Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Runaway Clothes

by scorched - Jam Entry

Once upon a time...
In a forest, a druid awoke... :-)

Controls: Left+Right/A+D for move, Space for jump, Left-Mouse-Button on little animals for shapeshift, Shift/Right-Mouse-Button for throwing.
In Level 2 you can select the spell in left bottom screen corner with Left-Mouse-Button or with 1 and 2 keys.

[!] in Update 1 you can also jump with Up/W, and movement and jumping works for AZERTY and DVORAK too!

Credits:

Design: Igor S., Egor, Fedor
Graphics: Egor
Coding: Igor S.
Music: Fedor
Mixing: AAArts
SFX: @MrJoshuaMcLean
Font: Artifika from cyreal.org

Known issues/bugs:
- (fixed in Update 1) Hard to jump over running boars safely
- (fixed in Update 1) In right part of some ponds you can stand on the air
- (fixed in Update 1) Difficulties with non-QWERTY keyboard layout
- (fixed in Update 1) Debug keys are still working
- (fixed in Update 1) When transforming fish while near water, the stones are often auto-collected
- (fixed in Update 2) The hero sometimes dies on reviving, and after that finally revives
- (fixed in Update 2) When someone is dying, the sprite is below grass
- (fixed in Update 2) Birds tend to fly down sometimes after transforming back (and even go underwater)
- (fixed in Update 2) Hero's hat doesn't cast shadow in level 1
- At some cases hero can get trapped under ground (how to reproduce?)
- In Firefox you can get two mouse cursors at once

Intended non-bugs (to make it clear):
- You can kill yourself with item, if it falls right on your head
- Animals are transformed back after 4 seconds (or on contact with enemies)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#117Audio(Jam)3.76
#137Humor(Jam)3.45
#294Graphics(Jam)3.78
#339Mood(Jam)3.36
#507Overall(Jam)3.27
#599Innovation(Jam)2.98
#608Theme(Jam)3.27
#682Fun(Jam)2.95

Comments

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56am

Nice setting))

The M says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14pm

The game's pretty nice but I could never beat the second level. The graphics and audio are both great but the game mechanics could use a bit more work.

Clever way to interpret the theme.

scorched says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Thanks, so where did you guys get stuck?

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:03am

nice gfx and lovely music
was hard to hit those boars
near the fishes it bugged out, when birds were at my level, it autopicked them and I was throwing birds .. also birds started flying under water

Gametery says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Nice artwork! Collision boxes feels a bit weird tho but overall good work!

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:43pm

@dusho, auto-picking birds is ok, and you are throwing birds because for sake of humour the shapeshift only lasts for 4 seconds :-)

illuware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Neat idea. Somehow I couldn't get it in my head that shapeshifting a bird that's right above me will mean the stone will drop and kill me. I wonder if that's an intentional feature. Also, birds seem to escape from my pockets randomly?

Hectigo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Got stuck on the second level due to a collision bug. Even until that point the gameplay was more frustrating than fun, though I dig the druid with speedos. The graphics are lots of fun in general!

Lullaby says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Nice entry! I have been stuck at the 3rd wild boar as ducks were all at the water level, and I didn't managed to kill the boar because of them!
Loved the humor of your character and story. Music is cool too, though.

Well done! :)

scorched says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:57pm

@illuware, yep, it's all intentional and for fun! Birds are escaping pockets, because the transform lasts for 4 seconds. Could have timer indicator near the items to make it more obvious though...
@Hectigo, where exactly did you get stuck? I can beat entire game with bugs (though I doesn't mean I won't eventually fix them ;-))

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Nice music and a funny intro! haha! Was a little annoying that my turned-to-stone ducks flew away, I wanted to collect them! ;)
Really nice graphics as well!

kumoi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Fun, great concept, gets annoying when transformed birds kill you

BitDare says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:34pm

The game was great.

KappaIX says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Interesting take on the theme and some fun art.

Well done!

robb_blob says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Nice art and music! I think that would be good to shapeshift with more diferent animals. There is a bug where the character can enter in to the ground and cannot escape but great job in general!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:48am

this is pretty neat. sometimes the stones collected scroll gets in the way of seeing the ground. fun mechanic, nice graphics, good sound

jcsirron says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:13pm

This is a really funny game! It's not just the naked druid, nor the shapeshifting of the small animals into rocks to throw, but the resurrection is what really got me. Throwing out the "dead" druid before the real one comes through? Hilarious! Good job!

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Cool pixel art, wish it took more hits before dying.

morrilet says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:03pm

This was a pretty entertaining game. Once upon revival, however, I fell under the ground and got stuck. Other than that, good job!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Nice Game and really cool graphics

dj_pale says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Very fun take on the concept. Small glitches when respawning - double-death.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Nice idea, really funny having a wizard in underwear, throwing rocks made out of ducks.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

scorched says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:23pm

So I finally had time to fix some of the bugs... See post-compo Update 1 :-)

May 1, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Had a ton of fun playing, but kept running into a bug with the checkpoint system that it kept killing and spawning me inside of the ground

LeReveur says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:59pm

I didn't find how to take of running pants, but it's a good entry, well done. :)

scorched says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:24pm

@LeReveur, oh, just like with boars, but you need 3 shots to pull the pants :D

fin_nolimit says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:13am

The graphics and audio ROCK!!!! I only wish I could press W to jump!! lol but the game was fun and the level design felt natural! Good job!

DeltaF1 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:28am

Really fun to play, and the art/sfx/music were awesome. I got stuck on the second level, the duck taht I turn into a crate dips below the surface too much, and I can't jump high enough to make it. Otherwise a really fun game, well done :)

samreid says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Great game, very polished, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]