Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Aether Crypt

by Tselmek - Jam Entry

Update: Music made during the Jam added. If you believe it is a little dodgy, I understand so feel free to not rate the Audio in order to leave a fair score to the musician.

That was one tight of a jam this time around, due to a lot of organisation issues mainly. Hope you have some fun with this little game, I did quit the usual arcade habit and tried making something a bit more calm and metroidvania-ish apparently.

### Description ###

The creature you control is made out of Aether, a newly discovered atom that can, with enough negative charges collected through electrons, transform itself into an already existing atom or molecule. Find your way out by using your different abilities.

### Controls (Gamepad recommended) ###

--- Keyboard ---
ZQSD/WASD or Arrow keys to move
E to switch transformations
Space to transform

--- Gamepad ---
D-pad to move and A to jump
Right and Left shoulder buttons to switch transformations
X to transform

### Credits ###

Art and Code by Tselmek

Music by Cynicus

### Changelog ###

[25/04/2016] Fixed most of the big collision detection bugs
[30/04/2016] Fixed surface bug that would make the game crash when going fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#15Mood(Jam)4.31
#33Overall(Jam)4.06
#47Fun(Jam)3.96
#48Theme(Jam)4.15
#57Audio(Jam)3.96
#168Graphics(Jam)4.04
#198Innovation(Jam)3.57

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:31am

Fun! Nice platforming physics, well designed level, and great art. It's a shame you weren't able to get any music; it would have helped complete the package.

Several times, I found myself wishing the transform animation didn't take so long, standing in front of a switch or something. When I had figured out the puzzle, having to wait for the transform to complete could get annoying. It didn't take too much away from the enjoyment of the game, but it was a concern.

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:07am

Really nice idea of using atoms and molecules :D got to the end! Really balanced and working game for me.

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42am

Cool Game but
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Draw Event
for object obj_transition:

Unable to find any instance for object index '0'
at gml_Object_obj_transition_Draw_0
############################################################################################

Tselmek says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Thanks for the bug report Falak, fixed version will be uploaded soon. At least you didn't miss much because of it :P

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04pm

An ambient game !! that's freaking cool !

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Played 'til the end, got all the electrons, and I can say it's a really cool platformer!
It was nice to discover the different abbilities of each form, also the level design is really well executed!
Good work.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:41pm

The darkness was made it a bit difficult, but other than that it was great! Really clever level design! Loved it!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:26am

The game was fun! It had a good mood to it. I loved that the door was there at the beginning and it made it really exciting to find the keys. I love that you'd have to explore and figure things out to level up, which gave you access to more areas. That was creative! Well done. :)

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:41am

love it!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:12am

Fun game with nice level design. Liked that as you progressed you obtained new abilities which would further help you proceed. Was able to finish it and get all the keys but wasn't able to get one of the electrons which I could see was between the two crates.

datadazer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:42pm

I had SO much fun playing this. I love the open level while still being limited on entry based on which forms you've unlocked. Fun mechanics, awesome art style. Love the ambient soothing music that makes you feel good while exploring the dark. It was fun discovering how different forms could help you get through different challenges.

Only thing is it was really really dark to the point of it being hard to see walls or even hints of where a small opening might be. But also I see how making it brighter would make those parts maybe too trivial to solve.

Perfect amount of challenge to it. Overall awesome game!

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Vraiment sympathique, ambiance très cool ;)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:23pm

I really enjoyed this game. Too bad it has only this one level, I'd love to play more!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Great entry !

j'ai vraiment bien aimé ton jeu ! j'ai particulierement aimé le LD, le pixel art dst très propre et l'ambiance qui s'en dégage est vraiment cool. (ça fait plaiz de croiser d'autres étudiants français par ici. haha)

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Great presentation. Could have been a little more challenging, but I had fun :) transforming into a wide character while touching a wall gets you stuck. I'm not sure but do you ever actually need to be water? you can just jump out of the water with helium, right? Great entry despite these points.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Nice and fun little game. Couldnt find the 59th electron but was great fun regardless.
Agreed that the transformation took a little longer than desired but not a game breaker.

lumscum says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Beautiful mood to the game!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Nice little platformer / puzzle game. I think the background was just a tad too dark but it was well done.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Wow. The mood, the graphics, the sound, the idea... Brilliant execution, guys :)

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:53pm

I gave 5 stars to all categories. It's a perfect game! I loved its innovation and mood.

Roland M says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Love the mood mad. =]

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Warm lamp game. Music and fear of the dark balance each other. I just figured out how to switch between forms. Nice art.

apalade says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:59am

One the most solid games I tried in this Ludum Dare! Please keep developing that game!

ijona says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:08pm

just awesome!!! there are many games with the same idea, but not many that are fun to play

ijona says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:10pm

imho shapeshifting could be a bit faster, but that's not too important

Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:47am

Loved this game! The level design was pretty smart, and the dusky aesthetics give an extra sensation when playing :D

While trying to play in fullscreen got the same error Falak had, but not a problem at all.

See ya!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Really great atmosphere, extremely tight and precise controls. It would've been nice if the different elements were a bit more cleverly unique rather than simply to open doors for the most part.

However, it was still a thoroughly relaxing entertaining game dripping with atmosphere. Nice!

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:26pm

So I finally got along to trying this one and it was very well made. I really liked the art, which was minimalistic, but got the job done quite well. I enjoyed the atmospheric music a lot and the whole mood of it was great. I do have some issues with it, as I do with all entries. Firstly, having a lot of forms was fun and inventive (considering they were all named after different elements and things) but I wished there were maybe fewer forms, but more time spent to make them distinct. Secondly, while I understand it was done for atmospheric purposes, but the level was extremely hard to see, making me often feel lost. Then again that might have been the point lol. Other than those points of constructive criticism, this was still one of the better entries I've tried so far and was quite a bit of fun.

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Cool concept and game atmosphere.

yuigoto says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:27pm

You've nailed it! :D That's a great take on the theme and really clever too!

The graphics are simple, but really charming and the way you've set up everything creates a great moon in-game. The soundtrack also helps set up the mood in a great way too! :D

Controls work perfectly, and the shapeshifting mechanic is pretty well made!

Brilliant! :D

PixlWalkr says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Great solid entry, I really like the mechanics and atmosphere. audio is also nice. I enjoyed playing it!

Sabina Lis says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:08pm

I enjoyed this game very much, loved the different characters, specially carbon on fire :). Beautiful entry, thanks!

abuzreq says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Other than it was very dark to an annoying level sometimes,the game is really cool.
It was hard to get to the keys in the dark even after having all the shapes in my arsenal.
The game was short so that didn't allow the utilization of all the shapes (many were used to open the gate only and didn't and any particular trait)
hopefully in a longer game ,an interesting game play can emerge out of their different abilities.
Good Work!

puppetmaster says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Wow! What a great game. Really love the theme implementation. Background music make the mood!
Keep up the good work!

StaNov says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Had fun while playing, but you know it because you were watching my stream! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqDS9CXji3A

RyanNielson says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Great little game, the art and sound were fantastic. The concept of transforming into characters with different abilities was great as well. The transformation animation was a bit slow though, and some forms seemed more useful than others. Well done overall though.

cabezotta says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Great entry! Very well designed! :)

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:05am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]