Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeShift_Platformer

by stalker1586 - Jam Entry

I wana be the Boshy, Dark Souls, Super Meat Boy - the masterminds of this awesome game! Clap and rejoise to the new era of suffering! It's so great that no name were created in universe!

We are invite you to have some fun and rate this game for our happines! Thank you dear friend!

P.S. Play with fantastic graphics, please. There is some problems with spikeballs on fastest graphics.

P.P.S. Special German Build - selector control changed from brackets to O and P keys. Sorry, dear German Friends :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#167Fun(Jam)3.59
#235Audio(Jam)3.44
#325Overall(Jam)3.47
#355Theme(Jam)3.59
#436Mood(Jam)3.24
#512Innovation(Jam)3.10
#579Humor(Jam)2.37

Comments

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Simple, but nice! I got the idea and spent some time on it! I would like more levels on it!

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:01pm

This was pretty challenging I like that.

Seth_senpai says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Nice platformer with good controls and a clear idea behind it. I especially loved the limited control the ball would give you forcing you to spend equal time with all the blocks instead of just bouncing through the levels. I would have liked the in between block animation to be shorter though, at the end of the game when you had to swap between shapes fast it became a bit of a chore. I did like that the music changed with your shape that gave the whole game a nice feeling. I loved the kinda geometric aesthetic that the game has in its begin screen and shapes and I was kinda sad to not see this back in the games background or other sprites. Unifying your aesthetic will make your game feel much more complete. But I am nitpicking at this point because the gameplay itself was very engaging, a job well done!

KristophTG says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17pm

The game was quite amazing. I liked that the music change in each shape, while still having a consistent theme. The overall idea allows for interesting level design and i quite enjoyed it. The only thing that bothered me is that there is no way to see the entire level, besides playing through it so sometimes to learn that there are spikes off screen you need to fall into them. Overall though i think its one of the best LD games i played.

redcubegames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Very nice game! The audio is a bit annoying after a while. I would change it so it doesn't stop and start again every time I shapeshift. But otherwise, nice idea!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Wow this game is so cool! You guys did a great job. It is challenging but not too hard :). I like how the music slightly changes.
If I sea a game this great I always search for the little things that are off...so : It did ONLY work with the controller, not with a keyboard, and the control is just not intuitive. Instead of pressing buttons you could have used the right stick or something (well I always tried using it) to change to a shape and then press A to do so. It is just more "natural".

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Cool game. I like playing it.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:58pm

A generic platformer as the title suggests with a twist. Liked the idea, was as hard a platformer should be. Well done!

JALgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:40pm

This game was really hard, but also quite good. I only disliked the keyboard controls. I had to switch my keyboard layout to be able to use the brackets (on the german keyboard, they do not have their own keys). I think that q and e would be much better, but apart from that, the game was great.

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:15am

I like that you took the time to introduce each power. (hehe... Thomas was alone with more shapes and less story.)

There is a typo in the start of level 2 ""polymorhp" to blue..." instead of "polymorph"

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:30am

Pretty decent entry. The transition from form to form made gameplay feel very choppy. It got to the point where I was annoyed to have to change forms.
Conceptually, I liked it.
Good job overall.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Using the square bracket keys is a very bad choice, since different keyboard layouts have them mapped differently. For example, my German QWERTZ keyboard only lets me access them with Shift + 8 or 9, so I couldn't play the game at all, unfortunately...

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:02pm

200mb download is too much for me, sorry.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Really liked the musical changes when transforming. Great job!

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:37am

LOVED the mechanics, not only did you create levels that allowed for a variety of approaches but all the core platforming mechanics felt good.
The visuals were simple but appealing and I really liked how the music changed upon transformation.
Well done!

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:09am

Simple and nice keep up :).
try our game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

nihilaleph says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:38am

Nice concept! Audio was great! Transition was a bit laggy though... Also for some reason when I played with a controller the game suddenly froze. Anyways great entry!

bradur says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:04am

I liked it a lot and I was even able to finish it! I really loved it how every shape had their own musical theme :). Good work!

Yetikatt says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Brilliant Game, good fun, reminiscient of VVVVV. really cool idea, I was just dissapointed that it ended :P
Great entry would be cool to see a full game version :D

goffmog says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:08am

Ludum Dare - or "How I learned to stop being frustrated and love platformers again" Really like all the ideas here, and the execution is great and just the right side of being too difficult for me. Great sound!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]