Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cloudy

by Karl Schmidt - Compo Entry

You are a brand new cloud. New clouds must learn to master themselves and their environment, before joining the others.

Your journey will begin deep within a mountain. Explore your surroundings, and you will find your way.

Controls with WASD, others are described in-game.

Thanks for playing!

*** UPDATE ***: Based on playtesting feedback, I'd like the clarify that it's faster to 'keep together' as you go through the level. Also, if you get stuck or end up clipping out of the level bounds, unfortunately you will have to restart by quitting (Cmd+Q on OSX, Alt+F4 on Windows, reload in web) and starting again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Graphics3.47
#313Innovation3.37
#320Theme3.58
#401Mood3.00
#466Overall3.21
#481Fun3.11
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06am

I like the idea of splitting the clouds to hit multiple buttons, but that, unfortunately, meant having to replay much of the level to get each piece there. That made what could have been interesting kind of boring. Visually, it was nice. I liked the visuals overall (aside from camera clipping), and the game controlled nicely. I'm not quite sure what you were going for with the sound, but the tooltips were a nice touch. Nice start!

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:52am

Adam, that does sound boring :) The intended playstyle is to recombine at every opportunity...but I didn't add mechanics to support/encourage that. Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Splitting is a good idea. Maybe can make the pieces all come together at a certain checkpoint. if not it just takes too long for all the pieces to travel.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44am

Found some bugs like, when a cloud splits near to a wall then the other cloud may stuck on the wall. And same thing, if the cloud also splits near to a wall, probably nearer, then the other will move everywhere outside the maze, leaving the camera view bugged. Regardless, that cloud is so cute, good execution for the theme though :)

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20pm

nervous.composers: Thanks for the feedback! After watching a few people play (after submission of course ;) ) I'm thinking about the same thing..
Roan: Yes a few bugs like that, have to be careful :) Thanks for letting me know!

Odyssey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Great concept! I love it

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:31am

Good stuff! The bit at the end having to sync up all the buttons was great - didn't expect anything like that so it was a nice surprise. I got stuck behind the doors on my first playthrough, but that's my own fault ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

goibon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:57am

Potentially a fun mechanic however I felt that the game was very slow and it was bothersome to get all your little cloud pieces through the corridors.
Very much liked the cloud model though and the tooltips were definitely a nice touch :)

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

guoboism says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:29am

Cool idea about split and merge, but its quite trouble some to switch and move all the pieces one by one to pass a tunnel...

tomlum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:05am

The environment started to feel like an endless mazer after a while, could have used more variety in both the environment and the mechanics used. But an interesting concept.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:25pm

The concept was lovely and simple :) and the clouds are so cute :D

I got so far through and split out of the boundaries of the level which made me sad as it turned out I was right at the end!! :(

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Cute cloud, nice game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1j0YT8wm6Kc

ConorOD says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Nice concept, well executed. Only real criticism is what others have said - having to navigate every cloud piece through the same corridors every time was a bit frustrating.

deathray says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:17pm

I quite enjoyed the gameplay - splitting, cycling between clouds, then reforming. I loved the hand-painted look of the textures. This is definitely a game worth continuing!

May 7, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Interesting, original concept. Well presented, I like the graphics. The game is rather short, but nevertheless great work on finishing this in the compo. Would like to see what other puzzles you can come up with based on this concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]