Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

John Wizard

by 2Bit - Jam Entry

They took his dog to Hell... And he's coming for it!

John Wizard is an epic tale of vengeance on the denizens of the underworld, after they kidnap an old wizards dog. Use your magic staff to transform the world around you and let nothing get in your way!


CONTROLS
--------

A and D to move Left and Right
W to jump
Left click to copy objects
Right click to replace objects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#46Theme(Jam)4.16
#62Innovation(Jam)3.94
#104Fun(Jam)3.75
#207Humor(Jam)3.23
#224Mood(Jam)3.55
#256Overall(Jam)3.56
#340Audio(Jam)3.25
#598Graphics(Jam)3.22

Comments

Squid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45am

Cool Game! The core mechanic was a lot of fun.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Very cool indead, nice gameplay

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:48am

Very clever gameplay mechanics!

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:12am

Very good game! Congratulations!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

Very cool game! the mechanic is interesting

mrStrings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:19am

Loved the mechanics! It does have potential if you wish to expand the idea.
The platform physics are a bit clunky, but I know they are really hard to make from scratch in so little time.

If you are interested, our entry is in my teammate's account: you can play WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:29am

Good animation, super on theme, fun to turn demons into rats and squish them!

Some of the platforming was a bit masocore.

Sixteen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:32am

Loved it!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:41am

Awesome game! And great twist on the theme. I really had fun with this one.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47am

The controls were a tad slippery, but this was a great idea for the theme! I love the extra bits too, like the animated background and the particles.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:49am

Very interesting game, the main puzzle mechanic was really fun to use.

ogre says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:53am

Very clever. Sad it ended. More please!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:03am

This is my favorite game I've played so far. Great mechanic, superb graphics, amazing music. 10/10

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:56am

Very nice!

Great job on all the aspects, the music was prefect (It reminds me of the old Wizards and Warriors for the NES), presentation awesome, story cute.

The mechanic especially, never played anything like it, it was very enjoyable and fit the theme perfectly.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:28am

Good use of shapeshifting! really fun

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:32am

Nice gameplay, this idea can make a great full game, good job !

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Really original mechanic, would love to see a full game based on this!

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Good game! and nice innovative mechanic! :D Hope to see more of this mechanic :)

mkghoster says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Wow! Great concept for a game! I would like to see a full game based on this idea! :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:35am

Great story, awesome core mechanics!

PavelPooh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:20am

Wery intresting to play!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

ijona says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:13pm

I'm not a big fan of platformers, but this one captured me for quite a long. Good job!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:06am

In a booming voice only: JOHN WIZARD.
I didn't have time to play this properly when I was playing it on stream, but I'm definitely coming back to this because I want to know what happened to the dog. 8>

Played briefly on stream @ 2:23:15 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

CheesyRamen says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Nice puzzle game! I had fun transforming things into rats and squishing them :) Good job!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Yeah i take really some pleasure, the difficulty level is well dosed. i just would like some better graphic design even if at least there is no bad taste.

May 4, 2016 @ 12:02am

Fun idea, but the controls being so slippery were a problem. I would love to finish this game, but I couldn't get passed the one lava part with the clouds.

May 8, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Lovely use of the theme! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/sLxVMaXEMmg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]