Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Drift Shift

by Bailman03 - Compo Entry

RECOMMENDED CONTROLS (since people were complaining)
ARROWS TO STEER (right hand)
1234 TO SHIFT AND SPACE TO DRIFT (Left Hand)

My 2nd Ludum dare. I am a 16 year old student who loves making games. I hope you enjoy

Drift your car around the corners while shifting to make it through the barriers. Finish before the time runs out to make it to the next level.
Try out the new Level Builder under Level Select.
If enough people enjoy this game i will look to add more levels as well as a save feature for the level builder. Time did not permit these features during the Ludum Dare so show your support to get these implemented.

Controls
WASD or Arrows to steer Car
Space to drift
1234 to shift
R to restart current level
ESC return to main menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#452Fun3.15
#547Humor1.98
#622Graphics2.72
#636Overall3.00
#674Innovation2.78
#701Mood2.50
#777Theme2.81

Comments

Bailman03 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Let me know if you guys like it. I really enjoyed this game and would love to continue working on it so if I get enough good feedback I will do so. I would love to add more levels, save function on the level builder, as well as online multiplayer. These could all be implemented within a month or so time frame. But will only be implemented if people enjoy the game. Because why make multiplayer for a game nobody likes? Enjoy!

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:38am

Really cool game. It's always fun to drift!

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:39am

Love the drift mechanics.

iendsl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40am

Cool take on the theme. I didn't feel too comfortable with the drift but I think this game concept could really be fun!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40am

Nice work man! The drift mechanic felt really really good. Would've loved some sweet sound effects but a great effort for 48 hours!

Would love your thoughts on my game -- Tito's Revenge
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

ORECROS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

Controlling the car feals RRRREAAAALLLY good. There's not enough punishment for hitting the walls IMO and as a result the levels are designed with hitting the walls in mind.

FaeDine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:51am

The drift mechanics feel good. It's fun to play.

I did find some of the timings to be very tight. I finished them, but it was often difficult and rarely had more than a second left on the clock.

Kudos for getting a level editor in there as well. I think that time would have been better spent adding some sounds or music as I'm not sure how much use the level editor will see. Just the same, good job fitting it in.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:51am

Nice game! I really like how drifting was done.
Keys positions were hard for me, I used one hand for wasd and another for 1234+space (due to laptop) and it was bit hard to drive :)
I loved the skidmarks too!

Dia6lo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52am

This game would be more interesting if shapes actually affected gameplay. Good job, though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:56am

That was fun, controlling a car with a barrier to get through with a shape shift is something else :D

Bailman03 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:56am

Thanks for all your feedback guys! I would've loved to add sounds effects but that is my biggest weak point so I didn't know where to go to get some.

Bailman03 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:57am

If anyone knows a good place to find car soundeffects that would be awesome I would love to find some for I am going to continue working on this game post jam.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58am

I tried like 10+ times and i kept running out of time and couldn't reach the finish of first level :(

roxflame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04am

Had trouble playing this one, the drifting is cool, just had a hard time with the drift-shifting mechanic walls.

wavertron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:08am

Really good. You could refine this some more into something really nice outside the compo. Juicify it to give it more feedback to the player. Sound effects obviously. Maybe some more visuals like when you pick a shape gear, all those particular "shape gates" go green and other shape gates go red. Passing through a gate, fire off a satisfying sound as well, etc.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:09am

the drifting is sooo tight, the theme just gets in the way

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:10am

The feels, what you can do a amazing drift is exelent!
Nice job, and interesting theme usage!

Bailman03 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:18am

Again thanks for the feedback everybody!!! Comment your fastest times and maybe I'll compile a leader board out of them. Also if anyone builds a cool level and screen

Bailman03 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:18am

Shots it then I can add it into the game.

MerriGrape says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:22am

First off I love the art style, this old school inspired top down racing really brings out some memories. This game feels like something you could spend a long time with, trying to get the fastest times possible. A funny and small but interesting game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:43am

The drifting is awesome! Confirms my belief that this LD was a bad theme choice.

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57am

Hard, but fun! Something quite different from the other games I've tried so far.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:46am

Keep working on it is a great game, make it available for mobiles

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50am

Decent game, some sound would make it alot better i think.

Fatsheep says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:22am

The drifting felt really good.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30am

Nice Drifting, good game and idea.

draq22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Cool arcade game. Please, change the controls, for example shift modifier to arrows :).

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Was fun and innovative. But I'm not so sure about the shift part, it was really distracting when doing the COOL DRIFTS :D Just kidding man, good game, I like it :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:58pm

I really like micro machines, which this reminds me of. I also teach manual transmission driving as a hobby. In fact, I considered making a game called "Diesel May Care 2: Shift or Die", sequel to a previous LD project.

