Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

VHS WARS

by goodbadokay - Jam Entry

Awesome neon geometry shooter!
Controls:
WASD - move
Mouse (lmb) - aim & shoot

Collect green stuff, kill everything else, survive :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#146Fun(Jam)3.64
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#246Graphics(Jam)3.88
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#404Mood(Jam)3.27
#592Theme(Jam)3.29
#630Humor(Jam)2.27
#836Innovation(Jam)2.69

Comments

bluszcz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:04pm

I like the effects! Well done :D

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I'm not normally a fan of bullet-hell games due to not having superhuman reflexes but I loved this! The effects asyou get hit are great, the music is brilliant, the feel of everything is superb.

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:28pm

On my first try I had no idea what I was doing.

On my second try, I got it. Really great use of the shapeshift theme and excellent visual effects and gameplay. Reminds me strongly of Geometry Wars, which I love.

My highest score was 54600.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Well for as much as I suck at bullet hell shooters, this was AWESOME! I loved the visual aesthetic, and I thought the shifting mechanic was great. Awesome execution overall!


I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

thatguyarch says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Really cool style, fun gameplay, and good art & sound. The effect of damage on the screen really went well with the theme, and helped the overall mood of the game. It's fun enough that it doesn't get repetitive quickly, and even if you're not trying to get a high score it's fun to just play for a couple minutes when you have some free time.

Fartenko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I like graphics. I love gameplay. I like the idea. And freakin' LOVE this VHS effect. Well done ;D

AngerFork says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Nice! Loved the music quite a bit, and the gameplay itself was kind of fun. The VHS screen fuzziness was a nice touch, but really made it hard to see what I was doing anytime something went wrong. Still though, fun!

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Nice health system with the blurriness! Really cool.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54am

Excellent. Very challenging, and the effect is cool.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57am

Nice graphics, loved the health vhs effect!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:01am

Um.... WOW! reminds me of geometry wars obviously but to do this in 72 hours. you have done very well. its awesome! really glad i played this one :)

iendsl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

49100 was my score. Really cool effects when you get hit. Didn't feel any particular feed back for if I was doing well or not.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05am

Pretty good, held my attention longer than most. Not that original, but a good take on classics. I can appreciate that it was not so punishing as many bullet hell games. You can really recover, not to mention take more than one hit. The way things blur when you get really blasted is really cool.

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12am

Too big a download for me I'm afraid

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15am

hahah)) Fun game!

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:16am

Good game. I like how the graphics get worse when you get hit.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29am

Love the VHS effect to display health, despite not understanding what was happening the first time haha.

Fun and actiony, and I like that you've included a high score table in there.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29am

Very nice game! I got addicted on it! I'm suspected to say because i love geometry wars! You just should add some poping scores form enemies when you destroy them.

Drkr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:33am

Really well done effects, felt really fun to play, my highscore was 321800. Although I was expecting it to get harder as the level went on but the difficulty seemed to remained the same.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:01am

Got a score of 82100!

Wow, the graphics, so freaking awesome!

The gameplay is fine, but I actually got tired of it because the difficulty didn't seem to scale up.

Overall, great game!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:47am

Thought the game was bugging out on me until I re-read the title of the game :)

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

A really fun and very good looking game! The enemy AI was absolutely merciless but it just meant I kept coming back for more :D The graphics and effects were definitely one of the best things about it next to the audio and the gameplay. Excellent work!

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Nice Geometry wars like entry with good mood and feel.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15pm

High score 67,300

Fantastically well made, it gets really hard :D
The visuals and sound were both great, good work!

shapemorph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Very Fun!!! my score 87300

BoltKey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20pm

It was a bit weird that some shapes of the 'ship' are strictly better that others. It would be the best if every pickup of the heal thing upgraded my character by a tiny bit, so I would start with a small striker with one laser cannon in the end I would be some kind of epic mothership with 8 cannons or something like that. Or as it is now, I think it would have been better if each ship would be good for something different (like one is slow but fires fast, other fires into various directions but in bursts etc).

The effects and sounds are perfect, but it gets boring after a while.

homeworld says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Well executed game!

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Wow - fantastic!

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Wow! Really good, solid fun. Perfectly balanced and genuinely addictive. Loved it.

