Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty Shape Challenge

by howardcs - Jam Entry

Fly a bird through a maze without getting killed. Left click to fly left, right click to fly right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#860Fun(Jam)2.72
#1099Overall(Jam)2.55

Comments

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

Looks nice, but a bit frustrating to play.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:10am

Tough game but good idea!

OU GDA says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

Fun game, but very difficult to play with a trackpad.

howardcs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately there was only 3 minutes remaining when I uploaded it. With a little more time, it could have started easy and got more difficult later.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:09am

You should have a voting button for the music!!!! I enjoyed it!! My daughter calls these types of games, RAGE GAMES! LOL because you have to keep playing it! Lots of fun and simple game play though very challenging to get through

ayewyn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:24am

Not bad, good iteration on the tappy bird model.

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:46am

The controls are a bit wonky at times, I was flying all over the place, but I enjoy the wing flapping animation.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:53am

The bird bounds and bounds and .. difficult game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12am

This is really hard, yet I am having fun with it.

StaNov says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09am

I like the graphics. The camera could be positioned better - the first obstacle is imposible to beat with skill! So I randomly tried it and succeeded for fifth time or such.

Next time try to polish the controls before adding graphics. Good luck :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Good idea, but I don't like the way mechanics works. However, good job!

muumeroinen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Cool concept. That challenge was too much for me.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Tough game, very flappy bird inspired

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Oh yeah i remember throwing my phone on the floor playing a game similar to this. You had me with this entry! Nice game!

justacookie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47pm

The game was hard to control, the first tries were easier, because for some reason the bird keeps its speed after death and then starts bouncing all over the place. i even got stuck in the wall texture and one time i bounced around outside the level itself. it took many reloads to finish the level, but i couldnt get enough of the death animation of that poor bird, that was quite entertaining and well done. Overall i enjoyed it. Thank you for the entry :) i hope you had an awesome time and learned something on the way

howardcs says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Thanks for all the feedback and good luck to you!

Regarding the various bugs, the main excuse is time. During development I found a fundamental problem with the engine that would prevent it from working for the original, more complex idea. At 5pm on the last day, the game was in a hopeless state so I shifted (see what I did there?) focus to a simpler idea using the existing code. This is my third attempt at LD and only the first one that I've managed to finish on time so I'm happy just to get something entered.

There's a whiteboard full of additional mazes and puzzles waiting to be played. If everything goes as planned, this will become a full game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]