Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pop/Swap

by Paulgami - Compo Entry

Shapeshifting, single-player co-op, 2D puzzle-platformer.

You play as Pink and Blue, two characters who must both reach the exit in each level. (Really killing it with the writing here.)

At any one time, one character is human, and the other is a bubble. Use the Shift key to toggle their forms and try to get both to the doorway.

Arrow keys: Move
Spacebar: Jump
Shift key / 'S' key: Shapeshift
Escape key: Quit

Source repo and downloads are here: https://bitbucket.org/CardTrick/pop-swap

Edit: The glow/AO effect was hosed on Linux and OSX, that should be fixed now.

Edit again: This is now up on itch.io, with slightly improved visuals and more levels: https://chillpenguin.itch.io/popswap

Please don't judge that version though - for the competition, just download the ones underneath.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#103Audio3.58
#112Fun3.69
#213Overall3.52
#268Theme3.67
#287Mood3.19
#372Innovation3.25
#497Graphics2.96

Comments

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:24pm

One of the best games I've seen so far to be honest! Kind of reminds me of portal 2 co-op and I simply love that game! This game truly has a lot of potential! Good job!

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:25pm

This is a really creative idea for a puzzle platformer. I liked the jazzy background music.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:46am

Great game. Loved the mechanic. Got a little frustrating after i failed 20 times on the same jump. The background music was great!

dsmeathers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:54am

Brilliant, really nicely done

PixelRetro says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Nice ending! Sound, music and graphics fit very well together.
What the game needs now are more objects to interact with in order to create more intricate levels.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Great entry ! This satisfaction when you find it !
Totally portal like !
Nice music by the way !

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Great game! Well designed puzzles and good audio. I felt that the maps where a little too big and slow to complete though.

Also, the edges of the last level were cut off, so I couldn't see the characters when they stepped on the right button or passed the door.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Short and simple, but wonderful. I really enjoyed it. Nicely done!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:23am

Great concept! Really liked the graphics and the music too! Nice entry!

Shael says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:47am

Solid entry.
Strange choice of music, it was like elevator music haha.
But yeah well done.

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Good stuff! I felt like I could cheese the levels a bit with the mechanics, but really that's to be expected in such a short time frame. On a related note, the only real issue I have with it is lack of content, but what can you do?

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Well, this is a nice one.
I really like the fluid animations, as well as this fancy ambient occlusion effect. And sound and music were really good to.
And gameplay was interesting and innovative.
Great job!

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Solid entry, fun puzzles, well done!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:11pm

I LOVE THE VIBE. VERY INTUITIVE AND EASY TO PICK UP... AND FUN! I ALSO APPRECIATE THE SIMPLICITY OF THE GRAPHICS SINCE I AM A WEIRDO

CaptainPilot says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Enjoyed this one - the simple hook of the characters trading states is one that is instantly appealing! I feel like it would probably need building out into multi-screen levels with a bit of exploration to get more mileage out of the puzzle mechanic (though maybe you have other ideas for post-compo!)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]