Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Barber Blues

by Tijn - Compo Entry

BARBER BLUES: living the dream
=======================

You've grown tired of your boring desk job and decide it's time to pursue your life long dream: to become a barber and have your own barber shop.

With just $1000 saved up, it will be an uphill battle for sure, as running an independent business sadly isn't cheap. Will you be able to SHAPESHIFT the beards & moustaches of your clients and sustain yourself in the fashionable but harsh world of hipster chic?

Make it or break it in BARBER BLUES: living the dream!

=======================

How to play:

- select a customer sitting on the bench in your shop
- memorise his requested hairdo
- try to recreate his wishes as close as possible using your trusty razor (controlled by mouse, click to shave)
- once you are finished, click the button labeled "done" and receive payment

=======================

This is my 4th entry for Ludum Dare, and the 2nd time I've used the LÖVE framework. I had lots of fun making this game over the weekend, I hope you have as much fun playing it.

Sadly I didn't have time to implement some variety in how the characters look. I wanted to add different skin tones and clothes, but I simply ran out of time. So please know that having them all the same was not my intention!

=======================

Here's a timelapse of my desktop, showing how I made the game over the course of the weekend: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YCIY2h88pf0

=======================

The soundtrack for this game is available on my Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/martijnwf/sets/ld35-barber-shop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.45
Coolness50%
#5Audio4.35
#17Fun4.12
#34Overall3.99
#54Innovation3.99
#76Mood3.72
#286Theme3.64
#373Graphics3.26

Comments

euske says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:33am

This is the first game I reviewed and I already know it's one of my favorites!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:08am

Very silly game. Well-polished and well-balanced, too. Good work.

nopogo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:25am

that raizor noise just cracked me up. Great game, really oddly satisfying. :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Pretty neat game! I *LOVE* the sound the machine makes. It looks awesome, but it relatively hard. I guess I'm not made for the glamorous Barber lifestyle.

And as I told you before, the soundtrack is simply amazing.

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Great game, I had lots of fun ruining those peoples hair, I don't agree with those people that such a terrible hair cut would cost 334$ but hey who am I to disagree, nice soundtrack/sounds

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:41pm

The audio was amazing, and the mechanic was quite fun. Great job!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54pm

I don't know what to say but.. "WRRRRrrRRrrrrrRRrrRRrrrrrRrrrRRRrrRRr*dies*"
How could you hold that tone for so long?! Haha!

Super fun game! Definitely gonna show it some of my friends!

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31pm

This game is among my favorites

bluszcz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:37pm

haha! Great idea, well done!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Great finally you finish it :D Saw it at the beginning of the jam :D Congratulation

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13am

Very fun! I kept watching my bank total fall and just wanted to get the dang lumberjacks out the door. Turns out even lumberjacks want quality hair cuts. Great job!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:28am

Hahaha this game (or simulation I should say) made me day. Hilarious on all parts. Gave a guy a messed up cut, and I get complimented...lols

Micah Goodhue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:08am

This so far is the best game I've played so far!

sirtetris says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23am

What at fun game! :D Great audio, appropriate visuals, good job!

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:43am

I don't think i want to become a barber after experiencing how much working it is. ;-)

Great entry! Wish it would show the photo again after shaving each client.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26pm

That was awesome. Nothing more needs to be said. :D

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Wow, that's a fun game!!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:30pm

The idea and implementation are really neat.
Music and sound effects are brilliant as well.
The perfectionist in me found the many pixels left uncut too disturbing which lead to my hair-styling empire demise.
I think the game gets a bit repetitive after a run or two, not sure how I'd tackle it though.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:05pm

I want to become a barber now! No really, this game is good! Music and sound effects have a big part on this, they're great. One of my favorites so far.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08pm

I really loved the sound of the clippers. 10/10 audio, haha. Especially with the blues in there. I did feel like my money trickled down a bit too fast, but maybe I just suck at the game :P

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30pm

This is pretty tough. I wish the shaver was a bit bigger. I get all these small spots I'm missing. That said, I really like this. The sound effects are funny and the overall style of the game. Great job!

neontropics says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Grrreat music and audio

I liked the constant choice between doing something "right" and just saying screw it this is close enough can't afford to spend more time on this dude.

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59am

Pretty fun, Tijn. I did pretty decent on the cuts, I guess. As usual, fantastic audio! :-)

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:43pm

That was a really nice game. Shaving as a game mechanic, nice!

And the soundtrack is definitely one of the best I've heard this LD.

Well done!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:05am

I came here from the love forums - this is fantastic! By far my favorite part was the music and the sound effects! BRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR! <3

ploerre says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:40am

this is soo ridiculous.. i started to laugh when the shaving sound turned up and did not stop laughing the rest of the game.. uuh and i lost badly. some people passed the shop window and i ran out of money... good one!

unfortunately the music stopped at some time, maybe there is some scripting bug.

i really like it overall! good job!

seitnerk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:49am

haha what a great game :D best sound ever!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:11am

Funny and addictive. Love the sounds xD

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:12am

Great humor and great game.

homeworld says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:30am

Absolutely hilarious, would've been amazing if the beard was physics-enabled, so you could shave a wide chunk of beard by severing its hold on the face in one fell swoop, but it was still worth the carpal tunnel! Also, if a barber earns $7 per second, why am i wasting my life making videogames??

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:40am

If I'd known being a barber was this much fun, I'd have quit my job years ago!

Can't really fault any aspect of this game. I had a blast and picked up some styling tips along the way. :)

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:51am

I really like the concept. And definitely the razor sound is the best part of the game! Good and fun entry :D

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:25am

The pixels flying everywhere while I used the razor were very satisfying! It wouldn't have been the same without that effect.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01pm

My gosh this game is funny as hell. Well done with such take on the theme, remembers my a mini-game from Wario Land 4, but men this game is hilarious. Loving that sounds effects!!! Great job.

