Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mechshift

by sumguy67 - Jam Entry

Transform your mech as needed to navigate perilous caverns.

CONTROLS - Desktop
Click to cycle form
Space to use that form's special ability

CONTROLS - Android
Tap right side of screen to cycle form
Tap left side of screen to use that form's special ability

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#121Theme(Jam)3.95
#195Audio(Jam)3.56
#224Fun(Jam)3.50
#402Overall(Jam)3.38
#631Innovation(Jam)2.95
#678Graphics(Jam)3.10
#680Mood(Jam)2.92

Comments

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:14am

really interesting! all of the forms seem to be necessary pretty evenly, so its designed well. nice job!

avinashd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:14am

A basic game, but a solidly implemented one. Nice.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:15am

Pretty good. Shifting between forms on the fly feels good. The game is quite hard though, even on the tutorial.

mactinite says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17am

This game actually surprised me with it's difficulty for me. The music is pretty cool with the different forms. Would have been cool if it was in sync with the track all the time. Great job!

aucguy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17am

Fun and challenging

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:31am

Great game! A lot of fun and the different transformations seem like they all have their pros and cons

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

great i have to say, but too hard even for me :) music is amazing

Alex (Omlette du Fromage team)

Javabot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Oh man, playing this is hard on a laptop. Great music though.

Prudiiarca says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Nice platformer! I enjoyed playing it so the following doesnt really matter:
This may sound weird, but I would prefer controls relying completely on keyboard or mouse. I dont know why but I got confused by having to click to change shape and having to press a key for jumping and dashing

OttersDen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:12am

The gameplay is very fleshed out and holds a nice level of challenge. Because the game is already very complete, I will offer some above-and-beyond advice: Some of the obstacles require the player to essentially lose at least once because the information is not all there by the time you need to act. But to remedy this would be outside of the scope of LD, I guess. But again, this was great! Keep up the good work.

zzapp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:21am

Fun platformer that provides plenty of challenge, the gameplay, graphics and audio were solid, nice job.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Interesting, I feel it's a little bit too precise at some parts, but I feel that was The point of it =) Nice game

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Good idea and setup, got a bit of a blaster master vibe from the visuals. The second form's bouncing is rather tricky. Nicely done.

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Interesting mechanics and the level design is good!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Nice and addictive game! It is a simple but really well made idea, and the level design is really good. Controls were a bit odd imo, I would prefer two keys instead of keyboard + mouse.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Really good game. The mechanics are solid with manageable parameters. The difficulty is well presented and we understand the skills and how they work very fast (thanks in the part to the efficient tutorial).

As OttersDen said, some places require you to know the level already to progress, which can be frustrating. With more time to develop, maybe you could give clues to the player to what's coming ahead. Objects in the backgorund, colors, lights, etc... That would suggest what the next pattern could be.

Also, right-clicking (or any other button) to switch "back" would be nice.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:34am

Great polish and music, I think the tutorial should be skipped however.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:48am

Very fun! I would love to see this on the Google Play Store! Fantastic!

joemid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:53am

Fun game. Hard. Finally got the hang of it. Really fast and responsive.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:59pm

I liked the shapeshifting controls change, nice game

flummox3d says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:53am

Fun little game, although a bit hard for me. Great work anyways! :)

Atridas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Quite hard but it is fun right from the start.

esayitch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Pretty cool game! I liked how the shapeshifting is core to the game as opposed to a tacked-on addition, and that you often have to do it in clutch situations otherwise you are doomed :P

Graphics were all right, sound was pretty cool too.

Overall a very nice entry! Good luck :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:41am

Awesome android game!!! I like endless runner type of games and this one was really tough

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:56am

Played this at Newgrounds before I saw this page, it's awesome! The controls are hard to get a hang on but I am doing well on this game, it's really fun. Nice shape shifting mechanic too. Great job! :D

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Android version not available in my country :(

sumguy67 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Hey aemiliu5, sorry about that! First time publishing to Android. Should be worldwide now!

May 4, 2016 @ 4:35am

nice music and walking sounds. I was going crazy but then i figured out the extra jump in pogo mode. xD then it got really hard on lvl4!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]