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49pm

More than just a Geometry Wars clone (once you understand that you have to pickup these green things hahaha), mainly because of this SICK VHS EFFECT.

Well done ;)

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49pm

That was really fun! The controls were well done and the effects were very polished. Good layering in the enemy spawning. The difficulty was a little high but it was a good challenge. The audio was good and the music was very energetic and fitting. It all went well together, great game!

ThommazK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Very challenging! I had a lot of fun. It took me some time to understand the logic behind it.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:21am

Now this game was really cool! Very slick graphics and nice use of filters to emphasize your health state! The transformation actually effected gameplay so very nice on that. Good job!

image/31 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:42am

Very good, great effects, innovative approach! Liked.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:14am

Nice shapeshifter adaptation from a "geometry wars" styled game. Very good gamedesign desition about using a distorsion effect instead of a life bar.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:12pm

VHS syile is rulling!

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Very nice! I at first didn't understand that I was supposed to collect the green stuff (but I also didn't read past the controls :P) I love glitch effects and yours look great but it's a bit heavy at low health - the game becomes a bit unplayable before you die. Well done!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Nice solide game

neondx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:47pm

quite good concept. classical yet effective

JiiHoo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Nice shooter game, my issue was with the fact that picking up the health/shapeshifting thing was often a downgrade. One way to do it would have been that it would add one side to your ship for every pick up and you would lose sides if you took too much damage.

DRGY says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Really nice game

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Geomery Wars style.
I like it very much.
But shot sounds sometimes too loudy

Adipson says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:36pm

good game

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Hey cool game, Really nice effects. Simple and fun! Great work here!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:04pm

I like this game stylistically; the screen blur as a health bar was a nice touch.

it pays respect to the theme, but I've seen alot of games with this concept during the jam. Yours is one of the better executed ones (even if it is a little derivative of geometry wars.)

Nice work!

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Cool effects! I love the mood ^^

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Lovely shaders / effects. I love a bit of bullet hell. Making it hard to see mechanic was really cool.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:31am

Love the graphics and the mood :) Nice job !

Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:50pm

wow my score 67200, i originally wanted to create something like this <3 good game

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:07pm

VHS effect is great, albeit too heavy as it makes it hard to see anything when having low health.

muraisama says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Woah the effects were really nice, maybe a bit to strong, but it had a nice touch :)
Had quite some fun :D

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:03am

Great audio and visual effects. Well done sir.

Cerberus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:08am

i loved the graphics, the controls felt a little off and kind of un accurate. i had fun playing it, great work!

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:51am

Really nice game. I thought it was really hard but the fact that you changed shapes and abilities at the same time was really cool.

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Has a very polished feel. Well done.

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Cool geometric shoot :) nice particle effects!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Awesome, i love the game, lots of fun!!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Superb overall execution, especially image effects!

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:12am

The controls took some getting used to. I pictured the player moving towards the mouse, but now I realize that what you have works well. Fantastic job! Reminds me of geometry wars!

joemid says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:34am

Super intense! The different shapes really made a difference in how I had to play. The GFX are amazing!

josemorval says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Nice effects and cool gameplay! Great work! :)

Petya says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:12pm

That was fun, nice work on making it 'feel' good.

LostViking says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Really fun game with great shooting mechanics. The only thing I didn't like was the blurred screen when I had low health.

fenwick says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Effects and style were really nice. It was a bit too hard for me, I couldn't get past becoming a square. I don't play bullet hell games much though.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Pretty fun take on a top-down Geometry Wars inspired arena shooter. I like how each shape you transform into has its own firing pattern plus I absolutely loved that fuzzy shader effect. My only gripe however is that the game seems a bit too easy since what you can do is wait until you're dying then run straight to the nearest green powerup to heal yourself (It might be better to give them a time limit before they disappear).

CMLSC says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:13pm

My score was 10250. :D
I really liked the game, but I'd prefer that you made it so that you are constantly shooting or there is some sort of ammo or punishment for shooting. :P

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:20pm

I liked the effects, loved it!

kopo says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Nice game, fun to play, I like the way the game over comes !

