Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Paper Nova 2 - Shapeshift

by Mr MadCat - Jam Entry

The long awaites sequel to the never released Paper Nova!
(Created for MiniLD themed N64, but was not finished)

Save the stars from the evil Red Dwarf and his minions.
Use the Mimicry 5000 to take on the form of defeated Bosses.

Controls:
Keaboard: AD to move left/right, WS to shift shape, Enter for ranged attack, Backspace for melee attack, space to jump.
Gamepad: Left thumbstick to move left/right, Shoulder buttons to shift shape, Right button for ranged attack, left for melee bottom to jump.

All sprites except for intro pictures, platforms and background of the levels were created by us. The sprites for Nova, except for attaks, were created for the MiniLD. All other sprites during this LD.
Dialoge engine, intro and basic movement code were created for the miniLD, all other code (fighting, enemy behaviours, change shifting, etc.) during this LD.

In case you notice the bad English of the stars, that is because stars are not too gifted when it comes to languages. It has absolutely nothing to do with us wanting to get some sleep instead of fixing some grammar and spelling mistakes ;)

Created by Johannes Alef and Hong Linh Thai

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#409Humor(Jam)2.68
#829Theme(Jam)2.92
#901Mood(Jam)2.56
#1022Innovation(Jam)2.33
#1045Graphics(Jam)2.15
#1069Fun(Jam)2.30
#1082Overall(Jam)2.58

Comments

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51am

nice princess)

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:54am

That a cute game, and a fun idea to manage a stable of characters in place of earning upgrades. The presentation definitely needed a bit of work (it's okay, we all needed sleep by the end of the competition haha) but still had some fun :)

CyberAmbient says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Very fun, im still playing, but sound not work here...

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27pm

@CyberAmbient: glad you are having fun. But yeah, there is no sound in the game. Somehow we completely forgot about that ;)

brainstorm says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Copying bosses was a good idea, but the buggy physics made it less enjoyable that it could be. Overall a good game, though.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:29am

princess kawai :3

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:04pm

yay! That's so cute!
I like it!

Nexus64 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:35pm

The control scheme is awkward and the enemies can attack you whe you are talking.

Also my computer crashed the first time I try to play, but I don't think that it was because the game.

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:02am

Thanks for all the feedback.

@Nexus64: Yeah, we designed the game with gamepad in mind as input device. Keyboard was only added very late in the process, so we didn't spend much time on figuring out a good input scheme. and the enemies being able to attack you while talking, that is indeed something that should not happen. Points taken. Thank you very much for the input.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]