Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

RGB Escape

by Mieeh - Jam Entry

The main thing in this game is to transform yourself into either Red, Green or Blue.The goal of the game is to escape the world of only RGB colors into the 3D world. The story isn't really that deep at all and is kind of an after thought as i focused all my time on the "main" mechanics.

You change your color with the shift buttons! And the black color is safe.

Do Take Note: When and if you complete the game, you can press SPACE to return to menu. I know it says enter but i must've forgotten to change the code(last minute changes)

Music by: Studio Thumpy Puppy, Everything else was made by me in under 48 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#199Fun(Jam)3.54
#300Overall(Jam)3.51
#443Mood(Jam)3.23
#455Innovation(Jam)3.17
#481Audio(Jam)2.97
#486Humor(Jam)2.55
#748Theme(Jam)3.05
#937Graphics(Jam)2.56

Comments

Donni11 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Wow ! Awesome game , I love it ! I can't vote because I didn't participate in this LD.

A suggestion :

Add a quick switch for colors. The shift button is okay but it takes a second to switch colors. So like the 1 key is red the 2 key is green and the 3 key is blue.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:38pm

It's a good idea, and it's well made! congrats!

The two parts with the stairs were a bit to diffucult though. Maybe it would be better if they were longer.

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Nice idea - really simple, but clever and fun to play.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Fun game, and great level design, you made full use of the mechanics!

The music takes a little bit to start, don't know if it's a bug :P

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Great level design. Simple to understand and play. Good job!

muumeroinen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:10am

Nice game and level was well designed!

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Level design is great, congrats. I think the main character should shapeshift with color changing. Fun game overall. Thanks for share

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:50pm

I honestly believe you should make a full-sized game out of this as a post-jam! If you continue with this great level design it could be pretty succesful.

Slowian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Great game, if it will be turned into full size game with more colors (and shapes) unlocked as you play and with more complicated puzzles I would certainly play it. Currently I managed to complete it in 61 seconds.
Small suggestion - add restart level button, because when trying to get better time I had to refresh the page after every mistake, and unity web player loading takes some time.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Great idea, the puzzle are good. I just want more levels ! The last puzzle was hard but fair, I liked it. Keep up the good work !

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Cute game. Could have used a few more challenges, but overall very good.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Great idea for a game! Made it to the end just as the puzzles were getting tricky you seriously could make this into a much bigger game with loads of tough puzzles :) Thanks so much for having save points :P Anyway nice job!

Mr.Chippy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:05am

I really liked it. The "art colors separate thing" was pretty cool. :)

Sandyloisa says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:22am

Nice one

concrete991 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:49am

It was many fun. 10/10.

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Cool game! :) Only issue I have is that it would have been nice if blocks with different functions had different graphics. First time I went past the disappearing platforms I didn't fully understand them.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Nice work. Quite challenging and entertaining!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Nice main mechaninc! I'd have gladly played more levels.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Nicely done. Control layout was a bit awkward but otherwise good and well.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Game is nice. As other suggested color change would be beter if it was 3 different buttons. In my opinion. You used the shift key for the theme probably B). And you should include oher platform builds it's not that hard and you can reach to more people.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Tja! Rasmus här; från LBS lkpg.

Jag ser många platformers här på LD som har rent ut sagt skit kontroller. Din va precis som den ska va, responiv utan att vara 'jittery'.

Utöver det, skit bra mechanic! Kul spel! Släng till xbox controller support och lite mer levels så är det redo för release!

Du får gärna spela mitt spel också, om du vill =)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=46004

Mieeh says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:06pm

glaze_96, tackar tackar!
Hade lite ont om tid på söndagen därför valde jag att bara köra med en lite längre level.
Tack för kommentaren!

blubberquark says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Can you label the link Web(Unity Plugin) please? I can't even run WebPlayer games in Wine.

denycetm says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:02am

Challenging but good checkpointing. I didn't want to give up! Simple and fun. You can make a full game based on this!

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Really great, could have played a few more level to explore the core mechanics :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]