Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapaSort Recycling

by Yrasin - Compo Entry

Welcome to your new job!

My name is Dr. Mike Garbage and I am pleased to hire you as commander to sort items at the Great ShapaSort Recycle Facility.

Here at ShapaSort Recycle Facility we believe in reusability in all the leftover raffle, nothing here goes to waste! The work at ShapaSort Recycle Facility is VERY demanding and many commanders in the past have gotten fired for not being up to the task.

How long can you withstand the incredible challenging task?



******************************************************************
HOW TO PLAY:
******************************************************************

Every day trucks will deliver items for you to sort and recycle. You will have to sort them correctly or you will lose rating and risk losing your new job!

Sort items:

Paper (Rectangle) = Left
Glass (Circle) = Up
Metal (Triangle) = Right


After a hard working day (about 20 sec) night will fall and storage trucks will come to pick up your correctly sorted items, and pay you accordingly.



******************************************************************
UPGRADING BUILDINGS & DIFFICULTY:
******************************************************************

The trucks will deliver more and more items for you to sort each day. To support the increase in items you will need to upgrade buildings with the money you earn. In this game your upgrades MAY make it more difficult for you to sort, but it's needed to handle the amount of items the trucks deliver.

THERE IS A SPECIAL UPGRADE IN THE SORTING MACHINE!!

To reach a higher Performance grade, you'll need to upgrade your Sorting Machine (The one you control, in the middle) to handle two items at once. After that upgrade, you'll gain the ability to have two "doors" open at once.



******************************************************************
CONTROLS:
******************************************************************

Click on buildings to open up their upgrade menu.

A (OR Left arrow key) - Sort items Left
W (OR Up arrow key) - Sort items Up
D (OR Right arrow key) - Sort items Right



******************************************************************
GOAL:
******************************************************************

Sorting items correctly increases your rating, and sorting items incorrectly decreases your rating.

You will lose your job when reaching a rating of 0 %. But you do however get a Performance Rating at the end, graded from F to A+++.



******************************************************************
THEME:
******************************************************************

The sorting machine in the middle "shifts" shape to sort.



******************************************************************
CREATOR INFO:
******************************************************************

Hello! My name is Yrasin and this is my third Ludum Dare! During the last 48 hours I have worked on this game.

ShapaSort Recycling is developed in Unity, coded in C#. I made the graphics in Photoshop and Substance Designer.

I sadly had little time to do an in-game tutorial, so it's very lacking in the form of visual instructions. It's not a very hard game to understand and I hope you find the controls easy.

I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#117Fun3.68
#124Audio3.52
#130Graphics3.84
#135Overall3.69
#141Mood3.48
#193Innovation3.58
#240Humor2.85
#445Theme3.39

Comments

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:41am

I enjoy this game a lot! Great job.

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:40pm

10/10

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:36pm

I was in a trance sorting trash the last 10 minutes :-) Really cool sounds and graphics.

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:43pm

This game looks and sounds great! I found it hard at first to tell what the exact sort point was for the middle part, meaning I'd leave the door open too long and miss the next part of recycling. But I got it soon enough, and was in the groove. I liked this game. It's the guitar hero of recycling sorting station simulations :)

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Excellent, takes a bit to get used to the controls but good game. Very good graphics and sound.

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Funny concept !

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Fantastic job, though Dr. Garbage can't say the same for me...

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:58pm

When I looked at the polished graphics and responses, I felt like I was playing a classic game. If you continue to design this, when a shape went into the box and I pressed a directional arrow, oftentimes I was disappointed at which direction the shape went. I didn't pick up at which moment the direction is selected.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Well executed. Nice graphics. Don't know if it was the intent but it is quite difficult to time the sorting games and also to remember what shape is inside the building. I sucked even at easy.

Goutye says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Really cool! I enjoyed it a lot! The faster the hardest but really funny! Thanks for this

RoboNebula says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Nice game!

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02pm

After almost a hundred succesful ones in a row I lost my job. Fun game overall, but weird gameover state.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Neat game, it is getting more and more challenging. Good graphics

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57pm

this is a really good game. I really like the sorting mechanic. the music was nice.

Faulkin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:04pm

A nice little game with neat graphics and sound.

hpearson2 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Best game I have seen so far!

3T3A says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:59pm

The game is fast, you check the upgrade really fast ect, i really like the concept, it's fun and original, great job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]