Keys
[Space] to jump
[Left Shift] to transform

Made in 48 hours for the Compo using
- Love2D
- Lua
- Tiled Map Editor
- Gimp
- Bfxr (www.bfxr.net)
- BeepBox (www.beepbox.co)
- Atom editor (w/ Love-ide plugin)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Humor2.81
#350Audio2.95
#490Mood2.90
#497Graphics2.96
#522Fun3.04
#550Theme3.24
#704Overall2.92
#723Innovation2.68
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Good game !

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Isn't it possible to make a standalone executable?

Goutye says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06pm

https://i.gyazo.com/c43a551a71d47b0da3c2635656efead3.png Which version do I need?

rnlf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:11pm

I encountered some bugs, one of them seems to be gamebreaking for me :-(

First, the font rendering seems to be scaled up for me (LÖVE 0.10.1 on Linux), so I couldn't read the second description that explains how to disguise and had to check the entry page.

The second one is more serious though, for some reason, in the first (?) jumping level, one of the guards always detects me, even if I've been disguised all the time. I even restart the level completely disguised in that case...

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:20pm

The scaling is a bit weird, but I love how I can transform into an fireplug. :D:D:D

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:00pm

@Goutye - I used version 0.10.1. I just looked at the reference pages and unfortunately I used some functions exclusive to 0.10... whoops. Next time I will be more careful about which functions I use

@rnlf - The first issue is probably a problem with my game's text rendering system. I rushed it in the last few hours, so it is probably a little buggy :/. I don't know if I fully understand the second problem, but I *think* that it is related to the game not correctly presenting the opening text for that level. (As said by the opening text that the game failed to display) The disguise will protect you from being seen by the guards, but only temporarily. My *assumption* based off of what you said is that you were disguised for more than a couple of seconds and the guards caught you and restarted the level. I am going to update the entry page with more info, in case the game's text acts weird for others.

Thank you all for your feedback!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Interesting concept but pretty difficult. The player character probably slides around a bit too much especially if you transform whilst moving (sometimes it's a bit of a hindrance but other times you can actually use it to your advantage).

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:57am

Neat idea! I like how you become a fire hydrant!

The physics were a bit wonky, and the screen size was a bit odd. Still fun though!

janiq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:34am

HI, i like the idea of the stealth game. I would make the enemies to turn arround with more angles of freedom because now i am not sure in which moment they are going to see me and i died a lot because of this. Also the jumping using physics was really hard, i ended up falling out of the screen a lot. Other than that music and turning into hydrant was very nice.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Yumeito says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Nice simple game:)

thedashdude says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:40am

The first stealth game I've seen, and I liked it. My main problem is how slippery the character was, which combined with the jumping made it almost impossible to beat the first level with jumping.

jonask says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:32pm

The player slid a bit too much for me to be able to complete the game.

charstar56 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:45pm

nice! i liked it!

notime4games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Nice game overall. Controls were unnecessarily slippery in my opinion. Game mechanics worked ok. Game loop was good

(Would have appreciated if you made separate zip files with the love stuff included so I didn't have to figure out myself what to do to run the game. Would probably also increase your ratings.)

methylenblub says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:40pm

nice game and cute graphics

lanestp says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Good game. The only issue I ran into was for some reason only my left shift worked. Made the whole thing kind of awkward. I still had fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]