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:20am

171500! YEAH! I don't know how good that is in the grand scheme of things, but I loved it. Good graphics, good music, good gameplay.

masterkrepta says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:33am

The distortion effect really creates a feeling of dread as you race to collect the green powerup. I love it. Admittedly I am jealous of all the little flourishes that you added to this. they really enhance the mood of the game.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Fluid Mechanic and brilliant effects, trying to make a bettter score :/

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:27am

Nice game , a lil to hard for me but there are nice effects and good working gameplay

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:46am

Very cool and solid gameplay, I really enjoyed it.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:48pm

This game is tons of fun!

plko says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Awesome visual design, effect is amazing. This game maybe too easy, because the difficulty will not increase by your score. That's means if you can live 5 mins, you can also live over 30 mins by use same way.

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:39pm

That was awesome. Took a few minutes to get the hang of but great game. Visuals and Audio were well done and I loved the effect of the blurry screen as you died. Keep up the great work

Swynfel says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Very very good game.

The music is good, the sound effects are good, the graphics are minimalist... but good, the animations/effects are good, the game flow is good... really, everything is good !

There even is a pseudo-boss battle regularly.
The gameplay is not-so-linear-but-maybe-a-little. The shape-shifting theme is well used and the fact that you have to shape-shift to heal is an interesting mechanic.

Some details you could correct if your a perfectionist, you have time, and your willing to listen to a person with bad tastes (me):
When your really low on life, the distortion effect is too invading (the effect is awesomely awesome by the way). You don't really see what's happening any more, that's a shame.
The triangle feels really a lot more un-easy to play than his circle and square buddy (mainly because he shoots in unusual angles). Maybe have it move a little faster to compensate ?
You don't really have to change shape unless your in bad shape (sorry), so maybe a mechanic that makes switching cool even when you're healed could (maybe eventually) be a good idea ? Like you have a sort of "bomb" that gets reloaded every 4 pentagon collected. If that's the case, maybe leave a certain time between collected and re-spawning (or not, it's your choice).

Anyway ! I wrote a lot of crappy ideas, but I wanted to write stuff to thank you for making such a game. So thank you and keep up the good work !

Aumni says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:08am

Very fun and the art style is amazing :)

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Fun shooter! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/6jh8RTn7UxY

zondarg says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:49pm

The graphics style reminds of old vector games, plus the vhs video effects, cool.. very well done! :D

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Really nice effects, looks like original VHS, great work! gratz!

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Great music and effects. Game was a bit hard!

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:26am

Fun geo wars clone. Looks great.

mkghoster says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:06pm

We need more chromatic aberration! :D

domrein says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Very cool. Everything ties together really well. Good job.

RaysAndLazors says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Visuals and GFX - while simple - worked for very well for this concept. The "near death experience noise" made it rather hard to see what was happening on the screen, so it might be worthwhile to tone it down a little. As for the shapeshifting itself, getting changed from a square into a circle didn't feel much like an upgrade. The enemy bullets were a tad too fast to be dodgeable, so the game ultimately boiled down to moving from one pickup to another.

All in all, a solid entry with a good execution of a simple concept.

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Really awesome game.
Got 28700 on first run, awesome ^__^
Will play more.

May 2, 2016 @ 6:31am

I loved the feeling of panic you got as you got hit and it became impossible to see straight.

midgard says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Enjoyed it! Good work.

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:40am

110400, just gotta spin to win. The game is very forgiving but it is still fun.

mcfearless999 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:08am

Good job, I appreciate it also being web based

flummox3d says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:21am

Nice little bullet-hell game. Great work! :)

May 3, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Woww, great graphics! I loved the concept, gameplay and effects. Really fun!

Great job! ^_^

May 4, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Really fun, once I got the hang of it!

sathomason says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:20pm

I would say don't make enemies blue, it's hard to tell them apart from the bullets and background.
The other colors chosen worked nicely together, however!
Fun Geometry Wars-style game. Triangle is frustrating to shoot as. Great sound.

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:16am

well done! the special effects are cool :)

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Great game! Very cool "I am about to die" effect and amazing bullet hell execution!

TheCain says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:34am

This is a great looking game, and wonderfully made.
I have no complaints, but if I had to say one, it would be that the font used for the score is sometimes hard to read.
It was kinda easy for me. I got a score of 400,000 on my first try. I haven't even died yet, I just had to stop to go rate some more games.

TheCain says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:42am

i.imgur.com/8RaoVF0.png
I forgot to give proof.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]