Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Night Shift

by silkworm_sweatshop - Compo Entry

The Night Shift is a puzzle platformer. You take control of a lowly polygon just trying to hold down a job, but a horrible curse is making things difficult. I took the theme to a kinda weird place. There is also some harsh language in the game but otherwise it's pretty cutesy.

Made in Gamemaker Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#21Humor3.98
#81Audio3.67
#112Graphics3.89
#125Mood3.55
#149Fun3.61
#152Overall3.66
#431Innovation3.16
#543Theme3.25

Comments

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:29pm

I like the music and art style, the cutscenes are story are a nice addition as well. On a keyboard the controls could be a bit tighter though, it's far too easy to accidentally hit balloons.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:44pm

I loved the music and the parallax background. The controls were a bit floaty.

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Intro cutscene was crazy long! But it was all pretty good stuff. Funny concept, and a solid game.

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50pm

One word To many Ballons >:( .... But great game

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:52pm

I just have to say one thin... ROFL. I love it. The intro is probably the best of all the game. Great job. Good music, nice concept, nice graphics. And in that time... :D

dvdking says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Really funny intro, everything about the game was great. The only bad thing is difficulty, the levels should be shorter, or have checkpoints.

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Cool game, the into was a bit long and it was very difficult as you lose the level very easily

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Utterly hilarious and awesome, unique gameplay... FIVE STARS!

Keep up the fantastic work!

panurge says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Loved the rant at the beginning! The 'Stop Smiling!' line made me laugh aloud. :)

Neat mechanics and gorgeous visuals/sound. Tricky gameplay too, without being too tough. Nice work!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Relaxing with a cute aesthetic and a quiet mood. However, the controls on keyboard seem to me very weird. It's not easy to catch something. Overall, I like it. Thanks ++

laFunk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:03pm

The dialogue got me cracking up all the way :D The art looks nice, the music is great! Good job!

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Good music, kind of reminded me of Earthbound's. Intro was great, though a bit lengthy. The mechanic is interesting and fun.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:08pm

i liked it personaly im not a fan of large cutscenes but it did set the atmosphere quite well

aegypticus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:42am

Damn, those balloons make such a loud noise. Holy shit. Great game. Super funny intro!

jdmazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:35pm

I thought the controls were good. I had no problem with them at all. Everything seemed completely responsive to me.

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Looks *really* good, and it's got a good mood to it. The platforming gameplay is not really my thing though and possibly because I was so bad at it, I got frustrated always hitting balloons! The little game over messages are excellent tho XD

GaryS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:51am

Nice work! I found it a bit too easy to hit the baloons, but a fun game all the same.

bigpan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:57am

A good game overall, i laughed when i failed the first time, very fun game, good job!

Matzigon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Nice and round. :) Get it?!

jordgubben says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Loving the writing and the music sets a very pleasant mood. The level design is a bit of a bully, but I get the feeling this is intentional.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Amazing !
I really liked the cut scene, reminded me of Flatland :)
The mechanics are interesting and the music is suitable .
Well made..

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:11am

"My sides are infinite!" Ahahahahahaahahahahahah! My sides are in orbit, especially with the game over sentences! Awesome game, right into my favorite list :D

Arvydas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:53pm

This was an addicting game for sure! Though, that intro was a bit too long. It was funny as hell, but long lol. Also, it was pretty frustrating with the movement to not hit any balloons...especially after getting that last hog on level 2. I would nudge my key to the slightest possible I could go, but still end up hitting the balloon. Great humor game overall x)

QuexD says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Had to play with the audio off but the game was really good great job!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Great opening funny scene, loved the dialogue. Thought the humour was really well and done and the jokes worked well with the graphics and setting up the gameplay.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:23pm

This was excellent! THe humor, the audio, the visuals were all great! nice work.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Really funny, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/Q_baWrdQ2o4

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Intro cutscene was pretty great!
But man, the controls are super hard, I kept accidentally hitting balloons all the time.
Good work tho, this is a lot for such a short time!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:37am

Very funny intro, the game itself is a bit hard!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:03pm

80 is maximum points to get
Innovation: 3/10
Fun: 5/10
Theme: 4/10
Graphics: 4/10
Audio: 5/10
Humor: 3/10
Mood: 4/10
Coolness: 4/10
Overall: 32/80
Good Game

flummox3d says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Really cute game (minus the strong language :D). Nice work! :)

AinoraZ says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:58pm

A very cool little game. The art seems polished and feels nice as well!

sftrabbit says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:54am

Reaaaally nice. The writing in the intro was perfect and the game was fun. Only minor gripe was that it was a little frustrating having to start again so easily. But the graphics, music, humour - all awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]