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Omg dat shaver sfx ahahaha, great job! Had a bit of fun :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Hilarious :D Love the sound effects and the music. Gameplay-wise, I got hit by the PRNG pretty hard, losing some $300 while waiting for customers to enter. And when there were two and I shaved one, the other one had disappeared.

Curious: how are you doing the comparison? Just pixel by pixel, or is there more to it?

Tijn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Hey Frozen Fractal,

The comparison is indeed done pixel by pixel. Based on that, you are given a score from 0 to 5 (0 is very bad, 5 is very good). Within each tier, a random cash bonus is determined. So it's a little skill and a little luck :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

So when will we be getting the touchscreen app of this game? :P

(Wrrrrrwrwrwrrrrrwrwrwrrwrwrwrwrwrwrwrwrwrwrwrwurrawurra)

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:14am

The mechanics were really creative and the art and sfx were super fun. At our first customer, we won something over $300, but we had spent more than that to get the haircut correct. When we tried to play faster, we were only getting less than $60, maybe we're not meant to have a barber shop :/ The audio is SUPERB! The music and the SFX are amazing, for two days you set a whole new bar. One of the funniest entries I've rated. Amazing job!

Idorrac says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:01pm

It is really funny, and the music is amazing!

Tegu says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:08am

The first time I started shaving, I thought "Oooh, this sound is self-recorded, and not from an actual razor." Brilliant! I managed to shave 4 customers but the second to last I had to rush slightly unfishished with less than $5 left. I didn't know barbering could cause such an adrenaline spike. :D Got over $30 but the next one ended quickly anyway. There's also the trade-off between memorizing the haircut well and getting to action quickly as I keep losing money during it. Time is money, really.

I don't know, maybe it could show the initial request at the end just for comparison, but on the other hand, it probably just shows how horribly it's off in the end. The money received gives a hint anyway. Although sometimes they say like "You're an expert!" and give $9.. Shaving larger areas got quite frustrating as well. I felt like I'd need a bush cutter or something.

The fast background music really set the mood that you have to be quick all the time. It added the tension quite a bit. Even so that I kept clicking furiously the customers that are walking in. Except that didn't really work as then it skips the request as well.. Sometimes the razor sound got stuck on a loop even when not barbering, but it's okay.

Overall, a really fun game. :)

Toonhawk says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:21pm

It was very hard to tell if there was any need for spending time with all the little specs that got left over when you did the main shape or if you lost more than you gained from it. Also I didn't like the pixel mishmash effect on the beards, I found it hard to look at.

Other than that, fun game with simple and easy to grasp concept and a fun theme.

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Well done sir, but i don't understand why some clients pay more than others for the same ultra quality cut i provide (ha!), maybe it depends on the money I currently have?

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:54am

I had so much fun with this one and absoloutley loved the gameplay. Perhaps it might need better graphics- although a part of that is the charm- and I found myself copying the brilliant razor sound.

It definitely needs an option to make the razor shaving area larger though as I spent most of my time trying to perfectionistly get all the little bits off.

I played it briefly on stream @ I:25:05: http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Great entry! Shaving SFX are the best :)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:51pm

wuaaaaaaaahhhhhhhrnrhnrnhrnhrnhrr
5/5 would shave again

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Ha ha ha ha! Funny game!!

dollarone says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:24am

Awesome game, man. Music is top-notch, the razor sfx is amazing, and graphics are fitting and fun.

Quite hard to get all those pesky little bits of beard off (just like real life!) - although I managed to snag $680 from some customer!!

Also I quickshaved 17 customer in one playthrough :) Great fun game!

Headmade says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:06am

Oh wow this one is a gem!

The music is mindbogglingly good, I couldn't believe this was made during the compo until I saw the timelapse. Much wow!
I love the idea and thanks to the hilarious shaving sound effect it is so much fun too.

Excellent job, definitely one of my favourites this Ludum Dare.

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:59am

This game is fantastic. Love the interpretation of the theme. The audio is great - not only the music, but special mention to the electric razor as well!

runvs says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Nice Game, +1 for the super cool soundeffects! When getting the bill, it would be nice to see the image as the customer wanted his haircut as a comparison.
Very well done.

ReactorScram says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Lots of fun but I only got 4 guys. Do I have to click on them to bring them into the shop? Was I taking too long? And I kind of wish I could see the reference photo while working but I guess that's the challenge.

I gave it a good score because the graphics were funny and the audio was really good.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Nice Game:)

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Its addicting too

LeReveur says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Ha Ha it's really fun ! And not so easy at it seems ! I like the sound of the razor too, well done ! :D

May 8, 2016 @ 6:56pm

You were featured in Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-orIwB_E_qw

voxel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:36am

GOTY 2016

LP vid https://youtu.be/p0pg_dPocRY

WetDesertRock says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:13am

I think this may be one of my favorite uses of the theme that I have seen this LD. Enjoyed the music and the lumberjack feel.

My suggestions for improvement would be to:
Make it so you could click on people coming through the door
Make it less random when you get a customer, although this isn't really a big deal.
Make the razor shave in lines rather than splotches, so it draws a line of removed hair between where it last was and where the mouse moved it to.
Maybe have the razor not rotate after you start shaving?

I did enjoy how they never said anything negative. "I'm sure you will be a great barber someday!"

The sounds were also top notch, good job :D

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Thought the game was pretty funny and polished :-)
Art fit the mood and audio is pretty great, well done! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]