Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SteamPunkPuzzleGame

by 3T3A - Jam Entry

For QWERTY players!!!
-If you play on web version, put your keyboard on AZERTY
Hello
-Il you play on Pc version, just change in input in the launcher before starting the game a by q and z by w and everything will be fine, i think. Or put your keyboard on AZERTY
This is a game (or a prototype) created by 3t3a and droid-center, 2 french tennager.
The goal is to go to the button and press g on it.
You can use the controler with left click for transforming the blocs.
Use echap when you have to use button if your cursor is locked.
Oh and you can retry a level with r and sprint with shift.
If there is some bugs, i'll correct them tommoroy surely.
The game should have a lvl 3 but you know, time is time.
The description will be more detailled next day, I don't have so much time :/
It's our first jam, we wait for your critic, positive or negative.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#529Audio(Jam)2.87
#642Innovation(Jam)2.94
#762Humor(Jam)1.90
#776Theme(Jam)3.00
#950Mood(Jam)2.43
#973Graphics(Jam)2.47
#1019Fun(Jam)2.45
#1050Overall(Jam)2.63

Comments

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

The controls didn't work properly for me. I had to use the arrow keys + mouse to move, then hit space to jump, and E, G and A to do various things (impossible with two hands!). When I pressed E in the console, the block completely spazzed out and did all sorts of random stuff. When I got to the platform with the button, I couldn't do anything that would press it (Y, Left Click, E, A all did nothing). It would have been better to just have WASD + mouse for move, E for "use" and Space for cancel and jump.

However I liked the idea, which was mess around with the level and then go and platformer yourself around it. It looked nice, just a shame the controls didn't work well for me. This could be a great game with some more work!

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Controlls were kind of messy, and they were not introduced nicely and modifying the 2nd block was almost impossible due to the camera.

However, I really liked the mechanic, maybe it was a little too complex for an entry like this, but your effort shows up. Also loved the music, I stayed much longer trying to figure out the systems because of it.

3T3A says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Thanks for the critics,
For the controls, i'm french so i got an azerty keyboard. Don't forget to put your keyboard onto azerty if you can.
And the lvl2 can work, just use Shift (i have to put that on the descriptions, i forgot ^^)

3T3A says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:16pm

The game will maybe remade after Ludum Dare, and i think i'll change the commands propely for an qwerty system

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Couldn't quite get the hang of the controls, which is a shame, as it the music was great and the game in general seemed quite atmospheric. Have you considered loading a qwerty build for the web? Would definitely play again if so!

3T3A says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:20am

I just saw that i can correct bugs on the rules si in arround 10 hours, i'll change the touch for qwerty

3T3A says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:02pm

And i can't because my project is bugged. So, i just put a link to a tutorial tu pour the keyboard on azerty, it's pretty fast to do

lanestp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Kind of a mess. The idea was good but the execution was a little sketchy. None of the keys worked to press the button. The block moving stuff was fun but needed some polish. It was a fun idea and I did find myself wanting to play more though!

NPException says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Very nice game! The controls took a bit to getting used to, but I realy liked the concept. I'm sad that there wasn't enough time for more levels. ^^

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Took me forever just to figure out that the arcade box labelled "controller" wasn't just a description of the controls, but was the actual controller. I kept walking up to the block trying to press E (and eight thousand other combinations) but nothing happened.

I wasn't a big fan of the full step movement. Always makes jump tasks extra tricky. And when you can't even see the character's feet, it just feels incredibly clumsy, like the player is in control of a drunk person who refused to fully cooperate with the inputs being given.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Instructions could be a lot clearer (as it took me a while to figure out what I was supposed to do in the game) but not bad for your first jam.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:06pm

I would like to read some intructions - maybe a tutorial could be useful for us. However, the levels are clever. A good entry. Well done ++

smbe19 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Good effort: The graphics were actually pretty good. The controls were a little weird, but the concept was certainly interesting. If you had more time, a cool game could have been developed here. Good job and good luck next time.

Alphish says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Uh, huh, that game was quite a pain to control. I got the hang of the first block modifying in the second level, but trying to change second block (u; also, wasn't it like the 1st block but from different perspective) or the third (i) was completely unsuccessful. Also, the perspective of the first block didn't stretch too far, so I couldn't make the long bridge I wanted.

Also, the game didn't really gave much steampunk vibe to me. Too bad, because I'm rather fond of steampunk...

It seems like it could have been a cool idea (with a few more features; mere blocks reshaping might get stale after a while), but sadly the execution falls rather short.

Spotline says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:10am

Nice entry, it took quite some time to figure out the controls but i managed to finish the two levels :)

PinkIndian says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Controls were awkward... but the idea of the game was cool. I liked the building, but I was left wanting for more. Also the camera should be movable in the building phase. Now I couldn't really see what I was doing or in the 2nd level couldn't even build a decent bridge because the blocks went of the screen.
But I honestly liked this. Great job.

pirate_shell says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:22pm

I'll start out by saying I played the web version, so that is the one I'll be basing my points around. The graphics were extremely simplistic, but I suppose for the concept the game was based around the blocky graphics were fitting. The music was short but pretty cool. It reminded me a bit of Katy PŠµrry's "Dark Horse" lol. The core concept was quite cool, in my opinion, and there could be quite a few puzzles you can make with it in the future. What this game's fault was is that it lacked polish. It was qutie buggy(the music seemed to cut out, the cursor wouldn't go out of the game window unless I alt+tabbed, the controls were a little messy) and it also could have been a little improved in some other areas(such as letting the player control the camera and turn it around as they modified the block's shape). These are faults that can be attributed largely to the time limit, but I still felt the need to mention them so you can improve this game in the future. Overall, pretty cool entry.

3T3A says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:01pm

I dont say that each second but thank you for all the critics :DDD
A post-jam game is in développent, a post in ludum date will come tommorow or mater ;)

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:09am

Clever game. That second level was a killer, but I got it (hint- Build stairs).
I didn't see the steampunk theme.
I liked it, but there was some poor design. Haveing to exit out of the editor to move on the second structure for one, and restarting the level, along with the design you made when you fail for two.

methylenblub says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:21pm

really interesting entry, the controls were a bit confusing at the beginning though
nice game!

Allorius says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Music is loud but atmospheric. Controls is kinda unintuitive, but with instruction understandable. Fine game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]