Ironically I think the weak part of this is the shifting mechanic. The interpretation of shifting as a gating mechanic is an interesting one and I think it's good that you tried it. However, I found that it was just ruining my flow because while I could carefully time my drifts (which was really fun) I couldn't steer and shift at the same time. If the shifting mechanic were gone the game would be quite a bit of fun.

Sound would make a big difference since most experienced drivers shift by engine note and speed, but because engine speed is not tied into road speed at all that doesn't match one to one. Perhaps if the engine revved higher if you need to shift up and lower if you needed to shift down? Then I could pay attention to the road and shift by feel.

If you can find a way to make this flow better I love the idea of an arcade racing game with gear shifting. This is a solid start and the actual car feel is pretty good. Also, play some micro machines!

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Hard but fun! Reminds me of the board game Formula De.
Also fun interpretation of the theme.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

It's a pretty neat little game, and the idea of telling the player's when to shift using shapes is great. Though I did feel that the first level was a bit too hard, it could use a longer time limit or a shortened course. Some audio would have helped this game a great deal as well. Good effort overall though!

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Great mechanics for drifting! As a sandbox its amazing, as it game, it needs more to keep challenging the player, but for a jam, fantastic work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Fantastic! I wish the gear changing worked with the numpad because using WASD and 1234 is quite difficult but that was fun. You could definitely make this a really good game post-jam just by polishing it up a bit. I loved it.

Titan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50pm

This could be really fun without this anoying shift.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:21pm

I really enjoyed the mechanics of driving, The gear shifting took a second, but I got the hang of it. This was a pretty solid piece of work.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Pretty fun game. A unique view on the theme.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Great game. I love the drifting, so pleasing

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:50pm

I like the drifting, feels pretty good. Well done!

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Very fun once you get the hang on the controls. Plays very smoothly.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Nice. What a shame there are no sounds though. Also, the theme implementation was weird.

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:31pm

The controlling of the car was pretty difficult. once I figured out how to open the locks, it went better, but still had problems driving in straght line..

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:49pm

well its the first driving game I have played so definitely a unique take on the theme

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

I almost thought this was off theme, but then it hit me. xD

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Drifting was really cool. I liked the out of the box take on theme. Sounds would have made the mood of the game better. Add those and you got a winner!

rnlf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19am

The drifting feels great, lots of fun!

Too bad it doesn't have sound, a screeching sound on the drift would be awesome. But I now from my own game, how hard it is to synth a screeching sound.

vini60 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:52am

Very flowy controls for the car, I like that and the fact that you added a level builder. Good work.

urfbound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04am

Nice game! Retro web/snes racer feel, had a nostalgia blast playing it. I like the combination of the classic drifting controls (reminded me of the controls in Super Off-Road) and the shapeshifting theme with the shape gates. Would be a lot of fun with Super Off-Road-style multiplayer! The controls were also really tight. They added a big feel of professionalism to the game overall. To increase that one recommendation I would make would be to update the fonts and layout used in the GUI - they sometimes seemed to render in unusual places (e.g. too close to the edge of the screen) and sometimes occupied too much space. The informational parts of the GUI (e.g. what form you're in) I thought were a shining part of your interface and well-crafted. Great job there. If I were to make a recommendation, it would be that maybe apart from just gates your shape will let you get through, there could be different terrains that certain vehicles were faster on (e.g. hovercraft for water, buggy for dirt, etc.) Then you would have to pay attention both to gates and terrain for changing your shape. Overall a great game and I had a lot of fun playing! Hope you had fun participating - thanks for your entry! :D

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:32am

Skidmarks are a good touch. Also good how the number of sides corresponded to the number key you have to press.

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:54am

Nice game. Really great graphics. It would be great to have sound and music also. Good job overall!

datadazer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:15am

So Much Fun!! I Love the drifting!! For some reasons, the numbers didn't work on the number pad. So it was a little awkward controlling it with numbers directly above the WASD keys. Otherwise, the levels were interesting. The theme was innovative and the graphics were cohesive. Great Job!

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55am

For one I had to overlap my hands to play because my laptop didn't have a num-pad. But it was still playable. Pretty nice graphics, nice idea, very casual and nice. But i think there could be more content and more challenge.

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:19pm

nice graphics and the driving part felt good; didnt liked that changing the gears was only possible using the 1-4 keys as i steered using wasd and couldnt use both at the same time

JHemmings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:10pm

This was a lot of fun once you get a hand of the '1234' mechanics. Definitely a great achievement for a 48 hour game!. I loved the drift mechanic, if you were to keep working on it, perhaps it would be better without the 'shifting' mechanics and more of a straight up, top down multiplayer racer, like the old micro machines games.

