Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Staff of Life

by Fartenko - Jam Entry

----------WARNING-----------
----------------------------
There is a possibility that game will lag like crazy. I don't know why.. It may be due too Web GL.. but whatever. Game was tested on Mozilla, for me its ok, no lags (only little sprite bug). Friend of mine was on Chrome, and he found this problem. So please, if you encounter this problem (or any other bug), comment about it below.
----------------------------
----------------------------
So this is a game, where you're a wise wizard {{some cool name for a hero}}. Yup.
Your goal is to defeat... evil monster called {{some scary/evil name for a boss}}
As your weapon you use the Staff of Life, that creates life, from any other alive,or not-so-alive life form.. what? I mean. Beware of enemies that want you stop you from your goal. Now go and become a wizard for about 5 minutes and be slayed by nasty monsters or be victorious and the greatest virtual wizard of all time.
-------------------
Controls:

~ WASD - you know.. walk.. just go for a walk already!
~ LMB - you can shoot. wow.
~ SPACE - and yeah, you can jump, but its completely useless, so..

-------------------

So this game at the start I had very good time with. First I thought it was a good idea, and it still is. But what bothers me though, that I need to learn myself to correctly manage time and stuff. At first day of event, I don know why, but I went straight into AI coding. Yeah it is all good and such but, I lost nearly 8 hours on AI alone (well before I didn't implement any A* pathfinding at all, before it was Unity pathfinding or simply go-straight-ahead-screw-the-walls logic). So I could make It a bit easier and win some time for myself. But still, I like how it turned out, although a bit buggy.
After the AI thingy I was drawing some concepts and stuff.. characters (there was supposed to be more than one character),so yeah.. On the second day, I did a great job(I think) with enemy spawning and wave system, well and ofc it took me a while to do. And still happy how it works, pretty flexible system.
So initially I wanted to enter a compo, buuut I didn't because there was no Boss, no.. other stuff-too-much-to-count. So I decided to enter a Jam. At the third day I actually had to go to the university, and half of a day was, well.. whatever. So after that, back at home, tired as hell, I had to finish my game, ofc. Aaand I drew that boss in 1 or 2 hours, then its time to programm it, make animations. So I did that. And I'm done. I'm so done. Need. More. Sleep. But anyway I had a lot of fun doing it, and actualy game itself turned out pretty good. So check it out boyz 'n' girlz ;)

----------------------
Personal Achievements:

~code:
~~ AI
~~ flexible wave system

~art:
~~ looks pretty good to me ;D

~music:
~~ actually music was made by my good friend
~~ if you like it you sure can check him out ;)
~~ https://soundcloud.com/beatrag

~sleep:
~~ still need one.

----------------------
Leave feedback guys, would like to take into account your opinions. Thank You!

twitter: https://twitter.com/_fartenko

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#54Fun(Jam)3.92
#130Overall(Jam)3.77
#168Graphics(Jam)4.04
#188Audio(Jam)3.58
#226Humor(Jam)3.17
#269Mood(Jam)3.46
#498Theme(Jam)3.40
#622Innovation(Jam)2.96

Comments

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Very polished and fun to play. The only complaint would be the lack of any indication whether I actually was damaging the boss. I just magicked him for a minute or so and he suddenly died.

brandann says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

GREAT! Super fun, boss was a little hard and repetitive. good music. I Really enjoyed this game :)

Anyway you can post the source code?

Fartenko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Thanks jolly! I will fix this as soon as possible!

Fartenko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Thank you brandann! I will, but first I want to clean it up, beacause it's all hard coded stuff, especially the boss part that was programmed in the last hours of day 3.

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48am

This is really cool. If anything, all I saw it was lacking was a visual indicator when you got hurt.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Love it! The graphics are great, especially the cute beasties the enemies get turned into. Great fun to play.
I don't know whether you meant it to let you leave a room before you'd killed everything, you can basically run straight through from the start to the boss - unless that was intentional, maybe you could add something to stop you leaving a room until you've wiped out all the waves of enemies.
Overall, excellent :)

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Thanks for this game, it gave me a good laugh. Nice titan boss and presentation. Cool!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

omg I love it! Really really fun! Amazing pixel art and mechanics. Juiciness was amazing. I really want to do right now a game like this, whith that way to spawn enemies! Cooooool!
The only trouble I had was spawning projectiles near a wall or a bush, they always get destroyed just on instanciate.
Good job!!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:34pm

Really awesome entry, polished indeed :)
The only problem I had was that I kept hitting the walls when being to close and trying to shoot in the other direction.
Apart from that, fun game.
Great job!

Cheers
-Morco (Omlette du Fromage team)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:21pm

I enjoyed this a lot, the art looks great and it was a fun idea to turn the monsters into little creatures

timeshapers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Very cool. Only thing I'd change, is if you're close to a wall and shoot away from the wall, prevent the bullet from hitting the wall.

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:51am

Funny, short, and well-polished. I beat the game first try, with a grand total of two health left. If you expand it, consider adding a health regen mechanic of some kind!

My only complaint was the fact that it could get a little...distracting, after finishing a wave, with so many passive creatures on-screen at once. Nearly died like that.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Nicely done and animated low res graphics. Fun to play. The controls work well. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]