Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Gun Hell

by Red_Fan games - Compo Entry

A flip screen scrolling shoot'm up/ beat'm up.
6 screens in total.
If you are a gun you cannot move, but you can shoot.
If you are a human you can move but cannot shoot.
Switch between the two modes to reach victory!


--CONTROLS--
z- Turn from human to gun and vice versa
x- Shoot
Arrow Keys- Move left, right, up, and down.

--ATTENTION LINUX USERS--
In order to run this game you will need love2d: https://love2d.org/
Be sure to use version 0.9.2 or it will not work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#220Audio3.26
#314Mood3.13
#332Graphics3.33
#468Humor2.19
#479Theme3.34
#592Fun2.94
#627Overall3.03
#679Innovation2.77

Comments

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Didn't rate, screenshots look promising but windows isn't letting it run, just hangs.

rnlf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:02pm

I like the style and music. The game is really difficult though. Switching and shooting and not being able to walk while in gun mode make it hard.

Didn't make it to the end, after fighting and fighting for half an hour or so, I still keep dying in the room after the four round rooms. Its a lot easier when trying to shoot enemies in the back, but it doesn't help that they seem to be ghosts who can just pass the walls.

Ran fine on LÖVE 0.10.1.

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:36pm

pretty interesting idea

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Cool idea, but it seems to be more of a game of attrition because it's so hard to stay away from enemy bullets while hitting the enemy.

iendsl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:52pm

I love how the different screens have different, cool names. I like playing it ok, It was a little tough for me. The art style is really great and simple I love the stars.

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:52pm

yay! Retro style <3

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:54pm

The visual effect of the tube-monitor is great. I love that distortion. could be cool to go in and out of it at times. solid.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Very difficult but I liked the mood and it felt like I was playing it on an old boob tube tv.

GaryS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:56pm

I like the style, but then I'm a fan of chuncy retro. I'm not sure the collision is working too well though and could do with a bit of feedback when you get shot.
Promising though...

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:01am

The mechanic is unique, but not very fun :P It's too hard in an "unfair" way in my opinion. Nice entry though, the music was good and the graphics were decent.

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:01am

Love the screen space effects. Wish the enemies followed you. Great style!

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:06am

Retro style is awesome i love it :3.

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34am

I dug the heck out of that! It's very simple but it kind of makes me think of old school DOS games. I had a lot of fun. Great job!

jcsirron says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:52am

I like the concept. It felt like an old Atari style game, except with much better music! Good Work!

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:55am

Good game, but would be better if you can shift faster. =]

ArcticPuffin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59am

I liked it but hit boxes and weird collisions took away from the really cool concept.

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20am

Thanks for playing/rating our game!

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:58pm

This was a very interesting concept. Move as a human and shoot as a gun. Finding the right moment to switch between human and gun was a bit tricky in the beginning, but after a while you really get into it! The music was really hype too.
I got a little impatient because I had to walk past all the levels I've done already every time I die, so if we can restart from just the previous level tat would be a huge plus!
Overall it was a great game :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:59am

Nice game! I was able to run it with 0.10.1.

Some fine tuning on the controls would have been nice, but this is a very pretty game. Especially like the screen bending!

euske says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Nice retro graphics!

Tegu says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Whoo, got through it. It was funny to see the transformation of an enemy to a machine gun. :D On many levels you could just run behind the enemies and then shamelessly shoot them to back. It seems to take a while to shift back to human form which meant a few deaths for me as I couldn't dodge a bullet. The atmosphere was nice with the music, the screen effect and the color scheme. Also LÖVE (or Lua, not sure) seemed to say this to console after the run: "Too mutch garbage! (Tell a programmer to check garbage.lua)". Not quite sure which programmer it means, perhaps the resources could be handled in a more efficient way for Lua.

Anyhow, great game with enough levels and different enemy types. The transformation is funny.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:24am

great style it could have been areal good game on atari 2600 :)

pixelpotions says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Very cool entry!
I admire the use of minimalistic pixel art like this, and I had fun playing it! Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]