Asturk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Its i very nice drift game, and i really like that you even made a way for us to customize our levels too. The problem is that the theme is very much hidden there, i think you should like change the car's shape to something coles to the shape the player is trying to change from button 1 to 4 there. But i hope you maybe upgrade this game with more levels and some racing themed music too. Very good job!

Crosstales says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Funny combination! I like drifting in race games and you added an interesting gameplay mechanic to fit the theme :-)

Good entry!

LostViking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

It took some tries to master the barrier system and simultaneously driving fast enough to stay under the time limit. But when I did it became mush more fun. Good game overall with a simplistic but fitting art style.

SojaBird says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Good controls, but I don't feel the shift thing adds much.
Maybe you could have gone and added different gears you that you need to shift using the shifter. (Like manual gear shifting).
I tried making a drift game once as well which did took me a long time but still didn't feel right. You did a pretty good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Pretty cool concept, I've always thought drifting was awesome.

zillix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:37am

The drifting mechanic was a lot of fun to play with, and the gear mechanic ended up working really well! I do wish there was a little more margin for error in the levels- it was really tricky to even barely finish on time!

whilefun says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:24pm

The drifting felt really nice. I think better controls (WASD + 1234 is hard to do at the same time), and non-sequential shapes (not 1234 in order) would make this more fun to play. The concept of having to change modes to clear goals while drifting is a solid one I think. With some more polish this could be a pretty fun thing to play I think! :)

aviktorov says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:34pm

My first try was without drift at all and it was very challenging. Once I figured out how to drift properly the game became very fun. :)

Well done!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Hey, great game you made here! Loved it! I like the fact that there was a level editor! That made it feel so much more complete somehow. Great work!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:19pm

The graphics are a bit poor but neat idea

neondx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:28pm

concept is good, but the car was hard to drive

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:52am

Good arcade, if you are using spacebar to drift, although there isn't much about shape shifting... But I can told the same about our game, at least about shapeshifting )

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:47am

Cool design and mechanic, well the left hand controlling almost mess me up, better to combine the drift with simply changing direction, so left hand can concentrate in switching shape

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:37am

It's really always fun to drift, and shapeshifting adds some challenge to the game. Well done!

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:32am

Good game) I had issues with controls though(with arrows, sometimes they didn't work, when I pressed left , up and space at the same time)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:11am

Good job, really fun!

kariamoss says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Cool game :)

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:09pm

I see! "Shifting". What a flexible theme indeed.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Love the drifting, but after the time ran out I always was still in the first half of the level...

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Those drift mechanics are awesome. Nice take on theme.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:43am

Great game! :)

Bailman03 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:23am

@duckTieTeam. The issue with multiple keys being pressed at once and not recognizing it is nothing I can fix on my end but rather an issue with your hardware. Certain keyboard aren't supported to recognize more than 2 or three key presses at one time.I apoligize for the inconvenience.

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:34am

Nice feel on the game! The web browser version worked really slowly sometimes for me (OSX/Firefox).

serp says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:31am

neat idea

MementoGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Great work!
It's simple and fun.
I found weird (trickier maybe is the best word for it) to use WASD and then 1234 to change shapes. I missed some sense of speed too. Overall, nice entry! Keep rocking.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Great drift game! Very good take on the theme! Keep it up!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:29am

Nice work on the drift mechanics! KUDOS! controlling the car is weirdly satisfying---

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:38pm

best racer I came by this LD.
good controls and fine implementation of the theme

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Love the game! Like Dooskington said, it always fun to drift!

There are few mistakes in my opinion.
Changing shape doesn't change the car or anything (except for UI), it's a bit disturbing.
Graphics are good for the car and the track but for the UI with shape it's not very beautiful. But tire tracks are! Well done.
Sounds would be a good enhancement.

But I know you did it in Compo, so good job!

I had fun drifting in the level editor. I think you should improve it because it is very boring to use. Click and drag one by one with the camera that move up and down is painful.

Well done!

TheCams says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Not easy, but really nice, very good idea :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:35pm

I like the drift mechanics its very smooth and real fun

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:31pm

This game was good. The only issue is I can not press the arrows and space bar at the same time to shift because. The rest is ok but it really needs some sfx. Cheers!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Shame there's no sound but I like the concept a lot and I had quite a lot of fun playing it.

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:48am

nice concept

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:55am

The controls are a little wonky, but after a few plays it gets easier.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Drift ftw :)

OnlySlightly says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:49am

Great job! I don't normally get to play racing games on here, and it was a cool shape shifting mechanic on top of that

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]