Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Thomas was a shape

by pta2002 - Compo Entry

DISCLAIMER: The font used was not made by me, it is Museo Sans 500.

---

CONTROLS:
WASD/Arrows: move
Up/W/Space: jump
[1-8]: shapeshift into slot

NOTE: You will not be able to shapeshift if you don't fit! If you can't do it, try moving a little!

I will let you guess what each character does :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Theme4.22
#306Overall3.39
#366Fun3.28
#536Audio2.44
#586Graphics2.78
#711Mood2.47
#882Innovation2.22
#1902Coolness28%

Comments

Xoko14 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:22pm

My computer says it has a virus!

pta2002 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Xoko14 don't worry about that it's because the file isn't commonly downloaded.

Donni11 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Is there a online version available ?

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:09pm

I'm a big fan of Thomas was Alone and your game certainly hits that high note! My only qualm is that it's very short (and doesn't have a majestic narrating voice) :P

Keep up the good work!

RedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Very nice idea! And execution!
I did stuck in a wall one though :P

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Good idea for a puzzle game, fits the theme well

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:41pm

CMLSC wrote comment that game was fun.
Constructive criticism: Please test your game for bugs more next time. :P

TheCain says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:38pm

it was okay.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Your game keeps highlighting me in IRC since my name is Thomas. And indeed I pressed space to restart. Nice :)

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:41am

Well, it is (as listed on itch.io) a ripoff of an existing game, but nonetheless it's a good game :-)

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:08pm

I miss the sadows of the original but a good idea.

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:45pm

I've played the original, and this one has some really tricky/unfair jumps.

But overall it was very good for a 14 year old. I gave quite a lot of stars for this game too.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:46pm

That was difficult. The misdirection at the end of level 2 is nice. It did become irritating when I knew what I had to do but couldn't do it. I generally feel that a game should either about figuring out what to do, or about executing something obvious. Other opinions are available.

The large red rectangle was a clever ability I thought.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:04am

Nice and funny, pretty cool tribute to Thomas was Alone!

Had some problems when changing shape at certain locations, maybe something was blocking me from shapeshifting.

Oh, and it worked perfectly on wine ;)

the31 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Neat simple idea, the essence of a shape shift. I haven't played Thomas Was Alone, but based on screenshots I can guess at the similarity.

I got stuck here: http://i.imgur.com/f5ksXKS.png. I didn't know how to jump up and move left enough as the thin flat thing to get through those slats. Earlier in this same level, as far as I could tell you needed to move left at the beginning of the level without knowing what's below you. I assume dying is the only way to restart the level... but it didn't seem very clear if I should be jumping off the edge to reset.

Another little thing I didn't quite like was the way shapeshifting "swapped" the slot with your current shape. This made me think that I had to look at the upper-left a lot to plan out my shape shifts... but as long as the game stayed slow that didn't seem like much of a problem.

You've probably already thought of this tweak, but: when you try to shapeshift to something bigger and there isn't room, it would be great if instead of blocking the transform you could "push" the player into a working position if one exists. You can think of it like the shape shifting gradually: if you push the new shape out of collisions, is there a place where it works? If so, just put the player there. That along with some audio cue for "shapeshift blocked" would help, I think.

Cool idea, really fits the theme!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:25am

No narrator?? xD

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:34pm

I literally got as far as the first shape shift, went under the narrow bit, and then got stuck because I couldn't jump over the hump in the floor and couldn't figure out how to shape shift back to the original red square shape. I wish I could have figured out how to get anywhere, so I could truly experience the game. As it is, the game makes me feel like I must be stupid, because I have to be missing something obvious/simple and can't figure it out.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]