Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shape Bros

by Diman - Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare Game.

Use A and D to move right and left, press 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 to change your shape, Space to jump and R to restart in the last checkpoint.

Tools:
Unity
Paint.NET
Blender

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#278Fun3.40
#441Theme3.40
#683Mood2.56
#786Innovation2.55
#813Overall2.75
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:28am

nice :D

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:30am

Good game.

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32am

Pretty good job! I felt you did a good job of giving each shape a puzzle to shine. My only complaint is that I felt a lot of the enemies could be avoid by being the flat block.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

Nice puzzle and thinking game. Like the visuals, though I wish the player was a bit more detailed

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Nice work! Really like the different mechanics you came up with, like the elevator!

This game would have looked so much better in 2d though. Sure you'd loose those pushing block but still.

Overall, great game! Hope you had fun making it =)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Character tend to stick to walls, you should add some better collider to avoid that. Also, try to add some sounds, there are a lots of free software to help you !
Now that I've reviewed the bad points, here's what's good:
nice entry, minimalistic but understandable, no particuliar bug, gameplay is really easy to understand :)
Good job on your first LD !

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Simple graphics (a bit too much maybe, some colors would have been cool) and great puzzle thanks

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:35am

Simple fun puzzle game.With nice graphics. Do correct your colliders

PixelRetro says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:24am

I like that elevator!!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Nice Game :)

May 5, 2016 @ 3:24am

nice use of the objects available. I felt pretty silly when what i thought was a wall turned out to be a bridge. got up a few levels till that pysco spinning thing kept smashing me. good work! needs sounds and squishing sounds. yeah really cool splats.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]