Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Operation R.E.P.T.I.L.E.

by Jungle - Jam Entry

You are an agent who works for a secret organization that prevents Extraterrestrial Biological Entity attacks coming from aliens called Reptillians.

These aliens can shapeshift their bodies and walk among humans almost unnoticed. But their shifting skills are not perfect, you can detect shifted aliens by observing their behaviour like color changing, snake tongue or rapdly turn around. You can mark people to make their behaviour more remarkable.

Use your taser to capture alien Repitilians when they are covered. If they morph to their real form, you must use your gun to kill them.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Commands:
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
ARROWS - Moves the agent
Q - Mark people
W - Capture Reptilians in human form
E - Shoot to kill Reptilians in real form

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#142Theme(Jam)3.91
#151Audio(Jam)3.67
#152Humor(Jam)3.41
#166Overall(Jam)3.68
#168Graphics(Jam)4.04
#198Innovation(Jam)3.57
#262Fun(Jam)3.45
#344Mood(Jam)3.35

Comments

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Wow!!! Get the reptilian bastards ieheahiaehieahieahi Very cool game!!! \o/

Asturk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Hey very cool game! I really loved the game menu and the style and mechanic are really great! The game is a little hard for starters though, but i still think you done a good job with the theme! congrats! =D

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32pm

I unfortunately can't play your game, but I do like your concept, as it is pretty much the concept of my game! Haha, nice job completing LD!

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Wow, great job on making this. Took a few tries to get perfect though. Nice Game!

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Fun and challenging! Especially like the graphics.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:08pm

There's a lot to like here! Cool MiB-like concept (who doesn't like to hunt evil aliens down?), nice clean graphics and good music.

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:39am

This is an interesting game. I'm still not quite sure how to figure out who the reptiles are and who aren't. Maybe there's just something I'm not seeing here. But I liked the artwork and the idea. Good job!

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18am

Nice game.
But I can't tell 'REPTILE action' from 'failed to walk' as a starter.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Really good graphics + sound, gameplay was nice, I'm not one for waiting around too much, but I did have the option to take chances too which was great!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33pm

It's a bit hard to identify the reptiles and man they can't be killed easily. Anyway: Nice graphics, cool music. You did a great job :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42pm

I really like you main menu. And you had an excellent idea!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:03am

Is that Britney Spears? haha

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:07am

This game is pretty good, though i had some issues shooting the aliens after they showed them selves in the end.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:08am

Great concept and execution! One of my favorites of the jam so far!

masterkrepta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:15am

Pretty clever spin on the theme to make the enemies the ones who shape shift, game was a lot of fun,

I Just wish i didn't reflexively hit shoot instead of capture so often, curse my fat fingers

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:50am

Wow!! a pretty cool ame and the concept is good, also the audio and art is nice and its a very very good game overall! =)

play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14am

Really cool concept. For improvement, I would make less time go down when the player tazes someone who isn't an EBE.

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:32am

Nice job on the game. The game itself was good and I enjoyed it a lot but the best part for me was the main menu screen. That was fantastic.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:45am

Neat game! Loved specially the main screen xp Music and graphics are really nice! I just couldn't find more than two reptilians... I guess I'm a terrible agent ^^;

Anyways congrats on your entry!

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:46am

I must have reptile dysfunction. I could never get more than 3 of those scaly guys. Great game!

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:48am

very fun ! congratulations ! :)

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:27am

I stared at the title screen longer than I should have...

Gameplay itself is fun and easy to understand, but still challenging to find all the reptiles. Animations are clean and stylish. I just wish there were sounds when you hit a reptile with your gun.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:13pm

Very nice concept, good looking art and interesting title screen.

Sadly I get a very low frame rate and this limits the game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:03am

Those are some pretty violent aliens for sure. Very well done title screen, that must've taken a long time! Great entry, nice job.

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:36am

Damn that manu rocks! Must have given you quite the trouble but it sure looks awesome! I just couldn't figure out how to track down those reptilians. Always got some inocent teased up lol.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:32pm

I liked the graphics and the idea. The tutorial wasn't very helpful though. Maybe a tutorial level would have been nice to learn how to play.

All the humans are surprisingly unbothered by shapeshifting reptiles killing everyone though...

datadazer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Very cool idea! I had so much fun taking out reptilian scum! The graphics were entertaining and the theme was silly. The gameplay was a nifty idea but it felt like I never got any hints towards 2/3 of the lizards. It made the game feel impossible to beat. Otherwise, really fun game! (Also I liked the menu screen haha)

arhpositive says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:48am

Good game with an interesting concept. My best was 3 captured, 2 innocent kills and 1 alien kills. Keep up the good work.

rburema says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:41am

Thank goodness you can also UNmark people, that would've gotten a smidge annoying otherwise ;-)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Gotta catch them all!
Damn cool game, I had fun playing this and improved a lot my peripheral vision!
Good work, keep it up!

ciaodavinci says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:48am

Cool concept. That title screen is wild :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:06pm

What a clever little game! I loved this entry. The first time I played it, I wasn't quite sure what I was doing. But I started to get the hang of it! The tells were very subtle but it was really fun to spot them. Great job on this. :)

in3orn says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:37pm

I love this enrty. Played more than an hour within last three days :) I only regret there's no game progress like levels with increasing number of reptiles or obstacles, or with skill improvements. This could be really cool full title!

Please, inform me when you release some post versions.

I've also written a short description of it here :)
https://twitter.com/_krakers/status/729755173061562369

rjhelms says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Great concept. I had fun giving this a spin, but I think the balance is a bit off - for how subtle the tells are and the penalty for getting it wrong, it'd be nice to have a bit more time to just watch and learn.

in3orn says ...
Jun 8, 2016 @ 6:37pm

I know it's month after the event, but maybe you'll be happy to hear that you're 3rd in my top 10 LD35 summary list :)

http://krk-dev.com/2016/06/08/top-10-of-ld35/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]