Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polymorphic Menagerie

by Soron - Compo Entry

What a wonderful menagerie of critters! You can give them legs with the diamond berries, or turn them into platforms with the hourglass berries.

Super berries, which are green instead of red, can grow new bushes.
Combine a super berry that you're holding with a berry you're touching, and you can then plant it to make that type of berry bush.

What kind of critters will you make? See what fun combinations exist!
Just keep them well fed - when they get too hungry, well...

See in-game help text for controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#180Innovation3.61
#195Theme3.77
#403Humor2.37
#428Overall3.26
#556Mood2.79
#663Fun2.84
#734Graphics2.52

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:20pm

good game, it was quite intersting tbh

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:23pm

I love to care critters! Great twist on puppet games!

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Nice mechanics, but I couldn't figure out what berry does what :P Played till I got so big and then left the map to see if there was anything else. Like a proud father :P Game was good though, well done man.

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Fun idea - just wish there were a few more combinations! Great job.

Soron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:30pm

TLansdale - you and me both! I wanted to get flying and burrowing forms into the game, but ran out of time.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:31pm

It was interesting at first, but it kinda lost it's point after a while. But good job nonetheless. Maybe add something that can hurt you. Give the player an incentive to continue playing and grow, as that's what seemed to be the objective.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Nice game, iteresting mechanics.

Retallicka says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Got a bit addicted :)

JHemmings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Interesting idea, I liked how the critters grew after some time.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:42am

That was interesting... it took me a minute to figure out how to pick up berries

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:50am

Very, very cool concept. Found myself playing this far longer than I expected but just couldn't stop somehow.

Nice one! :)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:31pm

I found myself playing this for quite a long time. It's really relaxing growing your garden and seeing what weird and wonderful creatures you can breed. I especially liked the idea of turning creatures into platforms which grew higher as they ate. With some soft, tranquil music, and a few more things to keep the player busy, I could see this being a major time sink. Well done! :)

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:23am

this game is interestingly cute and very fun concept

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:24am

Nice concept!

Soron says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:49am

I think I'll make a full-sized sequel/post-jam version for this. People seem to like the core gameplay, I really liked it myself (and would love to do more with the game), and I've got some good ideas for how to handle a jam -> experiment -> full release path in this case.

I'll try to get some details and/or a post mortem posted over the weekend.

I'm glad you all enjoyed it :). I certainly had a lot of fun with it!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:43am

Interesting idea, it reminded me a bit of Starseed pilgrim for some reason.

I had to read throuh the instructions twice, to be honest. At first I wasn't too sure of what I was doing. Then it clicks and it becomes a very original game. Nice work!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:20pm

This was fun and relaxing to explore the possibilities, and I really like the wiggly animations. Nice work!

Javabot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:35pm

please turn this into a full game.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:51pm

interesting, but not really sure whats going on. i feel like the critters were dying of quicker then i could assess how to change them

Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:41am

Interesting compo entry with well executed mechanics. It was both really engaging and relaxing to play through. Graphics were simple but the wiggly animations adds a lot to gamefeel. Enjoyed it a lot.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:50pm

The concept is good but it doesn't really have a lot. The controls are a little weird.

gelisam says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:32am

Is there a goal to this game? I can plant more things and turn into other shapes, but that gets old pretty quickly if there isn't something which can be accomplished using those new shapes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]