Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sharpshifter

by jonnopon3000 - Compo Entry

*********
Please play on Chrome; Firefox has a game-ruining cursor alignment issue
*********

A simple arcade shooter - get as high a score as you can!
As your multiplier increases, you'll change shape and gain more firepower. Possible shapes are:

Triangle: shoot forward
Rectangle: shoot forward and backward
Pentagon: shotgun

W to move forward, mouse to aim and left click to shoot.

@jonnopon3000

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#412Fun3.22
#525Humor2.04
#563Audio2.30
#636Theme3.09
#657Mood2.61
#664Overall2.97
#753Graphics2.47
#895Innovation2.14

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Cute little twin stick shooter, but doing a game like this with a mouse only works (in my opinion) if the ship points at the cursor. I found very tiny twitches would mess it up, and my cursor could go off the game screen rendering my frantic clicks inneffectual. Nice look.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Thanks for the feedback - when I play, the ship does point at the cursor - I could introduce smoothing, but do you mean that on your machine it was pointing in another direction?. The game is supposed to lock your pointer when you click on it and display an "X" at your mouse position, also - I have a feeling this didn't work in your case

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Nice entry, maybe a bit lack of musics but i pretty enjoyed it

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Nice n retro.

lilKriT says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Cool game. Fun factor is high:)
I like the autofire and, the idea of shapes and retro feel.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Great game, got a highscore of 30k and then i kinda got bored of it. Maybe it was a bit too on the easy side. Great entry though!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Nice game! I like how your ship is being upgraded when you kill a lot of enemies, and downgraded with you get hit.

Good job!

Btw, looks like you've messed up with the matrices somewhere, because player sprite is always stretched horizontally.

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:08pm

This feels like a nice throwback to asteroids and shooters like it! I had fun. I do think it was a bit too easy to progress through the levels though due to the fact that your health would constantly refill. I think making the health refill less often would help this game significantly. Other than that, great job!

ougrouk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Fun retro game

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:02pm

nice game,
try our game:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

qu2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Very nice, well done, but I never felt the need to move.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Yeah, I should've had a tracking enemy or something because playing as a turret is a good strategy; I'm doing a post-LD version with lots of new features and fixes just to use the concept some more.

knason says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:19pm

YAY fun! :) good job!

kuhnerdm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Good concept, but borderline-ruined by the fact that, on the web player on Firefox, it doesn't hide the mouse cursor, and the actual X cursor is displaced from the mouse cursor by a set amount. Very difficult to play because of that. Also, the fire rate seems a bit too high; it's probably possible to get by just by going in small circles and holding down the fire button.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Thanks for letting me know about the Firefox problem, that'll be down to a bug my engine has with pointer locking. I wasn't aware of the problem in FF (my bad).

Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Simple and effective. Liked it :)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:06am

A little glitchy, and the theme use seems almost incidental in that it's only really a way of representing power ups, but I still had a lot of fun with this. The movement could perhaps do with a bit of softening, but given the time this was made in it's a fun little shooter. Good work. :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:48pm

nice game, standing still is op, and i got to wave 28 and then it crashed :), but was cool

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Good!

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:40am

This was fantastic! Really like the Asteroids influence. No complaints here. Very fun.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:24am

Great entry. I found myself mostly being a stationary turret.

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:05am

Nice, simple mechanic. Perhaps allow more customisation as to how you "shapeshift" though, just getting them as you level doesn't really give the player that much control past the scope of the level.

arhpositive says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:25am

It's a good entry. My high score is 72k and I died on Wave 24. Moving is not very beneficial, as standing still gives you a better aim at the enemies. The game was pretty easy and got repetitive over time but the base structure is solid and the game can be improved.

Adding moving, big, slow platforms to force player ship to change its position would solve the problem of being stationary. This would also make the game harder.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]