Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Evasion

by d3garcia - Jam Entry

You need to avoid the asteroids by changing the formation shape.
You need to collect the coins to make turbo upgrades that makes the ships change formation shape faster.

Use WASD to change the formation and position of the ships.

Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#208Fun(Jam)3.53
#316Theme(Jam)3.63
#370Innovation(Jam)3.26
#418Humor(Jam)2.67
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#734Mood(Jam)2.85

Comments

TriSquare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21am

Very cool concept, but the controls are difficult to learn, I like the idea of buying turbo and collecting coins. Good job

CyberAmbient says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25am

A game maker game! I like the machinc, a little fast for me, but is very fun! (PS: I used game maker to.)

morrilet says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25am

This was well done. Very nice job with the turbo upgrades. I liked that you needed them to progress. Took me a second to figure out what they were.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29am

nice concept with the shapeshifting, the death sound was a little to much though.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29am

Good use of the theme. Gets a little impossible though.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29am

I liked it, lots of interesting ideas going on here. Longer runs got a little frustrating when it seemed like there was no possible way to dodge between some of the rocks. In any case I hope to see you expand on this! I could see this going more with the rhythm game sort of route.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38am

Good job! I really liked the concept, and the game was fun!

Cerberus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33am

I loved the smoothness of the controls and of the visuals. the concept was great and it was a really good execution. the graphics looked awesome.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:00am

Such a clever concept! it's like some kind of tetris / shooter hybrid.

MudFarmers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:53am

I liked this alot. It took me a second to get the controls, but once I did I found it felt natural. The music works well, and I enjoyed your game over sound.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:54am

Cool implementation of the theme. I like the scream when you die. It makes up for the fact that it was hard so I was dying a lot. Nice job.

legavroche says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Controls took a bit of time to learn, but the game ramps up too high in difficulty after about a minute or two in. Some swap formations didn't seem possible (such as going from left to right) given the small space between the meteor waves. I like your coin buying system though, offers some replayability

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:14am

I love it! Cool concept. Love the yell when you crash.

Mikaza says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:52pm

I love your game play mecanics !

rjhelms says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Nice arcade-style game. Using coins to buy upgrades between games is a really cool mechanic - gives the player a reason to keep coming back for more!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:23am

I enjoyed the game. It was hard to learn how to play (I kept mixing up and down). After that, the difficulty would go up up to one point, I got bored after buying the 4th turbo. Finally, the sfx when you crush is loud and don't match the rest of the game. Hope this review is usefull for you!

bjorn says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:47am

Fun and challenging, I'd love another goal after Turbo V like a high score or something because I want to keep playing. Great game!

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Really good and nice difficulty progression. Awesome work :)

nlbi21 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Good game really is fun, is hard xD.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:02am

Pretty neat initially.
I stopped playing after the turbo III mark because i felt there was nothing more to gain, and the game was getting tedious.
but the idea is interesting, and I like that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]