Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cavern of Flight

by Hempuli - Compo Entry

Enter the Cavern of Flight. Stories say that inside it lies artifacts that let you change your shape into that of a freely-soaring bird!

Controls:
Left & Right - move
Up & Down - climb & aim flashlight
S - jump
NOTE: You can climb ladders downwards while standing on a platform; it's just finicky.

Made using Multimedia Fusion 2 by Clickteam.
All assets and such by Arvi Teikari.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Mood4.38
#19Graphics4.44
#47Overall3.94
#116Audio3.54
#149Fun3.61
#414Innovation3.18
#483Theme3.33

Comments

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29am

Nice atmosphere. Amazing use of shapeshifting. Music is really immersive, good job.

sez says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:00am

Very nice graphics and atmosphere. I have to say, I really disliked the controls that kept me from playing till the end. As I liked everything else I think the best feedback for me to give you is to fix those controls.

Well done!

NinjaTyRB says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:07am

Amazingly done!

falloneus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15am

Spooky! I jumped a couple times. Has a strong sense of atmosphere. I got a bit lost and didn't finish, but I enjoyed it!

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:20am

really good atmosphere!

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Mood 5/5!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Superbly atmospheric, beautiful, and great use of the theme. Controls are fiddly as you say but forgivable considering the obvious effort that went into the rest of the game and the level of polish. Great job!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Very nice. Really interesting to play.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Very well done game. Although controls might have been better all in all it's a solid game.

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Quite atmospheric game, good work!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

*flies out of chair*

Good job!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

These are the kind of games I'd like to make. So immersive, love the art style.

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

I didn't get to the shapeshifting part but game is amazing! The spiders realy Scare the shit out me

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I didn't get to the shapeshifting part but game is amazing! The spiders realy Scare the shit out me.

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

beautifull game!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Beatiful game, great mood, controls work well and audio is great too.

oyun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:53pm

nice game

mkghoster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Wow, really nice asthetics! Altough the game is hard. :/

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Great atmosphere and terrific spider. This is a great compo with a pretty aesthetic. Amazingly done ++

gingerBill says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Very cool looking. I love the silhouette style with the graphics.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Impressive game. The graphics are great, the controls are good and the exploration is lots of fun. The atmosphere is really eerie and those spiders in the dark are terrifying.

The references to other games are really nice too.
If i would change a few things, i might make movement a tad faster. The first screen specifically takes a long time to get throuhh.

Also, maybe give a bit more guidance ? I would sometimes advance really blindly.

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Awesome game, great atmosphere, but the controls were awful, particularly when trying to fight of the spider things.

Tooichi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Loved the graphics.

dsmeathers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Very nice graphics, animation, audio, really well put together. Great atmosphere. A bit too similar to Limbo though. Got stuck and didn't reach the shapeshifting, I got frustrated because the spider kept killing me.

Overall really nice work!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:44pm

great artwork. And nice control behaviour. Well done.

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Beautiful atmosphere and grpahics - it just sucks you in.
It took me a really long time to realize I can climb on grass though. I died at least 20 times while jumping to the second pillar because of that. I'm glad I didn't quit though :)

Drury says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:10am

As an arachnophobe, I didn't plan on sleeping anyway. At least I can rate more games.

I don't think they will be quite to par though, this is almost steamworthy.

Drury says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:12am

Also, for the next LD, can you make a daylight version where you raze the place with a flamethrower?

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:58am

Great job sir! But like others, the controls were a little off putting. It took a great amount of effort to get used to them.

Gromek999 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:47am

Amazing looking game, very obvious inspiration from LIMBO, which is cool. not too innovative but graphics are great.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:33pm

I relly loved this game, great mood, good controls, art style works. I wish I could get to the end, but it was too hard, I got 2 statues on 3, the first one and the one in the room on the right. But in the bottom room it was really too frustrating. Amazing job ! (the death sound was a bit annoying considering it happens so often, also I could have used a save points at the start of the bottom room)

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:25am

Nice game! This game is a little hard for me, but I enjoy it.

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:28am

And thank you for your bug report at my game! :)

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Great Atmosphere, the music and art blend well. I found the movement compelling too.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:25am

I REALLY REALLY need to get back to playing and voting other games but I just can't stop playing this one!!!! I actually watched you (or someone on your team) play this game during the jam while I was finishing up my game! AMAZING JOB!! You have a really good shot at finishing in the top 10 (IMO)

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:11am

Awesome atmosphere, reminds me quite a bit of one of those Nifflas games or your game Where They Once Were.

BTW, I tried checking out the source to see how your lighting was done but unfortunately the link is dead.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:31am

Thank you for the kind comments!

@El Cabaro: Fixed it, sorry about that!

purrpurr says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:45am

This game scares the hell out of me! And I am thoroughly impressed by it.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:54am

Great atmospheric game nice job

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Wow, this one is pretty intense. I like the mood created by the sounds and the lights. Your art style is very nice, using mostly monochromatic colors. The big spider really creeped me out. Perfect entry!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:29pm

I'm now scared of spiders forever...

pogo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:10pm

I enjoyed the art, and the controls were fairly tight - the jumping was a little drifty, however. I like the atmosphere and mood.
Shortly after getting the wings I went upwards to a room with lots of climbing, and 4 spiders. Not having a flashlight while climbing, plus being unable to point it in the right direction reliably, plus the spiders immediately attacking as soon as the light is gone made that room far more frustrating than it should have been.

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:24am

Very nice atmosphere, reminds me of Limbo. Interesting take on the theme, great job!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Great atmosphere and nicely polished graphics. Liked the shock of first running into a spider and the panic when trying to outrun them.

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

studdert249 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:04am

Love the silhouette art style and the soundtrack added a lot to the atmosphere

smbe19 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Is there any way to reset the game? If I open it again it starts where I left.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:47pm

The save file is located in <username>/appdata/roaming/MMFApplications/Hempuli_LD.txt. I didn't have time to implement resetting, sorry! :(

StrayCat says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:09pm

the controls were a bit offputting for me, but I liked the overall mood!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:32am

Really dig the minimalist visuals here. The blue was a good choice, to avoid Limbo comparisons and come off drab. Touches like the lighter background to indicate foreground/background elements show experience in the field.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:19am

The first time the spider showed up I nearly jumped out of my seat.

Great mood!

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Impressive athmosphere ... you really get the sense of a vast quiet but hostile world. The spider creeped me out!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Very cool limbo like !! Nice to see an other clickteam dev her ! :)

avinashd says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:53am

Getting a really Limbo vibe from this :)

csanyk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:07am

I got down to an underground area, after figuring out a way past the really high fall that kills you unless you grab a ladder as you're falling, and then got stuck. I flipped a lever, and something moved, but I couldn't progress.

Decent platform engine, but I think the level design was preventing me from getting anywhere by being a little too subtle.

Good atmosphere!

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:34pm

i was attracted by visual at first,and i think it may have good atmosphere( very love and have good design this deep blue tone )
when i real in game, As expected! verynice! and this game let me put so many times in it~ and also so many points let me surprising.(why i found your game so late!)
controll aspect: i spent so many time until i realized that i could climb on these grass-walls! i think it may because the catch wall climb's action covers me to found another climb function early.(one high-frequentlyfunction seems always cover another similary funciton) but the process of discovery also a wonderful experience~!
enemies; very clever! and at the beginning of the underground scene ,it seems like the level remind me that you need more careful and not too reckless..humm. two spiders always the nightmare ToT. but why there just once time all light in the underground(when i got wings underground and die one time, the map become all clear and lighting. but just once time...not sure is this a bug....orz)
then, i found that there are another top floor exist(by dark scene 2 ,there are a small channal i could climb,but not pass it...top is close...just could see a new scene...)
i am not sure is this because this game was not completed?@o@ but this game really let me feel it was done...
all in all,really love this game,and i feel it worth more people to play! not only because the atmosphere, the world also be built well done,it also tech me so much about how to built a great pixel game world,and let me feel a good method to manange the layer of the wonderful background in visual.
thanks for this game ,and congratulations!
cheers~

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]